We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashford International Hotel

Save
Share
Simone Weil Avenue, Ashford TN24 8UX England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$101
US$91
View deal
SAVE US$10
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$101
US$91
View deal
SAVE US$10
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Expedia.comUS$91
HurbUS$101
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (345)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (200)

About

#3 of 9 hotels in Ashford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Ashford International Hotel is located close to J9 of the M20 motorway and minutes from the Eurostar terminal, Channel Tunnel and only 36 minutes from London. The hotel boasts 19 state-of-the-art conference rooms and 179 sumptuous bedrooms. The hotel has a contemporary brasserie style restaurant Horizon, Costa Coffee and the more informal sports bar with pool table, Quench. Leisure and Spa facilities feature a 20m indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, Technogym, relaxation suite and six beauty treatment rooms.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1918Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 826
  • 673
  • 253
  • 102
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ktplussix wrote a review Mar 2021
8 contributions
We have been to this hotel many times and is a family favourite , we booked a suite for our 10 year anniversary. Room was brilliant until you looked closer , carpet was ripped and the room wasn’t cleaned properly ( very disappointing especially during COVID) we move a bedside unit to look for plug socket and it hadn’t been hoovered in a good few months. House keeping did come straight up and clean, there where bits that were starting to look tatty and our bed had quilts under the sheets which made us think there maybe mattress issues. Breakfast was basic and standard , you couldn’t ask for extra bacon or egg . We were told this is due to COVID but premier inn are still doing full selection on breakfasts in smaller kitchens so I do not understand . Tables had the edges missing and seats all had stains all on them , even the beautiful pool area looks tired . Instead of spending money on re vamping the lobby I think they should have spent the money else where . Have to say the staff were 10 out of 10 , warm and friendly and did their best to make our weekend special. Thank you team
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronica QH, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel
Responded 11 Apr 2021
Dear ktplussix. Thank you for reviewing your stay which I presume was prior to the November lockdown. I'm sorry to hear that there were issues with your room and I'm pleased that they were promptly addressed by Housekeeping. Your kind comments about the team are very much appreciated, thank you. Pre lock down we had started our refurbishment program but only managed to complete the lobby area and ground floor rooms. We hope to resume the other areas soon. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, General Manager
Read more
Aaron M wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Well what can I say worst nights sleep I’ve had in a hotel for a long time after been outside at work all day in the cold I check into my room where I find there to be no heating on I ring reception and complain then told me it would be on within 20mins... 2 hours later I’m still waiting for some heat I ring up and make a second complaint, and then again to be told the same thing! I then had to end up sleeping in my jumper and joggers as it was that cold!! So I don’t think I will be returning anytime soon 0 out of 5
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronica QH, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2020
Dear aaronmD2685CN, Thank you so much review and I am very sorry to hear that the heating in your room did not work despite attention from the team.It is a matter of regret that you were not offered a room move or a portable heater.My sincere apologies for your uncomfortable night at the hotel. Kind regards Veronica Kingham.
Read more
Khun Derm wrote a review Nov 2020
4 contributions
I had been to the hotel 3 times before and was keen to return for a short break with my family for the half term school holiday. I was really disappointed with our stay and how the hotel had deteriorated since last summer. Room The reservations lady told me that we’d have a superior family room: one of the beds would be king size. The beds in our given room were both doubles: it appeared to be a standard family room. There were no mugs but instead single use paper cups were provided: a Covid measure I assume. There were only 2 for the 4 of us. Surely they could see from my booking that we needed 4 of everything and possibly want more than one drink each – it was a family room after all. The aircon/heater seemed to work efficiently when we checked in but turned off during the night. My husband and I were awake around 4.30am as the room was hot and stuffy. My husband turned the aircon on 3 times but each time it turned off within a minute. In the end we had to open the window and put up with the road noise instead. The room safe was not left open – not sure if this was another Covid restriction or just an error in room cleaning. There were no bath robes provided as I had been told for the ‘superior room’ so we had to ask for some. I was completely taken back at how old they were: brown with holes and threads hanging everywhere. Totally embarrassing to wear them but we wanted to be ‘pool ready’ and spend as little time in the small changing areas as possible. Bathroom It was a decent size and clean with a separate shower cubicle and bathtub. Only one small shampoo, conditioner and bodywash provided which was insufficient for a family. The shower door leaked badly as part of the seal on the bottom of the door was missing. The grouting around the shower tiles was dirty. As with the cups, we were only provided with 2 towels so had to ask for more. Communal areas A clean modern look and well presented although some patches of carpet were worn out and covered in duct tape. They have put in a one way system but the arrows are sparse and not placed on the floor so many guests don’t see them or chose to ignore them. Pool This was one of the reasons that we return to this hotel as it’s great and 20m long. We had to book in a slot which we were happy to do in order to follow Covid regulations in limiting the people in the pool. The steam room, sauna and jacuzzi were open. I thought that the pool area and changing rooms were showing their age with peeling paint etc. Some of the lockers in the female and male changing rooms didn’t work and 2 of the 3 shower cubicles had no shower gel. One family had 3 young children and seemed to find it acceptable to take over the jacuzzi despite the minimum age being 16 years. Two of the 3 children had arm bands so nowhere near this age! There was CCTV but clearly the health club staff turn a blind eye. The parents of the same family stayed in the jacuzzi while their offspring took to the pool: no lifeguard was on duty and no member of staff came to speak to them. I mentioned it to the 3 staff at the reception desk at the health club and only then did one of them go to off to the pool. Restaurant What a shocker! Although staff are friendly and hardworking, they are completely over stretched. We booked dinner for 8pm thinking 2 hours would be sufficient time for the 10pm Boris curfew. We stood waiting to be seated for more than 5 mins and then our order wasn’t taken until 8.25pm. Our main course didn’t arrive until 9.25pm! Two of the side orders had been forgotten and came 10 mins later when it was too late. We asked if we could fit in a dessert and ordered these at 9.45 … they arrived at 10.10. The restaurant manager was very apologetic and tried to make amends. At least the food was good although my daughter’s margarita pizza was a cheap deep pan doughy variety with a hint of cheese and tomato that was practically inedible. Unfortunately breakfast was no different. We were shown to our table but not asked what we wanted to drink. We could see another family desperately looking to catch the waiting staff’s eye to get drinks too but to no avail. It was very annoying to see to other parties seated and immediately ask for their tea/coffee order. The service was very inconsistent. We eventually made our order at 9.20am having had to get staff’s attention. While we did that another waitress tried to give us someone else’s order. A few mins later, the 2 cooked breakfasts turned up even though our drinks and cereal hadn’t as yet. We asked for them to be returned to the kitchen. Another waitress turned up to retake our ‘continental order’ as apparently it had got lost. We explained to the waitress about how long it was taking to get a drink and she offered to get a manager to speak to us. While we were redoing the order, our cooked breakfast turned up again! The drinks and cereal came to us just after 9.30am but there was no milk for my hot drink. At 9.40am I finally started to drink my coffee. When our cooked breakfasts came out for the 3rd time, we guessed that the person serving was the manager as she wasn’t wearing uniform. She confirmed that she was and said that they were understaffed as a member of the team had had an accident that morning. Lots of people in the restaurant were unhappy with the service – you could hear negative comments and the looks on guests’ faces confirmed things were unsatisfactory. Upon leaving the hotel we heard another guest talking loudly on her mobile about how the standard of the hotel had gone downhill. We could see the manager talking to another couple at the reception desk…we didn’t bother to stop and lose any more of our time. Much quicker for me to send head office an email and leave this review.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronica QH, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. May I apologize for your disappointment and reassure you this is not our usual level of customer service. Our team were working their hardest in very difficult circumstances. I hope that you will return to the hotel to experience our usual service levels in the future. Kind Regards
Read more
Marcus wrote a review Oct 2020
Darlington, United Kingdom166 contributions84 helpful votes
Spent a week with work at the hotel, the main areas are nice and modern but rooms need attention. On arrival staff very friendly and pleasant. Once I got to room I noticed it was dated, all woodwork around it was damaged, damp on ceiling in bathroom but other than that clean and tidy. Bed very comfortable but you could hear everything in corridor and walls must be paper thin. The food was generally good but I think they were understaffed as there was no consistency to service. We had to wait on occasions a long tome for food and drink!! Breakfast was fine however some days you would get 1 egg then others you’d get 2. I have to say though the staff were really nice and friendly doing their best but possibly need more as one did tell us she didn’t work in restaurant normally!! Location is good right next to motorway. Would I stay here again ? Probably not with my family but if I had to for work it would be okay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronica QH, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2020
Dear Magple1818. Thank you so much for reviewing your stay and I am sorry that there were concerns.Thank you for your kind comments with regards the team.We are working differently currently due to Covid with staff working across several departments.We are reviewing and updating the training all the time. Pre lock down we had started our refurbishment program me but only managed to complete the lobby area and ground floor rooms-We hope to resume the other areas soon. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, General Manager
Read more
johnybadluck wrote a review Oct 2020
Derby, United Kingdom128 contributions76 helpful votes
+1
I have stayed at the ASHFORD international hotel a few times before and always find the hotel in good order with a nice room but on my last visit what a difference I had to experience. Room was so cold and reported this was told they would fix it two hours later the room was still freezing with no heating. Round about 4 o clock there was hammering banging by locks being changed on the doors in the corridor Bath had hairs in it Bath panel broke In poor state of repair in my opinion. Eventually could not stay in the cold room no more so went back to reception and asked for an heater but the girl on reception was so friendly and excellent asked if I would like to move rooms. Once I had moved rooms no complaints and the room was excellent but wasted 5 hours of my stay waiting for maintenance to turn up but I never seen them. I do travel a lot and hope next time I stay I will not be put in that old room and given a nice clean room so on this occasion I wasn’t impressed other than the way receptionist helped out.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronica QH, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2020
Dear johnybadluck, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay and I am sorry that your recent visit was disappointing.Thank you for your kind comments with regards the receptionist that arranged a room move for you but my apologies it was needed at all. Pre lock down we had started our refurbishment program me but only managed to complete the lobby area and ground floor rooms-I am sorry that the return of the contractors to finish the bedroom locks created a disturbance.We hope to resume the other areas and bedroom corridors over the next few months. If you visit again soon please request a ground floor room as this area has been refurbished now. Kind regards Veronica Kingham, General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ashford hotel international, ashford international hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentAshford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
179
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ashford International Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ashford International Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pressure Point Escape Rooms (1.0 km), Cineworld Ashford (0.6 km), and The Swan (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ashford International Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ashford International Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ashford International Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ashford International Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Amici Restaurant, Trattoria Romana, and Po Thai.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ashford International Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ashford International Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ashford International Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Ashford International Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Godinton House & Gardens (2.2 km) and The Ashford - Tank WW1 (1.0 km).
Is Ashford International Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.