We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ivanhoe Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ivanhoe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Ivanhoe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Stayed 3 nights over Easter. Staff all friendly and very helpful. Beds comfy. Wide selection of meals and great Sunday carvery. Entertainment in house was fun and really friendly atmosphere. Landlady lovely. Will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalekfan
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

We had planned to book a table by ringing up before we arrived but just thought we would go with the flow & arrive and have a drink first.. as we got there we realised all the tables had RESERVED on them i said to my partner i knew we should of rang, we asked a man with a clipboard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren I
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Booked a table in advance for 7.30, seated to table and given a menu. Was advised the restaurant was busy and it may take 30mins for food to arrive. At 8.15, a waiter passed us and I asked if someone was able to take our order - to be then told it was service at the bar! We were sat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley M
Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Had lunch there today ( 7 of us ). Great beer , great food at a very reasonable price , great bar staff and a very clean comfortable pub. Huge menu choice ( a few items were unavailable but with such a choice was easy to pick something else ). Will definitely return on next visit to Scarborough

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick M M
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

Nice clean pub with a good atmosphere, we called in for lunch after reading through the large menu chose a dish only to be told that the meat of the day wasn't available. Staff where friendly, serves a good pint.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sal O
Jeannette L, Owner at The Ivanhoe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry for your disappointment that our roast of the day was unavailable however we had just served our busiest mothering Sunday which had totally wiped out our stock. and we were waiting for fresh delivery from our butchers. We roast all our joints we do not serve the pre-packed microwaved meat that you...

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Had a great, short stay in The Ivanhoe in Scalby, Scarborough. It is a Pub with rooms available. Room was a good size and clean with en-suite shower and toilet. TV and coffee/tea making facilities supplied in the room but the TV was a little small, good enough though for my wife to get her daily dose of her favourite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
Jeannette L, Owner at The Ivanhoe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - it is very appreciated. We took over the hotel just over a year ago and are improving things slowly but surely ... we agree that some of the inherited TV sets in the bedrooms are a little small but they are on our list of things to change as soon as possible and I...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

I am writing this review at home in Leeds the night that we are supposed to be staying at the Ivanhoe. As a couple with an 8 year old there is no way on earth we could have stayed in that hotel. Our 'family room' was on the first floor above that bar. We were aware that there was entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katie M
Jeannette L, Owner at The Ivanhoe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry for the misunderstanding that occurred and the disappointment caused when you made your booking requesting a room for 3 adults (we do explicitly ask during the booking process if any child is accompanying you and their ages). Had you completed the booking correctly and/or informed us at...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Warm welcome and although we were not happy with the allocated table it was no problem changing it. Carvery with 4 choices of meats and plenty of vegetables, cauliflower and cheese to die for. Friendly staff, warm and clean surroundings. Reasonably priced and decent servings. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grannycally
Jeannette L, Owner at The Ivanhoe Hotel, responded to this review

We are very proud of our Sunday carvery and so very pleased with the responses we are getting from our customers - thank you for this review and for enjoying our efforts

Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic little gem of a place.The staff could not do enough to help .It was warm friendly and so welcoming.Our room was perfect .Most deffinatley staying here again .Thank you all for our perfect stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirren l
Jeannette L, Owner at The Ivanhoe Hotel, responded to this review

So very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to give such a positive review

London
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Was on budget so a special deal of £55, small double with breakfast inc pn, also twin £65 inc breakfast. For double didn't expect much but did not expect bathroom with no heating, tiny cloakroom sink which did not drain, nowhere to put soap as fitting broken off, nowhere to put wet towels. dangerous step from shower with no slip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kandylass
Jeannette L, Owner at The Ivanhoe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sincerely sorry for any disappointment you feel following recent stay. I have noted your comments regarding your rooms and promise my management team will look into your complaints in detail. Our hotel is fully double glazed, central heated and incredibly warm, even during the cold blustery January nights we've recently experienced and although...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
2.6 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
598 reviews
1.1 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
782 reviews
2.7 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
560 reviews
2.7 km away
The Oakwheel Inn
The Oakwheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Burniston
103 reviews
1.7 km away
Airedale Guest House
Airedale Guest House
#67 of 184 in Scarborough
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family run pub and eatery, providing bed and breakfast in our rooms above, most of which are en suite. We serve good quality home cooked food Monday to Thursday 12.00 To 8.30Pm, until 9.00Pm on Friday & Saturday and we serve a 4 roast carvery dinner 12noon till 4pm every Sunday. We have a large car park, are in close proximity to many local attractions and the bus (3a) into Scarborough town shopping centre, stops right outside the Ivanhoe on a regular basis. We are only 5 minutes walk from the sea front and sea life centre, directly opposite the North Cliff golf course, and in walking distance to open air theatre and the oriental peasholme park. Free wi fi & Bt Sports is available in bar and public areas. We have outside garden seating and smoking area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ivanhoe Hotel

Address: Scalby Mills Road, Scarborough YO12 6RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: RM257 - RM443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ivanhoe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ivanhoe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room number 8 but spoke to other guests who liked their rooms as well.”
 of 5 bubbles alanwesterman, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 , says its a small Double , but to me I thought it was a nice comfortable size. couldn't hear music etc x”
 of 5 bubbles diver1954, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 has a small balcony overlooking the road and nearby golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles 801seans, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay here so we know nothing about the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Troas, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not applicable”
 of 5 bubbles LearningCurveA, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5