We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,123: English reviews
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here a few times now and thought that we would give it the benefit of doubt. Sadly on arrival we had to complain to the receptionist regarding the room we were allocated. it was basic and had a mouldy bathroom with cracked tiles. The bed was so small and generally the room was not inviting at all....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah G
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is much improved since our first visit a couple of years ago. Staff are now welcoming and helpful and the facilities are good for a small hotel, with a small pool and sauna in the basement. We stayed in room 307 which is spacious and has a lovely view of the bay, along with a wet room style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvettemarien2016
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Weekend trip first weekend in December as part of a pre Xmas wind down. Accommodation good. Parking free with pass. Food was good to. Staff were accommodating in general, all Good. But then there was an issue with the pool. The pool area was attractive and time was spent splashing about and relaxing. It was an attractive feature of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nik L
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Late booking for New Year at £180 a night. I was not aware that the rooms were themed, we were not sure if ours was based on 1972 or alternatively a Terry Waite hostage experience. The view of fire escapes and bins was breath taking and matched the woodchip on the walls, missing lino and mould on the ceiling. All...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Andy H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at 1 and had read online that sandwiches and toasties are available. No toasties and was offered the last 2 prepacked sandwiches from the fridge. Egg mayo and cheese. Parking was busy on the street and I wouldn't like to try get parked in high season. The staff were very friendly. When we returned after 3pm when our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trixlo
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your recent stay with us. You will be pleased to hear we are having a mini referb in the coming weeks so your feedback will be passed on and put into action right away. We do not provide toasties only sandwiches and this is not advertised only on our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading mixed reviews, I can safely say that for the price we paid (£79) I couldn't be happier with our overnight stay. I'm quite a picky person when it comes to hotels and was dubious after reading some of the reviews on here. We were greeted by a lovely lady at reception who made us feel very welcome, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KatieGall
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KatieGall Thank you for taking the time to give your honest opinion of your stay with us here at the Ambassador Hotel We are so pleased you and your husband had a good stay with us and it was our pleasure having you both I will pass on your kind words to my team We hope to see you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From start to finish. We got here and were greeted by a lovely young lady, who kindly offered to take our bags while we went exploring. Needless to say she shouldn't had considering we'd be leaving soon after arrival. HOTEL BUILD We booked 3 rooms, one for my grandfather, one for my parents and one for the children. We have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hell123456789
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You seem to have posted your comment on the wrong hotel. We are the ambassador Hotel in Scarborough England We have not had any families check out early and what you are describing does not match our hotel. Also no Hiltons in Scarborough

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some months ago, my wife and I were invited to a wedding in Scarborough. The wedding was on a Monday so we decided to have a mini holiday / long weekend in a town I have visited both man and boy over the past 40+ years. I will not bore you with the horrors of 60's & 70's boarding house's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew F
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew F Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. Me and my small team work so hard to make our guests stay with us the best it can be which sometimes does goes unrecognised, however when we have such lovely guests stay like yourselves this reminds me why I...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friends booked the hotel and were told is was £128 for 2 nights B&B. Yet when I arrived I was charged £148 as was one other person - we didn't realise the difference until we got home.That's not particularly cheap for a hotel out of season. The décor was terrible - outdated and my room had a peeling ceiling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Welovesunandsnow
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading the mixed reviews on the hotel, I booked for the one night for a pretty local break for myself and partner, the pictures looked good, and for the price I was expecting quite a pleasant experience. I understand the previous replies have been aimed at the 'Free' WIFI, parking, sea view and leisure facility. To be frank it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank josh1891
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Josh1981 Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay although a little disappointing Although you did not use the WIFI we still provide this free of charge unlike most of the hotels in Scarborough who charge for WIFI. As with the Leisure facilities - although they are part of the features some hotels in the area still charge...

396 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (369)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (155)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,269 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#15 of 28 in Scarborough
327 reviews
2.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
583 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.9 km away
Beiderbecke's Hotel
Beiderbecke's Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: RM313 - RM701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms gave sea views best Ines are those with bay windows”
 of 5 bubbles 664maryw, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor room with harbour and sea view. Quiet although out of season in terms of possible traffic noise but there was no hotel noise.”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea Views are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles kathyspeedone, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The corner room with a bay is a preference,if you intend using it.”
 of 5 bubbles PHedar, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 750craige, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay