We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cromwell Lodge

594 reviews
Save
Traveller (162)
Room & Suite (94)
Dining (10)
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good34%
  • Average18%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“old building”(25 reviews)
“top floor”(15 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (594)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Cromwell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
159
185
110
74
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
159
185
110
74
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold buildingcreaking floorboardstop floorbirthday partybreakfast was excellentvery pleasant stayboth morningslovely weekendbed was very comfortabletea and coffeeweekend breakfull englishtwo night staybanbury town centrebanbury crossyogurtmarquee
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
131 - 135 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We booked an overnight stay at the Cromwell Lodge as we needed a dog-friendly hotel in Banbury where we were attending a music event. Our initial impressions were good. The exterior of the hotel is attractive, parking was easy and the garden looked attractive. The...More

1  Thank RamblingRob
Response from Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell LodgeResponded 5 September 2016

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you had a lovely evening here at the Cromwell, apologies for the chaotic breakfast - we have new staff, however this has been sorted now. I do hope you return.

Reviewed 3 August 2016

This place is not that good the location near the centre of Banbury is good and free on site parking are its best features. We booked and paid for a superior room and ended up with room 23 an attic room which was difficult to...More

Thank KVS79
Response from Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell LodgeResponded 5 August 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately as well as being located close to the local amenities which is ideal in the daytime it does mean we are also central for the night life of Banbury. We do hope you return in the future

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

I think the review title sums it up quite nicely... We stayed overnight (1 night) following on from a wedding. We were in room 20, right at the top of the hotel and the room was 'interesting'... By which I mean you might get seasick...More

Thank David L
Response from Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell LodgeResponded 5 September 2016

Thank you for your comments. We do accept that this room needs work, unfortunately due to the age of this building it is hard to change quickly. This room has maybe a little too much character. We do hope you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 1 August 2016

Stayed 2 nights. It was the cheapest we could find at short notice.The hotel is need of a makeover without spoiling character. We ate in dinning room first night. It was just okay. However, the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was spacious...More

Thank Tiede
Response from Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell LodgeResponded 5 August 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding staff. We will look to improve in the other areas mentioned. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Very very tired hotel. When we arrived we were told that we had been booked into a room with no windows but as we were staying for more than one night they found us another room. Damp and yucky smells all over the place. Staff...More

Thank bestallsorts
Response from Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell LodgeResponded 5 August 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry you were not happy with a few thigs, I will pass these on & look to improve. Hope to see you again soon

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12526272829118
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$86 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$86 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (162)
Room & Suite (94)
Dining (10)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Barbara663
4 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from alaimar | Reviewed this property |
No pool at all !
0
Votes
Google Translation
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"please do not stay there at your peril"
Read review
"Don't bother"
Read review
"If there are any clean rooms make sure you get one"
Read review
"Avoid this place. There are much nicer hotels in Banbury."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing