We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Manor

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Manor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 523: English reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed last night with 2 colleagues, bar was ok and well decorated as was reception and the dining area. My gripe is the rooms. I had no 42 which was in the stable block and to be honest smelt like it when I walked in! Tired furniture and dated/marked decor completed the mix for me plus a shower that took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrjoliver1968
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your review. We appreciate all comments, and use feedback received to improve for future guests. We do hope to see you at the Manor again soon. Kind regards Kat & The Manor Team

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Had lunch here today by way of a recce prior to booking a party of 5 for lunch during literary week. Good call, inviting friends to lunch here would have been so embarrassing. On entering the dining room you first had to negotiate piles of cardboard boxes stacked up by the reception desk. On sitting down I noticed a sticky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your review. We appreciate all comments, and use feedback received to improve for future guests. We do hope to see you at the Manor again soon. Kind regards Kat & The Manor Team

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

My team of employees were booked into this hotel and we stayed there for two weeks. Generally it is well kept, clean and tidy and is a good hotel that is really convenient for the town. As with many older hotels the rooms vary slightly but they were all ok and not too noisy, other than the other guests banging...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdeW66
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your review. We appreciate all comments, and use feedback received to improve for future guests. We do hope to see you at the Manor again soon. Kind regards Kat & The Manor Team

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

staff were excellent, stayed for one week, we were not happy with room, bathroom wasn't clean complained to a member of staff. lovley old building just needs attention with décor in room. we did have good holiday

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your review. We appreciate all comments, and use feedback received to improve for future guests. We do hope to see you at the Manor again soon. Kind regards Kat & The Manor Team

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

Booked this as needed an overnight stay for Husbands birthday (as a surprise for him). Booked a superior room - great value on a Bank Holiday weekend. Welcome was just perfect and amazingly friendly. Room was amazing, couldnt of asked for better. Food on the evening was faultless, steaks cooked exactly as asked for. Great atmosphere with very friendly staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your review. We appreciate all comments, and use feedback received to improve for future guests. We do hope to see you at the Manor again soon. Kind regards Kat & The Manor Team

Reviewed 31 August 2015

I have just came home from a very pleasant stay at the Manor hotel In Yeovil. The rooms were fresh smelling and clean. Wasn't much of a view but that's to be expected in a standard double room. The beds were very comfortable and the shower clean and good to use. I only had breakfast at the hotel as i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack E
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your review. We appreciate all comments, and use feedback received to improve for future guests. We do hope to see you at the Manor again soon. Kind regards Kat & The Manor Temam

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

As many other reviewers have said, it is the front of house staff that make the Manor hotel special. During our stay there did not appear to be enough of them, but they all worked extremely hard to make our stay enjoyable. Other reviewers have commented that the hotel is in need of a makeover, and I agree. However, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your review. We appreciate all comments, and use feedback received to improve for future guests. We do hope to see you at the Manor again soon. Kind regards Kat & The Manor Temam

Nonette, France
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Very disappointing stay at the Manor. First the rooms (we had two) were very dated, drab small and needing lighting. Our rooms faced either the Tesco parking lot or a parking lot with trash cans. One could not open the window due to noise and safety (one of the rooms had a window on the first floor out to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlier100
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your recent review. I appreciate your feed back, and if you wish to discuss it further please feel free to contact me direct. Kind Regards Kat & The Manor Team 6480@greeneking.co.uk 01935 423116

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We were in Yeovil for a meeting and stayed in The Manor as an event we are attending next year is due to be held here. We arrived by train at Yeovil Junction (which is not near the town centre) mid-morning. Our room was not available as expected so we went for a wander as The Manor is a short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suspence63
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your recent review, we really appreciate your detailed and valued comments and will use them to improve for the future. We look forward to seeing you again, Kind Regards Kat & The Manor Team

Nottingham
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Stayed here for a long weekend. There are rooms in main building and in an annexe called the stables. I stayed in the main building. Everything is clean and tidy, room fittings all good and worked (TV remote was missing but soon replaced by staff). The hotel caters for a lot of weddings - there was a wedding reception on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Archie118
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your recent review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon, Kind regards Kat & The Manor team

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.2 km away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
275 reviews
4.3 km away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
242 reviews
2.6 km away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished three years ago The Manor is located in the Somerset town of Yeovil with easy access via the A303. An Ideal base if visiting Yeovilton, Sherborne. Built in 1735 by local glover and merchant banker John Daniel, the house was known as Hendford House. After he passed away the house was rented out until 1927 when it became The Manor Hotel. A manor it may not be, but it is certainly elegant enough to be one. Its classical facade and porch are of warm, mellow stone, and to its long single wing, also of stone. It has a cheerful modern bar with scrubbed floorboards and pale beechwood furniture and fittings. Today the hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality. Yeovil is the ideal spot from which to explore Hardy's Wessex. Nearby attractions include Glastonbury Abbey. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: 26 Hendford, Yeovil BA20 1TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Price Range: RM345 - RM487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Manor staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay in the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles dumpster62, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother eating in the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles fireman999Somerset, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Friends stayed in the stables and they said that they were very small and cold so not sure there is a good room here”
 of 5 bubbles smiff99, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I suggest a room in the hotel itself . The stable rooms are detached from the hotel within the hotel car park”
 of 5 bubbles Tumbl, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“a room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles hodgkins5, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5