We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cromwell Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cromwell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 511: English reviews
Start your review of Cromwell Lodge
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Yes it's a bit tired, and yes it's more pub than it is Hotel, but if you are looking for a friendly place to stay that is really great value and you enjoy happy helpful staff then try this place. I have stayed here 3 times now on business and it has been a different crew each time but always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11SemperViator
oxford
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Sunday Lunch I have never heard so many apologies from the staff to the customers Very late service forgotten courses and missing Yorkshire Puddings with no explanation! They had a deal on but that was no excuse for the unprofessional mess! Disappointed. Certainly won't be risking Mothers Day there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisenken
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner went hear this evening and sampled the lovely valentines menu . Right from the of we was welcomed by a very polite lady who showed us to our table , the 2 servers we had during the evening were very polite, attentive and well mannered , Connie and Jenny couldn't we couldn't fault . The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isla W
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed here a couple of times and always good. Lovely hotel in great location. Very nice rooms. Great breakfast and reasonable evening meals in very nice restaurant area leading to nice relaxed bar. Staff friendly. Very close to town with some nice pubs and restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

What lovely comments, thank you for taking the time to write this. I'm sure we will see you here again soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location in the middle of Banbury. We stayed in a superior room which was spacious but decor was dowdy and tired. Bathroom was not really up to standard, old. Shower was good though. Was kept awake at night with fans / generator working outside the room (room 3). Room was warm but we couldn't open the window because of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WLT83
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I apologise that you felt the bathroom was not up to standard, we are currently looking at updating so we will take your comments on board.

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic Sunday lunch had by us both and we were lucky to get a special offer of £5 off each meal! I had a delicious lamb shank and my partner had a duo of meat. Service was fast and friendly! I couldn't resist the banoffee pie for dessert is was the best I've tasted in a long time. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback! We do often run good offers on meals, as you said these are always posted on our Facebook. I'm sure we will see you here soon.

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We stayed for a couple of nights on a special deal. As we had had a disappointing stay at another Old English Inn, we decided to upgrade to a superior room prior to arriving. We were pleased we had as our room was characterful and large. The bathroom was huge and despite a few small issues with the room that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCtimes2
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

I am glad you had a lovely stay. Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you here again soon!

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We had our wedding at the Cromwell Lodge Hotel and what a wonderful experience it was. The staff are friendly, helpful, very organised and hard working. The manager Biata proved to be exceptionally skilled at planning the event down to the smallest detail and made suggestions and helped us think of things that had not even crossed our minds. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you felt our team was helpful throughout the planning of your wedding. We were happy to be a part of your day & hope to see you here again soon!

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Very impressed with having my wedding at Cromwell lodge and staying there for two nights. The staff couldn't do anything more to help especially beata and Sam. Very helpful, very pleasant and got really involved with what was asked of them. Super staff and a lovely place. Well done to all the staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team are glad we made your day run smoothly. We hope to see you again in the future!

derby
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Hotel (pub really) is in a good central location and is on the whole ok.The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar area nice and cosy. Our bedroom was quite large but tired and had a very smelly bathroom. The breakfast was average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tyreeh
Beata S, General Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Apologies for the smell in the bathroom, the rooms are thoroughly cleaned every day so i will investigate this. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
5.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
408 reviews
9.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: RM326 - RM581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 3 - noise from generators/fans”
 of 5 bubbles WLT83, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms available for those with mobility issues who cannot manage stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles patw523, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the room over the function room or bar”
 of 5 bubbles shropshirelad050, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No wifi worked not suitable for business”
 of 5 bubbles Lainie-Bramerton, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not room 15”
 of 5 bubbles jimhI4082SW, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5