We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Beach Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were delighted with our stay in this hotel. The reception and restaurant have been recently refurbished and the bedrooms look fresh and modern. Our room was very large, the decor was an understated seaside look and the room had all you needed for a comfortable stay. We had a lovely sea view which was great in the mornings. Special...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate028
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review, really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we only have a small car park but the public car park is free after 6pm and is only 25m away. Thanks again Hope to see you again soon. Dave

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in a family room for just 1 night with my 6 year old son and 1 year old daughter. The hotel itself looked as if it had been recently decorated, and had been done so very tastefully, keeping with a beach theme. Our room was very comfortable, other than I couldn't find any spare plugs to boil the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann B
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Heya thank you for the review, I'm guessing you stayed in one of our family rooms 207 as when it was renovated there was difficulty in getting enough sockets to the right part of the room due to the Victorian layout. Hope it didn't disrupt you too much. Best wishes Dave

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a large light and airy room with large ensuite all spotlessly clean. The service was excellent the staff were very helpfull attentive polite and cheerfull, The food was of the highest quality and cooked to perfection, they made our dog very welcome even making sure he had a bowl of water. The hotel is well located close to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glenharrington
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Wow great review. We like the word perfection!!! We always strive to achieve this, it's great to know we are getting right.

Bremen, Germany
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Stayed for one night. The location is great, directly at the seafront.The wifi was very spotty, but it dindt matter. Very spacious room, an incredibly cosy bed, warm and helpful staff. And the breakfast was just superb.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mathiasfsghjfdzkgd
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review. we are working on the wifi and have just ordered some new access points so we can remove the boosters as these are causing the issue. We hope to see you again soon for longer than just one night next time. Dave

Tideswell, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We stayed on a Saturday night in a delux double. The room was excellent, great bathroom and sea views. The staff were very helpful and recommended a local restaurant which was marvellous. The breakfast was outstanding. It's a great place to stay and don't let it being a YMCA put you off. This is an outstanding hotel and more than...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David J
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We believe its all about good quality beds, decor and breakfast. but what makes us stand out is the people. we really try to ensure your stay is as relaxed as possible. hope to see you again soon.

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Stayed for two days.Hotel in the process of a kitchen refit and only breakfast supplied.Without seeking a reduction our bill was reduced by £50 for any inconvenience.Staff young and very helpful.Freshly painted and look forward to a return when all modernisation complete.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johncasewell
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

I hope you will be bale to return to see the new refurbished Kitchen Theatre (which is now open) it looks amazing, I'm glad the work didn't detract from your say too much. best wishes. Dave

carmarthen
Reviewed 25 January 2017

I stayed over Friday and Saturday nights. The Hotel has been recently refurbished and was clean. The breakfast was excellent although the choice of cereals could be widened. I had some noise from the next room and nearby on Friday but quiet on Saturday. Bedroom was large well appointed and bed comfy with views over the West Somerset Railway station....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hugh g
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Hugh We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. the hotel was built in 1876 and has been in its day the iconic place to stay in the region. We are bringing it back up to that reputation again, we are trying to keep its character as a Victorian hotel but bring some of the benefits the 21st century...

Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on Friday night and we were very impressed! Unbeknown to us, the hotel were carrying out work to enhance their dining facilities and because of 'the inconvenience caused to customers' they discounted all rooms. We were not affected at all by the work. We planned to dine in another restaurant anyway and we were not disturbed by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, I have spoken to the chef who will look in to sourcing some GF hash browns, although he has just shown forced me to sample a rather lovely home made GF version... much better. so we think they will be on offer from next month. Cheers Dave

Reviewed 9 January 2017

Minehead was the last stop of our road trip in July 2016. We stayed at The Beach Hotel for one night. It is a very lovely hotel with super friendly stuff. The decor is kept quite simple, the bed is comfortable and the room in general was very clean. Great hotel for a short stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabinna R
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, Lovely sums us we hope. hope to see you again soon. Dave

Luton
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We stayed at The Beach so we could visit my dad in his carehome. Me and my two teenage boys had a lovely big family room - I had a double bed, the boys had two proper singles i.e. not camp beds. It was lovely to be able to take our Springer Spaniel too for a small extra charge. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Supermum17
David J, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

it was so nice to meet you and the boys, and the dog, he looked like he enjoyed the walks on the beach thoroughly. we hope to see you again soon. Dave

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.5 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
198 reviews
0.8 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
209 reviews
3.1 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.8 km away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
235 reviews
0.2 km away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment you arrive, the sea air and rugged coastline remind you that nature is on your doorstep. But inside, every part of the hotel - from the bedrooms to our Beach Restaurant and Cafe - has been created to bring you the best in contemporary comfort. With a range of family and superior rooms there is something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Price Range: RM452 - RM655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Hotel Minehead, Exmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
over a year ago
Stockport, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont have Luccombe unless noise sorted.”
 of 5 bubbles MartinG247, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe double”
 of 5 bubbles DLT39, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room ..2nd floor....outstanding”
 of 5 bubbles martinbetterton, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea views”
 of 5 bubbles peterrE8544OT, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Selworthy has a good view”
 of 5 bubbles rainmaker27, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5