We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Hotels.comUS$70*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 831: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was disappointing couldn't really find out what we was eating had to wait for food and when it arrived wasn't to expectations.that's the main concern the tea facility's was minimal the tea was a strange brew of mixture tea coffee real nice garden area good parking and a lovely 17th century building

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graham c
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham C, Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you were unsure of what you were being served, I am not sure which particular event you were attending or why you had to wait. I can only apologise if the flavour of the tea or coffee was tainted. Thank you for your kind words about the grounds...

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 843trevorj
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

One night stopover, arrived late at night (midnight) but having checked in online the formalities were swift, key ready and the reception kindly unlocked the back door so I could come in that way having been directed to the free parking. The archway through to the rear is pretty tight as are the lanes in the main part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timpaws
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear timpaws, Thank you very much for your 5 out of 5 review. I am glad you had a speedy check in, I is true that the archway to the car park in quite narrow but slow and steady gets you through... I am glad that you found the room to be comfortable and that all the team were so...

Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Excellent hotel. Easy to find. Carpark is large, but entrance and exit is through a narrow archway. A Range Rover can get through ok. Hotel is clean and well maintained. Staff are very friendly. My only advice is if you have a heavy suitcase, and you park in the car park, check in first before unloading your bags. It is...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank FW-CCL
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your great review following your stay here with us. I am really pleased to read your kind words about all areas of your stay in particular about the tea. I am pleased you did not have any issue getting a large car through, slow and steady gets you through no problems and I agree with...

UK
Reviewed 14 March 2017

A lovely "Olde world" feel to this hotel. Service is excellent and the rooms retain a lovely charm. Their afternoon tea is lovely with great service and excellent value for money. A great place to rest your feet, relax and enjoy a lovely break whether it's a traditional afternoon tea or a relaxing drink in the bar. Well worth a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UkMermaid61
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear UkMermaid61, Thank you very much for your comments, I am really pleased to read how much you enjoyed the traditional feel of the hotel, I will be certain to pass on your kind words to the team and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards...

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

A one night stay can be a bit of a gamble, but we were most pleased with all aspects of our short stay. Hotel location is perfect in / for the town, all staff were genuine in their desire to please, the restaurant was great and the full English breakfast enough to feed an army - wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheppard-andy
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sheppard-andy, I am delighted to read you 5 star review following your recent stay with us here at Mercure Banbury, I am really pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of you stay and of course will be certain to pass on your kind words to the hotel team who make it happen. Once again many thanks Michael Williams General...

Thorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We have just come back from a single night stay and have to say that we did enjoy Banbury and the central location of this old hotel. The place is fairly scruffy and needs a really good makeover but the bedroom suite we stayed in was clean and the bed very comfortable. Even though there's a restaurant, the food on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SurreyBillJ
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SurreyBillJ, Thankyou for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay with us. I am really pleased to read your kind words about the staff, I will be certain to pass them on. I understand your comments about a makeover being needed, as you can see in previous posts it is a common comment and something...

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Booked three rooms over the phone directly with hotel. One was for elderly parents with mobility problems. Was offered one by the lift on first floor. They didn't tell me that you had to walk down a corridor, up a flight of stairs, leave building , walk through car park and re enter building to get to the lift in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank browniecookie
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear browncookie, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry if the layout of the hotel was not clearly enough explained and and such an impact. Due to the age of the hotel there are a lot of stairs and it is true the lift does not provide easy access to them all and is accessible from going outside...

Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We had a good experience before we arrived by Lisa Bradley Events Manager Our Evening went Very Well the Staff could not do enough for us nothing was not to much trouble. the waitress in the dinning room Honor Larissa Ellis was very helpful in arranging a Table for 12 in the morning, the food was excellent and Lisa provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ron K, Thank you so much for your great review following the celebration of your Golden Wedding with us. I am especially pleased to read how well the team catered for you and that they were so helpful. I am so sorry for any wait that you and your guests encountered at the bar but pleased that it did...

Carcassonne, France
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the Whately Hall for one night,very friendly staff when we arrived helpful and smiling....this Hotel is all Oak panelled which gives it an air of oldie Worldie great...The bedroom was very clean and big with a lovely bathroom with bath,lovely soaps and shower gels,tea making facilities a nice touch,a big TV to whatch,very clean and warm (great cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gordon B, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to let people know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I am really pleased to read how much you appeared to enjoy all aspects of your stay with us, especially the breakfast by all accounts. I am glad you appreciate the historical decoration of the hotel...

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.1 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
8.9 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
5.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: RM344 - RM601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms facing the main road - regrettably that means some of these in the hall”
Dwatkinsuk, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a quieter room at the back overlooking their lovely garden.”
sheppard-andy, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“second Floor New building”
rocketron, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the new block have a lot of corridors and fire doors to be negotiated to get back to the front of the hotel.”
F1072JBdavida, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in the newer part of the building and was very quiet”
Shirbaz, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$70* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$99
Hotwire.comUS$70
TravelocityUS$70
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates