We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,060 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,053: English reviews
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2015

I was very disappointed with this hotel. Its in a good location and the bedrooms are of a good size and decorated as you would expect for a country hotel but the hotel itself is full of very old fashoned furniture (not country house or antique) which looks cheap and nasty. The carpet is paterned, the type you would have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicola H
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with some of the aspects during your stay. We are a traditional property and take pride in the history and atmosphere the building provides. Taking this into account when we had a new carpet fitted in 2014 to the public areas...

LIverpool
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

The staff in the restaurant and reception were exceptional. Lovely setting. Clean and comfortable. Food in restaurant was tasty and value for money. Bed a little soft for me but room large and well equipped.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank woodhey1
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Just had a very enjoyable weekend stay here. Large, bright spotlessly clean room with lovely view across to the hillside opposite. Quiet location despite being only a short walk from the town centre. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ormeite
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2015

This is the fifth time we have visited this hotel over several years and the standard has remained high. Ideally situated in Buxton, easy access to the town centre and attractions. Some lovely walking routes nearby, with amazing views across the Derbyshire countryside. Hotel accommodation has been ungraded and the food as ever remains exceptional.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandm55
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Very nice hotel with lovely setting, only minutes from the centre. Wonderful breakfast. Friendly and efficient staff, despite having a large wedding taking place on the Saturday. There is also plenty of street parking round about if for any reason the car parks are full.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yorkshires15
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Derby
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Ideally located in a peaceful location less than 10 minutes walk from the centre of Buxton this hotel is a great base to explore from. It is a comfortable, traditionally decorated hotel: spotlessly clean and well maintained. There's plenty of car parking although some of the spaces are tight but you can also park on the the road at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N-gaugeDave
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015

A lovely, well situated hotel overlooking Buxton. We stayed two nights. The hotel is within walking distance of the Opera House, which was perfect for us as we were going to two folk concerts. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and we were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. The room was large and well appointed....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 12Max
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose

UK
Reviewed 3 May 2015

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel was. Our room was very nice with a separate living area and a lovely large bedroom. Very clean and the coffee and tea facilities were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had an evening meal and breakfast both were really good. We would definetely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LittleWeedUk
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

Nottingham UK
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Stayed for one night at the end of April, for just bed and breakfast. All the staff are very friendly, helpful and obliging. The whole hotel although the furnishings are a little tired is very clean and comfortable.We had a good sized room, with a comfortable bed. It's just a few minutes walk to the dome, pavilion and opera house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scuba_diver100uk
John M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Rose Operations Manager

315 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (22)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin or Double (18)
Viewed
Executive (19)
Viewed
Executive Double (11)
Viewed
Family Room (14)
Viewed
Front Facing Double (13)
Viewed
Junior Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.5 km away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
995 reviews
0.4 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,421 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
24.7 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.0 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lee Wood Hotel is set in its own grounds with mature gardens and is just 200metres from the Buxton Opera House. All 38 rooms are individually furnished and offer all the amenities that you would expect. There is complimentary internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and there is no charge for car parking within the hotel grounds and its vicinity. The hotel offers extensive conference and meeting facilities and is Buxton's leading venue for weddings and other celebrations being able to host from 5 to 225 guests. The Lee Wood is also well known for the quality of its Elements Restaurant which is situated in the conservatory and where an extensive choice of dishes are on offer. We look forward to welcoming you to our country house style hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel

Address: The Park, Buxton SK17 6TQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Price Range: RM398 - RM878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buxton
Buxton Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
22 days ago
Roseville, California
9 months ago
Grand Prairie, Texas
10 months ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very pleasant bar and lounge. Wifi is ok.”
 of 5 bubbles olgatheaudi, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the front have better views and are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 962ianp962, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Telephone the Hotel direct re terms. They will save you a disabled parking space if informed.”
 of 5 bubbles ABLIlkeston, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Close to town centre but uphill. Rooms overlooking the park are recommended There is a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles slidewinder, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“front rooms have a pleasant outlook - but if there is a function during your visit the second floor will be quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles MrsAholidaymaker, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5