We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I could not believe the condition of this place. It is in very great need of a total refurbishment. We had booked 2 twin rooms. Our bedding was clean but the beds hard and the floor had holes/dips in it. The blind on the door didn't work so we had to put a towel up overnight. The bathroom was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqui B
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 5 June 2016

My husband, son and I checked into the family room # 15 on June 3, 2016. Place looked somewhat clean, but carpet was old and looked like it hadn't been properly vacuumed in some time. I checked the bed and noticed the pillows and bedding were quite old. In fact the comforter didn't have a replaceable cover. Nor was there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jannykpoo
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

I booked a room here but then found one at a better hotel, I asked for a refund which I got, then the hotel took the money out again. I contacted the hotel they admitted their mistake then kept fobbing me of with dates of a refund I have not received

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Paul R, Owner at The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Sent from my iPhone You: RE: Booking Cancellation: Halfway House Inn / Hotel2016-05-16 15:03:17 Hi Andrew I have just got of the telephone with my Card company and they say they have processed the refund to the bank, And the bank my take up to 5 working day to pay it back in to your acc. This is Ridiculous as...

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

My wife and I found this Hostelry very good as a base for visiting local National Trust properties in the area. The food was OK but only average. The rooms were quiet and the one we stayed in was at the back of the main building so we did not get road noise. The car was parked in view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roythorogood
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We stayed with a groupon offer, good value with bed, breakfast and first evening meal. We arrived on a busy Sunday lunchtime but was still shown to our room when they could have easily asked us to wait. Room was a large family room, clean and equipped with tea, coffee and biscuits. It had shower over bath which could be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynn s
co Antrim
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Ideal for dogs. With rooms outside backing on to the lake. Big advantage too that a noisy function in the pub didn't disturb us. One of the friendliest pubs we've stayed in. Very clean and comfortable. In need of an update but the pros do definately outweigh the cons. We had various meals all adiquate. We will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loughside
Paul R, Owner at The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, our staff pride themselves on their friendliness, we look forward to your company in the near future.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We had a really nice stay here and with the Groupon voucher it was exceptionally good value for money. This is definitely a pub with rooms rather than a hotel with a bar. Which unless you like paying a fiver for a pint is great. Bar prices are typical pub prices and you have the option of bar food or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJ186258
Paul R, Owner at The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Pewsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Ok, I read the reviews after I had booked the Halfway House for a night - had it been the other way around I would not have stayed! Firstly, the miserable lady that was mentioned in several comments was no-where to be seen - every single member of staff I encountered were really charming and very welcoming. Secondly, dirty rooms???...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinathomson
Paul R, Owner at The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are working through a planned set of improvements to all aspects of our business and it is wonderful to see it working.

Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

No it's not the Ritz, but for the price you pay, it's clean, warm and friendly. It's more motel than hotel with the added bonus that dogs can stay which means you can really make the most of the lake and gardens, hidden at the back. I don't think it's trying to be anything more than that. Staff are lovely,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oj1000
Paul R, Owner at The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, you are right we live in the real world and charge a fair price for a great product

Cornwall
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed from Nov 2015 to March 2016.pleasure and business What can i say,the land lord and staff take an amazing pride in where they work the pub and grounds are well looked after,the food is amazing especially the Moule Frits (for those non ligual french, mussels and chips) and the portion you get is definitely value for money. The accomdation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank col67
Paul R, Owner at The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words we look forward to your next visit

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
5.4 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
3.8 km away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
175 reviews
4.5 km away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
535 reviews
3.4 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
202 reviews
6.3 km away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tourists and business visitors to Yeovil will receive a warm and friendly welcome at this charming Inn / Hotel on the outskirts of the town. All 19 en suite rooms, which include a disabled friendly lodge, family apartment and luxurious Bridal Suite, are comfortably furnished and include TV and tea/coffee making facilities. A tempting menu is offered in the restaurant and home cooked dishes are prepared using locally produced fayre where available Free Fishing available for guests. AA*** ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge

Address: Chilthorne Domer | Nr Yeovil, Yeovil BA22 8RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Price Range: RM231 - RM406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 10 what a surprise to have a gallery bedroom”
MichelleD786, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are better but make sure you ask for a room as far from the rear door as possible to avoid noise from other guests”
401jennyb, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Never pay I'll price”
behonest2015, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the road but it was not noisy. Rooms at rear have views. There are ground floor rooms and dog friendly.”
AmeliaT69, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The ground floor (outside main building) rooms are right next to the rear car park.”
BBSinger, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5