We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
21/11/2017 22/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hare and Hounds Hotel

    Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    21/11/2017Check In 22/11/2017Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    US$126
    US$104
    SAVE US$22
    US$126
    US$120
    Traveller (84)
    Room & Suite (173)
    Dining (60)
    Overview
    • Excellent54%
    • Very good31%
    • Average10%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    “the barn” (88 reviews)
    “fish pie” (19 reviews)
    “the pub” (50 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Wheelchair Access
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    21 Nov22 Nov
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$104
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$126
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$120
      View Deal
    View all 37 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (653)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 648 reviews

    Reviewed yesterday

    As we live less than a mile away, have used the Hare & Hounds on many occasions for dining. The standard of service and quality of food has always been very good. However, we popped in for lunch yesterday (Sat 21/10) and were very disappointed...More

    Thank SteveBNewbury
    Reviewed 5 days ago

    We stayed for two nights as a mid week break. On arrival we were met by a flustered and agitated gentleman. Having completed our registration, we proceeded to the bar, met by the same person. Trying to make polite conversation before asking for a drink,...More

    Thank MargeMargeMarge
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    I stayed at the hotel last week and was impressed by the quality of the rooms. I was less impressed by my key and check-in form being left in reception for anyone to look at. Data protection should be a higher priority! But when I...More

    Thank Ian R
    Response from Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds HotelResponded 6 days ago

    Dear Ian Early this year we finished putting new furniture and soft furnishings into all our rooms as part of our latest upgrade! It really does mean a lot to have our efforts appreciated Thanks and do come back soon Jonathan & Jean

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    We stayed as a family of 3 for 1 night as we were attending a family party in the hotel restaurant. We had a lovely spacious room which was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The room was very clean and the lovely tea/coffee...More

    Thank JBennett75
    Response from Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds HotelResponded 6 days ago

    Dear J Bennett Ah yes Holly & Harry are so popular with those that book direct on our OWN website. You save 10% and get one of them or a box of chocolates, why wouldn't you!! LOL I know you'll forgive me my little marketing...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    We enjoyed our weekend away at the H&H. Staff were very attentive and the food was excellent. Breakfast and evening meals were both very tasty and the restaurant was very nice. Accommodation maybe not to our taste but very clean. We had to move rooms...More

    Thank KellysinKos
    Response from Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds HotelResponded 6 days ago

    Dear Kellysin kos Apologies for the room, we had switched to winter settings and as you would expect it was warm outside. Our mistake and sorry. HOWEVER, the fact you still gave us a good score and review hopefully shows the great staff and their...More

    Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
    483 reviews
    #4 of 17 hotels in Newbury
     
    Regency Park Hotel
    809 reviews
    #6 of 17 hotels in Newbury
     
    Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
    1,324 reviews
    #3 of 17 hotels in Newbury
     
    The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
    1,852 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Stockcross
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$82 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #4 Family Hotel in Newbury
    • #4 Business Hotel in Newbury
    • #5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 30
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Berkshire >
    • Newbury
    • Also Known As
    • Hare And Hounds Newbury
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (84)
    Room & Suite (173)
    Dining (60)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (125)
    Bathroom (4)
    Nearby
    Regency Park Hotel
    809 reviews
    5.25 km away
     
    Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
    483 reviews
    .85 km away
     
    Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
    1,324 reviews
    1.95 km away
     
    The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
    1,852 reviews
    1.44 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Woodspeen
    1,005 reviews
    .81 km away
    The Vineyard at Stockcross
    540 reviews
    1.45 km away
    Harvester Moto
    30 reviews
    1.32 km away
    Hare & Hounds
    231 reviews
    .02 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Donnington Castle
    268 reviews
    1.15 km away
    Shaw House
    81 reviews
    2.00 km away
    West Berkshire Museum
    56 reviews
    1.94 km away
    Parkway Shopping Centre
    25 reviews
    1.70 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    marianhardiman1
    26 June 2017|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from hareandhounds | Property representative |
    Hi One mile and there is a lovely route to avoid the main roads which takes 20 minutes to walk Thanks Jonathan
    0
    Votes
    Pat S
    8 May 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from hareandhounds | Property representative |
    Hi We have ground floor rooms but they aren't disabled as the main inn has steps etc It is suitable for those with mobility problems but not wheelchair access rooms Thanks Jonathan
    0
    Votes
    Valerie D
    14 April 2017|
    Answer
    Response from hareandhounds | Property representative |
    10 minutes in a taxi We have a local chap who we could put you in touch with once you have booked your room Thanks Jonathan
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "rooms away from the road probably have less traffic noise"
    Read review
    "Rooms away from the road - but if in the block - fire doors noisy."
    Read review
    "Rooms 17-20 are good if you're a smoker as they are outside as opposed to inside the main building"
    Read review
    "Stayed in three different parts of the hotel, all are good."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing