We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,051 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,044: English reviews
Bourne, Lincolnshire
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I was travelling home on a dirty night, and needed to break my journey. I found the Lee Wood, and it was just what I wanted. Elegant, well trained staff, a nice bar and a very good restaurant. I settled back in comfort. It is an old building, and I was in the annex, so no elevators. But it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert H
TheLeeWoodl, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Robert, thank you for reviewing your comfortable stay! We are pleased to have been able to provide a little escape on your journey and glad that you felt welcomed. Buxton is one of those central places where people often stop off on their way (or way back from) holidays or events and we are always happy to provide a...

Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Stayed here for two nights - first night good second night terrible. Before booking here check that there are no party nights, weddings or special events. The noise on the Friday night was unbearable -the disco sounded as though it was outside our bedroom window at it went on till 1:00 a.m. Complained to the night porter and night manager...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sandaw54
chesterfield, england
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We've just had our works Christmas party at the Lee Wood and it was so good to be back, the last time we went was 10 years ago, we're never going to miss a year again. The food was gorgeous, the rooms perfect and a wonderful party atmosphere. The staff are so friendly and attentive. I shouldn't wish time away...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jashy
TheLeeWoodl, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Happy New Year! Thank you for your review of the Christmas Party here at the hotel. We love hosting them and December is one of our favorite months for this very reason! It's hard to believe that the Christmas Party season is all over for another year, but we look forward to welcoming you back next year. -- Matt D

Melbourn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay here, great staff and lovely rooms and very handy for the town centre. Would definitely stay here again when visiting the area. The hotel is clearly very old and a lot of the original fixtures are there but the hotel is very clean and doesn't feel like an 'old' hotel. If you want somewhere to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank global-gypsies
TheLeeWoodl, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. We often refer to the hotel as a "Grand Old Lady" although we take care to keep her rooms (and wi-fi access!) updated. We would love to welcome you back again if you are ever passing through. -- Matt D

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

The first time we have used a Best Western this year after using so many in the USA and Canada last year and we were not disappointed. From the original booking on the phone to checking out our experience was first class. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the town centre so there was no need to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan M
TheLeeWoodl, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy the town (even if just for one day!) We hope to see you again if you ever decide to revisit Buxton. -- Matt D

Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

On arrival we were welcomed by the friendly reception staff and shown to our room in the annexe. We had thought this might be a modern addition but was pleased to see the accommodation was in the same style as the hotel. Ample tea, coffee and shortbread was a considerate touch. The modern bathroom had lovely illuminated mirror. Situated a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peterthetraveller98
TheLeeWoodl, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were glad to see that you enjoyed the Old Style Comfort of our hotel. We frequently update all of our rooms, but aim to carry forward the character which has been a part of our hotel throughout the current ownership of over 50 years. We hope to see you again if you are ever...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Despite the title Of my review we really like this venue having visited some 30 years ago. The only change was up graded bedrooms and bathrooms and a glass Conservatory. They have moved the bar but traffic was quite slow. We did not have dinner as the menu was a little stuffy and slightly expensive, as was the accommodation. However...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spithead
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here last night as a last minute booking to use as a base for a night out. Staff were lovely- very friendly and helpful, hotel is very clean and well cared for, our room was comfortable and thankfully not ridiculously hot! (Just lacking enough tea bags. 2 for an overnight stay seems a bit meagre). Good points- coeliac...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FayeWild
TheLeeWoodl, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you felt welcome and that the room was comfortable. We can only apologize for the disturbances throughout your stay! We do try to provide vegan, gluten free and lactose free products wherever we can, as we understand how frustrating it can be when you are away...

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We stayed here for one night when going to a show at the opera house which is only 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. Check in was easy and quick. The room was well furnished and spotlessly clean. A good sized modern bathroom. We had a bar meal which couldn't be faulted and breakfast also was high standard. A special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank venezia2348
TheLeeWoodl, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your food and stay. We will pass the special mention to Charlie who is a much valued member of our team! The Opera House holds a very special place in our hearts at the hotel, as Mrs Millican (the grandmother of current owners) helped secure much...

Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We have stayed in Beautiful Buxton many times ........ and did not know this gorgeous Best Western Hotel existed it is on top of our many lists now!!! So dear readers another Mini Moon as part of our 20th wedding anniversary celebrations on the 20th August this year. Firstly thank you to the 1st class receptionist Suzy who selected a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan W
TheLeeWoodl, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Anne and Alan, thank you for your review and we hope that you have enjoyed all of your Mini Moon trips throughout the year! It was wonderful to hear all the little details that you enjoyed during your stay with us. It really makes us feel valued that you noticed the little details. Thank you! We hope to see...

311 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (22)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin or Double (18)
Viewed
Executive (19)
Viewed
Executive Double (11)
Viewed
Family Room (14)
Viewed
Front Facing Double (13)
Viewed
Junior Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.4 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,350 reviews
0.4 km away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
984 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
24.7 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.0 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Price Range: RM443 - RM929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton
Buxton Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Roseville, California
8 months ago
Grand Prairie, Texas
9 months ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the front have better views and are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 962ianp962, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Telephone the Hotel direct re terms. They will save you a disabled parking space if informed.”
 of 5 bubbles ABLIlkeston, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Close to town centre but uphill. Rooms overlooking the park are recommended There is a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles slidewinder, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“front rooms have a pleasant outlook - but if there is a function during your visit the second floor will be quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles MrsAholidaymaker, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles peterthetraveller98, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5