We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Argyll Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Argyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

921 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 913: English reviews
Start your review of Argyll Hotel
 Click to rate
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I have just returned from an overnight stay using a 5pm voucher. On arrival the staff could not have been more pleasant. Our room on the first floor overlooked the high street and ferry terminal. It was spacious and comfortable for our stay. The only disappointment was with the noise from one of the beds where the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmance2017
Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from Dunoon which itself has changed so much with nothing to do now for tourists although it is a beautiful place it had lots of closed down shop, pubs and restaurants but one saving grace was this wonderful hotel. It was centrally located, the room which had been refurbished and was comfortable and modern and had everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irene C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a two day stay in this hotel and found the quality of my stay as follows The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful The hotel environment was very good and all areas were to a very good standard. My single room and en suit was of a very high standard, and the hospitality tray even had de caff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Management response:

Good afternoon! Thank you so much for your brilliant review and for taking the time to post it! I am delighted that you had a such a great stay with us! It's always a pleasure to hear where we are going right and i'll be sure to pass all your comments onto all the team. I look forward to welcoming...

South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for Sunday Lunch - there seemed to be nowhere else Open! We noticed from outside that there were many folk seated - we presumed they were dining - how wrong one can be! They were all in the Bar area, snacking on burgers and stuff.... We were shown into the Dining Room [which was large, but 'eck, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic murder mystery weekend from the moment we stepped in. Excellent food, excellent actors and brilliant staff. Accomodation was great. Has everything you need, great location in the town centre. Couldn't faulter the hotel or its staff. A bargain for what you pay, can't wait to book again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnMacintyre110
Management response:

Hi there! Would like to say thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! Our Murder Mysteries are our jewel in our crown we feel and we are always delighted to hear that our guests enjoy them as much as we hope they do. Be sure to look out for our 2018 dates coming very soon!...

uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the staff with the manager ?christine are allowed to say anything to any guest purely to extract money. I usually come regularly but omit to have breakfast as I have found on many occasions it is horrible and even the sausages are not defrozen enough and cold and undercooked inside.I was checked in by a waiter called Jaans who said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arvindUk
Dalry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have just returned from an overnight stay using an Itison voucher which was such good value. The staff are excellent especially Paulina on reception, she was so helpful and everything was done with a smile. Dinner and breakfast were very good with plenty of choice. Our room had a wonderful view and was so comfy. Looking forward to going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine644369
Management response:

Hello there! Many thanks for taking the time out to leave us such a great review! I am so pleased that your stay with us so good! It always so nice to hear that our guests have such a great time and i will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. I do hope that we...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Stayed here couple times before, which were enjoyable enough, but this time...well wont be back, to say the least. The room we had this time was big enough but looked quite dated and the furniture looked cheap. The hairdryer didn't work properly and the ironing board had seen better days. We have no idea what the breakfast was like this...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank watsonma2011
Management response:

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. However, after looking extensively through all of our bookings for December we have no booking under your name and no notes of any complaints that relate to what you have written. If i could ask you to contact the hotel directly on 01369 702059 if...

Stevenston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Spent one night here with my granddaughter. Lovely old building. Yes the rooms need a bit of revamping but they were clean, and our room was large, as was the bathroom. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Plenty of teabags, coffee etc in the rooms, and loads of hot water filled the really deep bath. Very novel using the toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
Management response:

Good afternoon! A huge thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am so pleased that you and your granddaughter had such a great stay with us. It's always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their visits with us. I do hope you will both come visit us again very soon. Kind regards...

Gourock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

An overnight stay in a reasonable room. Bed was ok, tv almost at roof height but the main problem was the noise from Dunoon Main Street from rowdy drunks.....there is no double grazing in the room so you just have to toss and turn and get up in the morning tired. Breakfast was clearly pre cooked and kept warm. Has...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lambretta101

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.0 km away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
162 reviews
0.5 km away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
628 reviews
1.2 km away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
213 reviews
1.2 km away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
437 reviews
0.5 km away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Price Range: RM368 - RM611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
5 months ago
scotland
9 months ago
scotland

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Argyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms have a beautiful view over the bays”
 of 5 bubbles irenec721, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We only ate here - well, we tried to eat two courses, but the second was not available!”
 of 5 bubbles johnhC7036ZV, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“As the reception mentioned, book direct with the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnMacintyre110, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Update to a room with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Christine644369, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view lovely watching the boats on the water especially at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 112carolinem, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5