We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Ship Aground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Old Ship Aground
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 235: English reviews
Start your review of Old Ship Aground
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We came here for a family dinner and The staff were nice and the food was great. I ordered the scallops for starters and it was really tasty, fish chowder for main which was nice and light and creme brule for dessert which I personally think was a let down as it was tasteless. But overall, we had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica_starfish30
minehead
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Biggest mushroom ever..... really lovely and tasty food. Always attentive staff...thanks. Great to see options expanding. Look forward to each visit and always enjoy banter, food and atmosphere. Returned last Wednesday.....on a not vegetarian specials night..😯😯....BUT with a little advance notice the kitchen did a special VEGAN meal. Asparagus with salad....then Cajun? stuffed peppers.....ie. rice,green peppers,onions,celery, and more with lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve b
Hayle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for a roast carvery which was very lovely with some chilled out live music and very friendly staff and welcome. Definitely a great place to go if you're in Minehead. Oh yeah, try the Kingstar 🍺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bennioni
Oxford, UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What an idyllic location set right on the harbour front. We were greeted by such friendly helpful staff who were more than happy to accommodate our 2 tiny dogs. We had a beautiful pub lunch in the main bar area which was surprisingly busy for a Saturday afternoon. The atmosphere was cheerful and the staff could not have been more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElsiesophieOxford_UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Warm and friendly welcome as I settle in for my mini-break back in my home town. The bedroom is comfortable and warm, the ensuite bathroom larger than I expected and a view of the harbour is a bonus. I popped downstairs for a pot of tea, (there is a tea/coffee/drinking chocolate tray in the room) and although I had eaten...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magentawoo
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

meals and staff were very pleasant. limited menu but delicious food.compliments to the chef.the hotel side sadly not up to scratch at the price charged although clean and comfortable..they try very hard and deserve credit for what they present.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allan b
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

Thank so much for taking the time review - chef says thank you :-) It would be really helpful if you would comment a little further on what you did not like about the accommodation as we really do want to understand and make any changes perhaps you would drop me an email julian@theoldshipaground.com or if you prefer just call...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My single room was fine with a good shower and also quiet. All 12 of us chose to eat in the restaurant and all of us were rather disappointed. The carvery was very well done roast beef and dry turkey served with Bombay potatoes and a few curry dishes - a very unusual combination. Service left quite a bit to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. Both myself, General Manager and Shift Leader found your group difficult to deal with, the drunken behaviour, swearing and sexual comments were of course unfortunate. I will always uphold the rules we set with regard to the standards of conduct we expect without exception even if this makes me/us...

Reviewed 1 December 2016

Went to the Ship aground for dinner last night. I don't write many reviews but on this occasion I just wanted to say what a fabulous 3 course meal we had and all beautifully presented. Thank you so much Julian and Rachel, your staff were also a credit to you and we will definitely be returning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenx999
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

Thank you on behalf of every one involved in making your visit so very memorable . kind regards Julian & team

UK
Reviewed 22 November 2016

After reading many of the very positive reviews I decided to have a light lunch and see whether I would return for an evening meal. I was however very disappointed with my Pulled Pork sandwich. The sandwich was mostly apple sauce with pieces of cut up pork. The pork was certainly not pulled and was a somewhat sparse. The overriding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rustic_Neil
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your lunches, I know you were checked during you refreshments and again later by myself. It was then that I offered to replace the whole meal to try and put right the situation. We always ask guests during every course if they are happy with their meals this gives us a...

Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We came for food and drinks but didn't stay over. It was a Monday night when we visited and the pub was really quiet. Staff were very welcoming and there was a lovely fire burning. They have a good selection of Ales and Ciders. The food we had was really good, restaurant style and quality but reasonably priced. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DB4452
exmoorman, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this review

hanks for taking the time to review :-) glad you enjoyed it. You will have to try us again to get you hands on the Chocy Tart. Thks again Julian & crew

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.8 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
239 reviews
0.4 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
198 reviews
0.5 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Quay Inn
The Quay Inn
#14 of 38 in Minehead
130 reviews
1.0 km away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#1 of 38 in Minehead
366 reviews
0.8 km away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Harbourside Pub Inn & Hotel. A landmark building with its history of hospitality going back over 100 years. Our atmospheric restaurant and pub food experience will be very much 'River Cottage' style with Seafood, Fresh Fish, Local Farm Produce, Seasonal ingredients, Carvery, Kids Menu Not forgetting Celiac gluten free, dairy free lots of choice. If we cannot grow it or raise it on our farm, you can be sure it is locally sourced and the very best of quality. From home smoked bacon to our own baked breads you won't go hungry. Alfresco eating with beautiful scenic views. Great Beers & Wines. Cosy in winter with a real fire. Completely refurbished during the summer of 2013 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Ship Aground

Address: The Old Ship Aground Quay Street | Quay Street, Minehead TA24 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Price Range: RM337 - RM470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Ship Aground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Old Ship Aground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Aground Minehead, Exmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Ship Aground staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Swindon, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Ship Aground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a harbour view room”
 of 5 bubbles ElsiesophieOxford_UK, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 was fine for a one night stay. No wardrobe was not an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles arthurg186, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room no1 and room 3 very quiet for a good night sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertWilliamT, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Harbour side”
 of 5 bubbles K4672SVjohnm, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 9, huge room, comfortable bed, wonderful views”
 of 5 bubbles Jem9667, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5