We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 211: English reviews
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights 23 and 24 November 2016, met with a friendly reception. Room clean and spacious. Breakfast was fabulous. Would definitely stay here again. Stayed at Wetherspoons in Minehead on our last visit and would say The Beach Hotel is definately worth every extra penny. Loved it there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shazza677
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. our prices are not that much different in the region (if not cheaper than some) but we always go the extra mile in quality and friendliness, and our breakfasts are fresh cooked to order and worth it :-) Really glad you enjoyed the stay.

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Beach Hotel gave us a very warm welcome on a wet November evening. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful carrying bags for us and setting up our breakfast in an area where we could sit and eat with our dog. Our room was brilliant lovely and warm and very spacious with a sea view and very clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gillianaelliott
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for the email, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. As the building is a Victorian hotel build in 1874 it does have some quirks of plumbing and these mean we cant put power showers in without great expense. we feel it adds character to your stay. but as you point out you couldn't get a...

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start. Turned up to this lovely looking hotel to be greeted by the most positive and helpful staff who showed us to our room. We had the room North Hill, it was large, comfortable and the view was second to none. The bar staff were friendly and hard working. The selection of local drinks were really good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katesG5736XO
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

What a weekend to stay... the wettest and windiest in a long time. We are really proud of the team here and what they achieve. Thank you for such a lovely review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a fantastic time we had! My partner and I traveled up to surprise his dad for his birthday. Parking is very limited and if there isn't a space you do have to pay until 6pm. Staff were fantastic! Very attentive and welcoming without being in your face. Unfortunately our room hadn't been serviced on day two. This wasn't a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth M
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Beth and Emily are two fantastic members of staff. We are really pleased they made your stay memorable.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed one night in Minehead but had a terrific time walking along the sea wall and past the harbor area to a park just at the edge of town. The Beach Hotel was perfect for what we needed. We had a corner room with a view of the water and the steam train station. The room was huge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank egg58
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Please do return there is so much to do in the area, from the highest sea cliffs in england to the longest heritage railway all with a short distance (one is only 50m away)!!!

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We attended the The Beach Hotel for a local function in October and I can honestly say it was excellent in every way. The staff friendly and professional and the food was very good. It might be an idea though to provide a draught option with the lager/beer, excessively chilled bottled beer at £3.95 for 500ml is rather expensive for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sedith
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, really glad you enjoyed your event. You will be pleased to hear we will have a draft lager and beer option available to compliment are local craft supplies too. see you again soon to sample the draught. Cheers

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for three nights over the half term break. I was in a room with my two children (10 & 6) and on arrival I was concerned the double deluxe room we had booked wasn't going to be big enough once my daughter's extra bed was out up. Charlie, who I believe was the manager, was fantastic and upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JEB-82
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for such a lovely review, Charlie is a real asset to the hotel as are all of our young staff. Hope you will be back soon. Dave

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Location good ,on sea front and near pubs and shops . Overall hotel was adequate, staff were friendly and polite . The carpet in the reception area was very dirty and as this is one of the first areas you see it could do with replacing.. Our room was clean and comfortable, but there was no light or socket near...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie B
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for the review. I'm sorry you were not happy with a second floor room. Our website does inform people that there is no lift in the hotel. If you had mentioned this to reception we would have tried to move your room for you to the first floor, and one of our staff would have been happy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The beach hotel had been a pleasure to stay for one night as we made out way to Butlins the next day. The customer service was very good as sometimes, as a family, we are made to feel unwelcome or to be keeping a close eye on our children. The Beach hotel was nothing like this as they welcomed us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark_Banks25
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for such a lovely review. As a lot of our staff have young families or are parents we know the joys and mess that they bring :-) we try to ensure your stay is a home from home and guest feel relaxed enough to enjoy the beach, the outdoors and the mess that can bring! :-) hope to see...

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Nicely refurbished hotel with welcoming and extremely helpful staff. Excellent location (right on the beach), excellent service and very good food. We stayed in a Deluxe Room with a Sea View which was light and airy. Hotel very clean. We were accompanied by our dog Boris who was totally spoilt by all the hotel staff. We would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carande123
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Was lovely to meet you and the lovely Borris, I think chef took a shine to him or Birris to chef? Luckily the walks on the beach will burn off all the sausages he was fed :-) Hope to see you again soon. Dave

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.5 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
188 reviews
0.8 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
201 reviews
3.1 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.8 km away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
229 reviews
0.2 km away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment you arrive, the sea air and rugged coastline remind you that nature is on your doorstep. But inside, every part of the hotel - from the bedrooms to our Beach Restaurant and Cafe - has been created to bring you the best in contemporary comfort. With a range of family and superior rooms there is something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Price Range: RM431 - RM622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Hotel Minehead, Exmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
10 months ago
Stockport, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I asked for large room with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles gillianaelliott, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No lift .Wifi patchy”
 of 5 bubbles I6642UYjulieb, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be cheeky and see if you get a sea view room and then take a photo, it's lovley.”
 of 5 bubbles Mark_Banks25, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms are larger - rooms overlooking the sea are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles carande123, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Always book direct by telephone with the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles triboy_2011, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay