We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cromwell Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cromwell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cromwell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 492: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

The extended side of hotel(the parking lot side)is not good and not professional. No staff there , that makes me feel we are isolated . And the elevator emergency phone is not "there". 😱 When we arrived 3rd floor. Outside of every room got dirty towels, or glasses, ... And every door of the room is Dirty.😵 About our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jass M
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

comment doesn't seem to fit a description of our hotel. Is there any way we can get this removed? Review remarks on '3rd floor' which we do not have, also on an elevator, where we only have stairs. Also remarks on the state of the mini fans, something else which we do not supply. Speaks also of two separate parts... More 

Annan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I recently stopped over at The Cromwell in Banbury. What a lovely surprise. Olde worlde charm. No lift but not too many stairs. The room was spacious so was the bathroom! Plenty of hot water. A lovely superking sized bed very comfortable. Was worried that the church bells would ring thru the night but didn 't hear them after midnight.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1catherine64
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us; we are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us! We really value the history of Banbury, and the history of the building itself, so it is excellent to hear that you were just as charmed. We hope to welcome you back in future,... More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Just to say first of all, I've never given an average review - normally I'm very easily pleased. So first of all to the plus points - it's a lovely quaint building, the rooms are trendy-boutiquey and clean, the staff do their best, the beer garden (complete with cute squirrels) is lovely and in the whole we enjoyed our weekend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brummymummy2012
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experiences with us. It is very important to us that we are able to improve with every customer that we welcome into our hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you felt that you had an overall positive experience, and hope that... More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015

My first night ever spent in the UK was at this quaint hotel in Banbury. The Cromwell has a feel like you are staying in someone's home. The layout is odd, and each room is unique. The front desk staff was great, and the bar/restaurant in the lobby was a good find. Unfortunately, the room didn't measure up. The decor... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjhorner1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

We are really glad that you decided to share your experiences with us, as we welcome all types of feedback in order to continue offering the excellent service we are so proud of. We are really pleased to hear that you were impressed by our team and that you enjoyed our bar and restaurant. In terms of your hotel room,... More 

Travellers are raving about these Banbury hotels

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2015

The best thing about this hotel was the excellent food and very friendly helpful staff, I couldn't fault anything about either. I stayed for 2 nights and never got any sleep at all. The hotel is on a busy main road, with very poor glazing. The floorboards from other rooms and outside your room keep you awake. The walls are... More 

Helpful?
Thank RhinestoneCowboyUK
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

We are really glad that you have shared your comments with us in order for us to improve our facilities for future guests. We are also delighted to hear that you were impressed with our food and staff - both being aspects of our business that we are very proud of - and we will pass on your positive feedback... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2015

A lovely hotel with good prices on food and wine and a gorgeous garden. The best feature though has to be the staff; friendly, attentive and very professional. Highly recommend this hotel.The place itself is charming and quirky. Rooms are a bit small but cosy and for a weekend absolutely fine.

Helpful?
1 Thank baca2015
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Cromwell Lodge and sharing your comments with us. It is encouraging to hear that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the service that our staff provided for you. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future and continue to offer the great service that we are so proud of More 

Cumbria
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at the Cromwell. The rooms are quirky, the floorboards creak, the staff are fabulous and the breakfast is excellent. It is perfectly situated for the centre of Banbury and I will certainly use it again.

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Cromwell Lodge Hotel and sharing your experiences with us. We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us, and will look into making adjustments in the rooms to provide maximum comfort and enjoyment throughout your stay, should you choose to visit us again in future! More 

Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I stayed at Cromwell Lodge by myself and was so courteously treated by the staff. I received an overseas phone call through the switchboard at 5.30 am on a Sunday morning and even that didn't faze them. The room was very clean and continental breakfast satisfactory. The whole town is charming and I would love to return.

Helpful?
Thank Lea D
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and your comments. We pride ourselves on our welcoming and friendly staff and are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Should you return to Banbury we would love to welcome you back to our hotel More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We visited Banbury and the Cromwell Lodge for a long weekend. It is a lovely hotel and the staff were so welcoming and friendly and everyone worked very hard and the general manager Beata was lovely. We do feel that there could have been a few more waiting staff in the restaurant in the evening as we waited what seemed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us, both in your hotel experience and when dining in the restaurant. Apologies for the delays in your food delivery during the week, but it is encouraging to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and we will pass on your comments. Thank you for taking the... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2015

This hotel is a beautiful building, our room was lovely and the bed comfy. It looked onto the road but wasn't too noisy. The staff are helpful and friendly , the manager was very cheerful and keen to help. It's only 5 minutes walk to the town centre for shopping, coffee shops and pubs. We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank jvaughan2015
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely and kind comments regarding your stay with us here at The Cromwell. Really pleased that your stay was an overall enjoyable one. We are proud of our hotel and all its extra characteristics here so glad this was a good point for you. I will pass over all your lovely comments to the rest of... More 

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
5.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
385 reviews
9.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: RM342 - RM578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No wifi worked not suitable for business”
 of 5 bubbles Lainie-Bramerton, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not room 15”
 of 5 bubbles jimhI4082SW, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had room 17 that overlooked the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles DianeW360, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 had what looks like an adjoining door, you can hear the guests next door!!!”
 of 5 bubbles yme60, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They have some outside rooms in the garden side - keeping you away from the noise in the streets!”
 of 5 bubbles TVL75, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay