We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dragon House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dragon House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
Dural, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2011

A fantastic and quaint country pub, but with service and food that would put a lot of city hotels to shame. (Just watch your head on the low ceilings and beams in the bedroom!!) Loved it - very highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kenthurstian
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Had a great stay, food was fabulous and the dinner bed and breakfast deal was great value. Room we had with dog was great, good standard. In an old building which meant guests above moving around was noisy. Only downside. No phone in room, and no contact with hotel overnight possible as not an internal room, would have helped. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmerD
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed three nights, Friday through to Sunday and had an amazing time. The room was spacious and pleasantly furnished with quality antique-style tables and chairs. The rooms had the classic odd squeaky floorboard and the headroom dipped in many places, but then it dates back over three hundred years so it's what you'd expect. Th overall style of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fishonsaturday
Hampshire UK
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Our room was lovely, full of country charm. The roll-top bath was very welcoming after days of walking around the local tourist attractions. The room was very clean, everything was is great condition and we would love to stay there again. The food as excellent! We had a bed-breakfast-evening meal deal which was great value. The lady who served our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmyVSmith
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2011

What a disappointment - yes it's on the main road but we had only planned to stay as a means of getting elsewhere so we weren't expecting to luxuriate although the surroundings were very beautiful.......however it was such a lack lustre welcome by who we presume was the proprietress and were shown to our room in silence (exposed wires above...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank archieporridge
TheDragonHouse, Owner at Dragon House Hotel, responded to this review

The assumptions that you make about the Proprietors is incorrect. Tripadvisor is only 1 review medium and we have a guest review book with 1000's of positive comments, not to mention a 93% approval rating on the Laterooms website.

Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights on a DBB basis. Food on the first night was absolutely superb. Wonderfully prepared & full of flavour. On the second night we were a little surprised to find the menu was exactly the same as the previous night. However, as I had enjoyed the lobster the previous I opted for it again. It was obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arby27
TheDragonHouse, Owner at Dragon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review - we're pleased that you enjoyed the food at the Hotel and that you were able to leave a 'Superb Food' comment in our guest book on checking out. However, you didn't mention a 'problem' with the Lobster either during service or on you departure, so we were not given the chance to...

Worcestershire
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We didn't actually stay here but ate in the restaurant. The service, the menu and the food was perfect. Everything was homemade from the bread to the icecream. We had the bar menu although there was an a la carte menu. The bar menu was definitely not second class by any means. Value for money was fantastic and I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimandChris2009
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I loved the building and quirkiness of the layout and features, which included the uneven floors, which amazingly were complained about by another guest (obviously they should have stayed in a modern hotel). The reception was welcoming and very personal - the manager had stayed up to greet me even though I was well past the agreed 'latest' check in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue0513
Essex
Reviewed 31 January 2011

An amazing stay. Pleasantly surprised when we arrived at around 8.00pm on a wintery January evening to be greeted by a friendly barmaid, and a roaring coal fire. She took us to our room and WOW absoutely loved it. Huge comfortable bed, victorian roll top en suite bathroom, very cosy, thick fluffy towels and very tastful decor. We then went...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheanie
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed at the Dragon House for our wedding anniversary on a dinner, bed and breakfast break and found it superb value and a very agreeable experience all round. We stayed in one of the 'courtyard' rooms which was basic but full of character and nice touches, with a very pleasant bathroom. Dinner was just superb, with a great range...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Soton_Tripper

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
1.3 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
229 reviews
1.7 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
198 reviews
1.9 km away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
206 reviews
1.9 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
629 reviews
9.2 km away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dragon House Hotel is a beautiful Country House Hotel located on the edge of Exmoor, an area of designated natural beauty. Here you will find a unique combination of exceptional fine dining and superb customer service. The Dragon House is situated on the outskirts of the quaint market town of Dunster and is a short drive to the coastal resorts of Porlock, Lynton and Lynmouth. Whether you wish to explore Exmoor or simply relax in peaceful surroundings, The Dragon House Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dragon House Hotel

Address: Bilbrook, Minehead TA24 6HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Price Range: RM524 - RM824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dragon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Minehead
Dragon House Hotel Minehead, Exmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dragon House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dragon House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in Room 4,had an extra bedroom with twin beds. Would be great if you are accompanied by children.”
 of 5 bubbles Sherrie507, 6 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Room 10 is good and has it's own entrance, so private. Can hear traffic noise but not to disturb your sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 187048David_B, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
“I have stayed in them all with no complaint. My favourite is 10”
 of 5 bubbles 572MartinJ, 1 Sep 2014 | Read review
“As this is a 300 year old Coaching Inn it is situated on a road ask for a room at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles ElspethC883, 21 Jun 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms are nice but one end of the hotel is near the road so maybe ask for a room away from the road end.”
 of 5 bubbles 314jos, 24 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5