We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,154: English reviews
Start your review of Ambassador Hotel
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

very disappointed we knew room didn't have a sea view but room had a cracked opaque window overlooking bricks .mattress was tatty and unclean with obvious springs sticking out.nothing pleasant about room to report.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0ssh0use
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Rooms were clean and shower was really nice. Breakfast was stocked with essentials. Unfortunately there was no evening meals. On leaving there was no interaction asking if we had enjoyed our stay. Staff didn't seem overly friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Booyahyizzer
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great hotel and really nice staff. Good value for money. The free parking is also a bonus. Sea views are brilliant. Small but nice swimming pool within the hotels demise which is free and the staff provide you with extra towels to use this facility.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjk42
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sjk42 Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay, I so am pleased to here that you found it value for money and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we can welcome you back to the Ambassador Hotel in the near future! Kind Regards

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed last week for one night . It's right by the beach (the views are beautiful) and walking distance into town . The hotel does offer on street parking and supply a car park permit . We found a space easily so we didn't mind . After a really long drive to the hotel we were given a complimentary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rj0nes30
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rj0nes30 Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to here you enjoyed our Breakfast and that it was one of the best hotels breakfasts you have had - our chef will be very pleased to here this! In regards to the staff...

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked the hotel in the car on the way to Scarborough for a spur of the moment birthday trip. For the amount we paid we didn't expect much but were pleasantly disappointed as the hotel is lovely. We booked a small double room but it was extremely spacious and not small at all. It was very comfortable and spotlessly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane L Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay. I am so pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning. I will pass your lovely comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ambassador soon! Kind Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Two day stay for a birthday treat,we arrived at the hotel which looked lovely from outside and on entering,until we went up to our room when coming from the lift on the 2nd floor there were stains on the carpet and it looked like it needed a good vac.On entering the room it was small and the tv wasn't much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank borntiny
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear borntiny Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay, we do take all feedback into account and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I can see from your booking that you did discuss the issues raised with our reception team on check out. These issues were all rectified as soon as we...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here on Saturday night, the hotel is in a great location about 5-10 minute walk into Scarborough. The hotel provides free street parking which there is plenty of. Rooms are nice and clean, maybe a little bit of decorating needs doing but no issue as clean. Breakfast was included and a good selection of continental or full English. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul27182
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul27182 Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you found the room nice and clean and you will be pleased to here that were are currently in the process of decorating our rooms. We dpo hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed in the hotel for a night but we wished we could have stayed longer. Really nice and clean rooms, the staff was welcoming and helpful at all times and the pool and the sauna we're small but clean and had a nice atmosphere. The breakfast was high quality and a good choice of food. We felt comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lotte B
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lotte B Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review, I am so pleased to here you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon and hopefully next time it will be for longer. Kind Regards

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The first impression was not good, the stairways didn't look like they had been cleaned in a while and although the room had fairly good facilities the mattress was uncomfortable and the bathroom was very tired and unwelcoming. However the breakfast was really good and the dining room nice and airy with lovely views across the Bay. Although the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisetteSansome
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LisetteSansome Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at the Ambassador Hotel. You will be pleased to here that we are currently undergoing a mini refurbishment and we will soon be having new bathrooms fitted. I am pleased to here you enjoyed breakfast and our lovely sea views. We hope to...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. Our room was nice with a wet room so the bathroom is ideal for disabled people. The breakfast is one of the best we have had in Scarborough good quality food and plenty of it for anyone with a healthy appetite.The hotel is close to the Spa cliff lift so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris-elliott30
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chris-elliott30 Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay with us, I am so pleased to here you enjoyed your stay and that you will return to the hotel. I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ambassador Hotel!...

427 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (400)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (183)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,513 reviews
2.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
784 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
598 reviews
0.9 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
560 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: RM256 - RM843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms with a sea view promised may be nicer .but check cleanliness”
 of 5 bubbles m0ssh0use, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Small double room was a very good size with partial sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 536janel, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the top floor but no problem there is a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles chris-elliott30, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are best but back rooms are very good price”
 of 5 bubbles FRanGib, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pick a "Seaview Room" - they are bigger and the view is good.”
 of 5 bubbles CJW_51, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5