We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Argyll Hotel

Booking.comUS$75*
View Deal
#1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Argyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

936 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 928: English reviews
Start your review of Argyll Hotel
 Click to rate
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Fairly last minute booking , we got a room with a good view over the ferry terminal to the Clyde. The room was reasonably good if a little out of date, the beds were comfotable, we ate at the hotel in the evening and had a tasty meal, the breakfast was good and we arrived a bit late but were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0hnsellers
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

a little run down but clean and tidy ,staff willing and helpful ,evening meals good ,breakfast food ok but sparce and as usual half tomatoe supposedly grilled but raw . lift that was tiny and had a mind of its own very slow .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jelomaxjoiner
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this through my hotel break. Com . 2 nights dinner b&b third night b&b free. Although the hotel is spotless, the rooms are a bit dated though there are on going upgrades. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and eager to help. The lift is a tad dodgy but served its purpose. Our room was clean , would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked in for 1 night b&b to meet up with local friends the next day and celebrate our anniversary. In the hotel half an hour and walked out. First impressions going into the hotel were poor and got from bad to worse. Receptionist not confident and didn't explain everything fully, lift is ancient and keep thinking going to break down,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bwng
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We stopped for dinner over easter holidays, very reasonable and dinner was lovely. Nice menu! Monique who served us was lovely. Would recommend it. £50 for 4 adults and a child. Not fanciest restaurant but food made up for that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
Management response:

Good afternoon! Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it! I am delighted that you had a such a great dinner with us. I hope you come dine with us again very soon. Kindest regards Sandie

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in April, and we weren't disappointed. Check in was made easy by Renata, and the Maclachlan room was very nice with views over the bay. Breakfast was okay but only okay. The poached eggs on both days were hard, and Christine had the haddock which was over cooked. The staff are very good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterTCheshire
Management response:

Good afternoon! Thank you so much for your great review and for taking the time to post it! I am delighted that you had a such a great stay with us! It's always a pleasure to hear where we are going right and i'll be sure to pass all your comments onto all the kitchen breakfast team. I look forward...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

The Argyll Hotel is said to be one of my he top houses in Dunoon. However, for me it has been really disappointing. An awful smell on the stairs, a non working TV set in the room, an interior design, taking you back to the late-80s Michael Caine movies (great movies by the way), and a really disappointing breakfast, ad...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kolja R
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017

My room was single and very small - up in the eaves. It was clean and the shower was hot. No real complaint except about it being rather cramped. I decided to eat at the hotel as there was a good vegetarian choice. The food was lovely and well cooked and presented.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UkuleleFan
Management response:

Good morning! I am delighted that you had a lovely stay with us and i really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a great review, thank you. I'll be sure to pass your kind comments over to all our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. Kindest regards Sandie

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on Sunday 9/4 on a DBB deal, clean looking hotel with lots of friendly staff, we had 3rd floor attic type room which was big enough for 2 of us, shame it was 2 different size single beds put together, tv kettle tea/coffee hairdryer and a good clean shower, Choice of 2 restaurants, we chose Rio the Italian,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jer-rav
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Ate here on our last night of our holiday in Dunoon. Lovely surroundings, the staff were friendly and accommodating!! We ate Italian food which was lovely and plentiful. I had half pizza pasta meal. Pizza was amazing. My little girl had carbonara- which she polished off in record time. Bill was reasonable too. Will definitely return if I am ever...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie m
Management response:

Good afternoon Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to our Rio Ristorante. I am delighted you and your daughter had such a lovely meal. I do hope you visit us again if you're ever back holidaying in Dunoon again. Kind regards Sandie

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.0 km away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
174 reviews
0.4 km away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
638 reviews
1.3 km away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
233 reviews
1.2 km away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
447 reviews
0.6 km away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Price Range: RM376 - RM653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
7 months ago
scotland
11 months ago
scotland

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Argyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The single rooms are very small.”
UkuleleFan, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a seaview”
karind469, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't take top floor rooms,”
largyc, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms have a beautiful view over the bays”
irenec721, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We only ate here - well, we tried to eat two courses, but the second was not available!”
johnhC7036ZV, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$75* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$75
TripAdvisorUS$75
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates