We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Globe & Crown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Globe & Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Globe & Crown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Poitiers, France
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Wife and I stayed here for 1 week in October, visiting relations in local area. Major problems finding parking slot in pub car park, supposedly residents only. Told by female bar staff (Told us she was 'duty manager') pub only has 8 parking slots and 28 rooms. Extremely unhelpful and dismissive, told us to park in adjacent doctors surgery car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisgroombridge
GlobeCrown, Manager at Globe & Crown, responded to this review

Dear chrisgroombridge Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay. There are a few points i wish to discuss furthermore; first of all there is parking avaliable on site however it is limited and once it is full there are a number of parking options within very short distances. The duty manager was trying to help you park in...

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We were very disappointed with an overnight stay we had here. We went in the bar to meet some family, but we could not stand it tv on full volume for football,we had to go somewhere else. The room was adequate that's about all,pillows were very thin hardly any support mattress was hard. But the shower was ok. Breakfast what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dumpster62
yeovil
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Firstly I would like to mention how cosy and inviting the pub was. The decor is lovely, however, sadly I don't feel that the same has been put into the hotel. We stayed in room 1. Upon arrival our door was already unlocked and ajar. Which seemed a bit strange. We also noticed in the room that there may have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryrose88
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

No main reception area, had to check in via the pub next door. Hotel and pub very clean and staff were very helpful but the rooms were shocking, tiny rooms in need of some serious tlc, room 9a should be avoided as the pub sign is directly outside the window and stayed lit all night. Could access free wifi. Generally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hcwcd
GlobeCrown, Manager at Globe & Crown, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. We are happy you recognised the high level of cleanliness and customer service during your stay here with us. The standard rooms are generally slightly smaller, apologies if the sign shone through your window this is something we will be investigating as it has never been mentioned in the past. Kind regards

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Not sure where to start..... walking into the room to find a half smoked joint on the window sill, which must have been left by a member of staff, as otherwise the room had been 'cleaned'. Massive cob web directly above the bed with a spider in it. The smell of bleach that the cleaner had used in abundance on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Afi001
GlobeCrown, Manager at Globe & Crown, responded to this review

Dear Afi001 I would like to respond to some of your malicious comments when in fact that when you checked in all you bought to our attentions was one minor issue which was resolved immediately. With regards to your allegation of a "JOINT" in the window seal, this is not possible as i checked room myself prior to you checking...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Low price, decent bed, decent shower. That's all I need! Pub is a touch overpriced but the staff were excellent! Unfortunately we didn't get to try the restaurant as the opening hours were outside of our requirements (6-9pm).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
GlobeCrown, Manager at Globe & Crown, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. We are pleased to hear you had a good stay with us. We do offer a happy hour between 11am-7pm which is on many of our popular lines. If you wanted to dine with us and we were notified we would have mad every effort to keep the kitchen open. Kind regards

somerset
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Best carvery such good value, the food is amazing the flavours are first class, 4meats and a vegetarian option good selection of vegetables staff really friendly if you haven't booked a table arrive early as not surprising it's very popular

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherbySomerset
GlobeCrown, Manager at Globe & Crown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a wonderful review. We are very proud of how well the carvery is going and its taken a lot of hard work to get it at this level. Your advice is also spot on due to being so busy it is essential to book a table. We hope to see you again in the near...

Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Booked this hotel for a single night as we were visiting friends in the area. We booked a single room and twin room. The window in the single room had been left open and we were unable to close it properly, leaving a gap at the bottom of the window, allowing mosquitoes to come into the room. In total we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romfordanonymous
GlobeCrown, Manager at Globe & Crown, responded to this review

Dear Romfordanonymous, First of all thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I would like to discuss a few points you have mentioned in your review. The question was asked if we offered a vegan breakfast at the time of booking, to which we agreed that this wouldn't be a problem. However we have no recollection of...

Crook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The room that we occupied was previously a care home as the room was still fitted out with all the accoutraments. The room was dingy and ill lit and the furniture was very tired. The bathroom has all the fittings for a care home, and like the rest of the room, not particularly clean and the sink was so low...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaldenby
GlobeCrown, Manager at Globe & Crown, responded to this review

Dear Shaldenby, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay, however there are a few points i would like to discuss further to this. The four poster room you stayed in was previously designed to be disabled friendly! All rooms are checked before guests check in and are ensured to be clean and ready for arrivals. Our car park...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

The best thing about this hotel is that it is well located. Easy access to centre of town, walking distance to theatres, churches. Decor in my room a little worn out, but good shower pressure. Am not a smoker so was put off by the smell of smoke in the bathroom! Pleasant staff and nice breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
GlobeCrown, Manager at Globe & Crown, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are in the process of upgrading all of our rooms, and we strive hard to be the best budget hotel in Yeovil. I can only apologise about the smell of smoke. We are a none smoking hotel and if anyone is found to have been smoking in...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.2 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
508 reviews
0.5 km away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
167 reviews
0.1 km away
Mermaid Hotel
Mermaid Hotel
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
81 reviews
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Globe & Crown

Address: 73 South Street, Yeovil BA20 1QF, England (Formerly Globetrotters)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Price Range: RM260 - RM322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globe & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Globe & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe & Crown Hotel Yeovil
Globe And Crown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Globe & Crown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Globe & Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles dumpster62, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel!!”
 of 5 bubbles Romfordanonymous, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not facing on to the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles 781suem, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I you read my review but are still committed to staying,get a superior 4 poster bed, I saw room 1 which looked good”
  • Dirty, needs painting, overall disgusting. Room overlooked smoking area of pub and stank
  • Dirty, needs painting, overall disgusting. Room overlooked smoking area of pub and stank
  • Dirty, needs painting, overall disgusting. Room overlooked smoking area of pub and stank
  • Dirty, needs painting, overall disgusting. Room overlooked smoking area of pub and stank
  • Dirty, needs painting, overall disgusting. Room overlooked smoking area of pub and stank
  • Dirty, needs painting, overall disgusting. Room overlooked smoking area of pub and stank
  • Dirty, needs painting, overall disgusting. Room overlooked smoking area of pub and stank
  • Dirty, needs painting, overall disgusting. Room overlooked smoking area of pub and stank
 of 5 bubbles trustwhatisay, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Free parking is in a different postcode although directly behind there is a one way system. Phone ahead to get directions .”
 of 5 bubbles LINDAJERSY, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay