We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Lea Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 323: English reviews
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at this recent hotel was certainly average. The food was very average with most nights not bothering to even bother with the pudding. We stayed there for 5 days on an organized trip with the last day being a long trip home, so we decided to order a packed lunch each. Two packed lunches came to £9 which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Esther H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Time for the annual Ganges reunion which supports sea cadets where we spend the week end meeting up with old ex HMS Ganges mates and generally chilling out and raise funds for the sea cadets. We have used the RedLea hotel for yet another year and the rooms have been up graded over the last few years unlike some hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marfelllabs
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was upgraded to a sea view it was lovely and cosy yes dated but this added to its charm. Very clean and with tea and coffee in our room which was very appreciated when we arrived. The staff are lovely very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious I had kippers my son had an English breakfast so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank meradithmw
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Back for a third visit with our grandson. Lovely friendly hotel. Pool is a big plus for us. Food is good with plenty of choice especially breakfast which is excellent. Able to park outside with a pass from the hotel, again a big plus. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will return next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMD1970
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Booked last minute deal and loved it. Scaffolding on outside, bewly refurbished stairways improved this old hotel. Lovely welcome at reception. Great sea view from room 215. Nice large room with clean bathroom. Used gym and its like new. Pol ok not for swimming though. Jacuzzi broke despite good effort from staff to fix it. Nicely cooked breakfsst with good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Went here with my partner last weekend for the night, so we could have an early start the next day. Very nice hotel, large room with superb view. Woke up early to see the sunrise.. Breakfast fine, and staff very helpful. Would go again. John and Jill..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Shabby. Tiny double room, although others in party had a much bigger room (ask for double at the front with bay window). Breakfast was like travelling back to the 1970's. The only saving grace was the friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ainfolk
Redlea1, Public Relations Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. I would like to point out that within a group we try to adhere to requests, but they are on a first come basis and none of our rooms are 'shabby', some just obviously smaller than the others. Bay windows do carry a supplement, that may be the reason you were...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

The Red Lea is an excellently run hotel. Staff are efficient and friendly. The high standard accomodation comprises comfortable rooms with first class service. A wide choice of menu supplies generous portions. We will certainly revisit ourselves and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peelrosemary7
Redlea1, Public Relations Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous compliments. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you here again, hopefully, soon.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We were at a conference at the Spa Centre and the Red Lea was ideally placed. Initial welcome didn't seem very hospitable, but all the other staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Parking was plentiful outside on the road with a free pass provided by the hotel. Room was large and comfortable. The only downside was trying to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June G
Shropshire
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Wow, what a welcom, the staff are lovely, the hotel is great and the food gives everyone something that they will not only enjoy but will love. Here for a week this time and are loving every moment. Thank you all at the Red Lea!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ShropshirePandA

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Apartment (32)
Viewed
Comfort Room - 107 (17)
Viewed
Comfort Room - 324 (16)
Viewed
Executive Garden Sea View - 108 (19)
Viewed
Executive Garden Sea View - 112 (19)
Viewed
Executive Garden Sea View - 318 (21)
Viewed
Executive Single (14)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Sea View Family (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,140 reviews
2.1 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
747 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#23 of 28 in Scarborough
1,113 reviews
0.7 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
577 reviews
5.2 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: RM334 - RM724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lea Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
21 days ago
21 days ago
Derbyshire
2 months ago
Oldham, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lea Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the sea view room we had was lovely on the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles meradithmw, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front”
 of 5 bubbles CMD1970, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea views were great, most rooms quiet, there is a lift to higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles JuneG282, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“113 is brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles ShropshirePandA, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles susanmark14, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay