We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cromwell Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cromwell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cromwell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 510: English reviews
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Single room of which the hotel has only one. Great location for reaching the village of Cropredy where the 3 day music festival is held. Stay was for 5 nights. If coming to festival book well ahead. Dining room at breakfast time very understaffed lovely people and as a consequence service was very slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard h
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

We are very pleased you had a pleasant stay and happy that we were able to add to your festival experience. We really appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast service and hope to ensure that we take your feedback on board. All feedback is invaluable to us to ensure that we are always meeting the standards of you, the customer....

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015

On the 1st august, after 2 and a half years of planning, myself and my, now, wife had a blessing and a sit down meal with our guests followed by an evening reception with disco buffet and karaoke at the Cromwell lodge hotel. Well i dont really have enough words to express how amazing the venue and staff were. Nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are so pleased we were able to help ensure that your wedding day was as perfect as possible. We will pass on your comments regarding the service and food to our staff and we all look forward to seeing you, your wife and friends very soon

Burghead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015

The hotel is never a 4 star,I would give it 2.The whole place is shabby and smells of damp which is clearly visible,with paper hanging off doors don't close properly and shower was needing a good scrub.On a positive note staff were lovely and helpful and food ok.Would never go back all our clothes stunk of dampness for £100 would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and enabling us to improve the overall experience. We are delighted to hear that you were impressed with our staff, and will make sure to pass on your positive feedback as this is an aspect of our hotel that we are very proud of

CATFORD
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Had 2 nights there, staff very helpful, room comfortable, food good, very well cooked and always hot, staff at breakfast were happy which always helps early in the day. Lovely hotel overall. Great area too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OLSPN
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are very pleased you had a pleasant stay. We would love to welcome you back should you ever pass through Banbury again

Plymouth
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We've stayed at the Cromwell many times, and will stay again, as its location is ideal for our visits to family. But would I recommend it to anyone else? Well, not in its present condition. I suppose I'm writing this review in the hope that someone in Old English Inns senior management will finally realise the need to spend some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy1949
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for sharing your comments with us and allowing us the opportunity to improve on your experiences. We are pleased to hear that you are frequent visitors, and certainly hope to see you again in future next time you are visiting family in the area. However, we are sorry to hear that your experience during your most recent...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

my stay was very good I will keep going back all staff were pleasant and helpful also has a lovely garden were you can have a quite drink I told all my friends to stay there if and when they are in banbury the town is on your doorstep bus and trains10mins a way shoping is very good

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daniel c
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback not only with us, but also with your friends. It is excellent to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and we look forward to seeing you and hopefully your friends in future.

Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

As part of the Old English group this hotel is housed in an old building with lots of charm and features together with creaking floor boards and sloping bedroom floors. The bed was a superb queen sized bed, the room was in style and the full English breakfast was all you expect. Suggest you ask for a room at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogyrogster
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your comments with us, it is always useful for us to hear back from guests in order for us to continue offering excellent service. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed both the hotel and restaurant in equal measure. As the hotel is on a main road, we do agree that rooms nearer the front of...

Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Came back to my home town to see family and stayed here, a very nice hotel love the old style especially when laying in bed and seeing the radiator almost hitting the floor on one side, lovely nice staff would stay again next time I come down

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gavinessex111
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us. We adore the history of our building, and are glad to hear that you valued it just as much as we do, and that you were pleased with the staff that we are always so proud of. When you are next visiting family in the area, we would...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

The extended side of hotel(the parking lot side)is not good and not professional. No staff there , that makes me feel we are isolated . And the elevator emergency phone is not "there". 😱 When we arrived 3rd floor. Outside of every room got dirty towels, or glasses, ... And every door of the room is Dirty.😵 About our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jass M
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

comment doesn't seem to fit a description of our hotel. Is there any way we can get this removed? Review remarks on '3rd floor' which we do not have, also on an elevator, where we only have stairs. Also remarks on the state of the mini fans, something else which we do not supply. Speaks also of two separate parts...

Annan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I recently stopped over at The Cromwell in Banbury. What a lovely surprise. Olde worlde charm. No lift but not too many stairs. The room was spacious so was the bathroom! Plenty of hot water. A lovely superking sized bed very comfortable. Was worried that the church bells would ring thru the night but didn 't hear them after midnight....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1catherine64
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us; we are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us! We really value the history of Banbury, and the history of the building itself, so it is excellent to hear that you were just as charmed. We hope to welcome you back in future,...

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
408 reviews
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
9.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: RM326 - RM581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 3 - noise from generators/fans”
 of 5 bubbles WLT83, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms available for those with mobility issues who cannot manage stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles patw523, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the room over the function room or bar”
 of 5 bubbles shropshirelad050, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No wifi worked not suitable for business”
 of 5 bubbles Lainie-Bramerton, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not room 15”
 of 5 bubbles jimhI4082SW, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5