We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 294: English reviews
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

Would like to say a big thank you to Highdown Towers restaurant Carvery section looking after my 28 people today great credit to the management and staff of this place for looking after us with some of us are disabled and elderly with walking problems with looked after us so much care we'll see you again thank you very much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Q
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

On arrival, check In was easy and given good directions to our room. In an adjacent building our room, 15 was on the first floor. As we entered it was a nice surprise to find a bright clean room with 4 poster bed. Sofa and table where a handy extra. Large t.v. With free view. Very quite except you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leslie a
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Lovely room, clean, large good bed, food was good, and staff were very friendly , happy with our stay and would go again. The grounds were lovely to sit in for an evening drink , there was a large wedding party but didn't affect our service or stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darcyknight64
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I visited the carvery for lunch on an afternoon out. I'd heard great things from friends and family but was really disappointed. The food was tasty but served quite cool so was cold by the time we sat back down. We were not allowed to take our leftovers home, so I can only assume what we didn't eat was thrown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snuffmonkey
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Nice pub a bit of the beaten track, need a vehicle to get there. Near wine vines and Wyvale Garden Centre area. Quite posh inside, comfy seats. Didnt see the restaurant part but heard its nice and popular for Wedding packages. Came in here with my husband for a couple of bevvies.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annette h
Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Asked and was given a twin room on the ground floor .Shown to the room by a most charming young lady receptionist.Prior to our departure from home received an email asking if we would like to book a table for dinner during our stay. Enjoyed a delightful carvery dinner served by pleasant waiter/waitresses. Lovely hostess in the morning directing us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank derekc944
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews on trip advisor but I felt compelled to write my own review following Karen M's previous review. I have never felt so sorry for a hotelier as I did for the lady who runs this hotel, on the night in question I was staying at the hotel and witnessed the entire debacle. Firstly, this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella F
Highdown H, Front Office Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We thank you for your review & kind words. We apologise for the disruption that you witnessed & assure you that it was a rare occasion . We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Absolutely the most awful staff that should NEVER run a hotel - booked in with my grand children and small dog was not told that we could not bring him in - within 5 minutes of settling in - was startled by a loud banging on the door by the manageress? who told me we could not bring in a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Karen m
Highdown H, Front Office Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we do appreciate your words but would like to clarify what happened. You checked into the hotel @20:23. You were checked in by a gentleman but only yourself came to the Hotel reception & you proceeded to your car With which your Family were still waiting in. It was only when you passed the window...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We had as a family taken 3 rooms here. We had been in touch twice to ensure early access to rooms to dress for a wedding Yet when we checked in we had a very miserable reception The man literally asked what we wanted. Standing with suitcases in a hotel lobby might have meant something to most receptionists but obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uday T
Highdown H, Front Office Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the review it is nice to have your feedback.We apologise that you were not entirely satisfied with your whole stay but as you`ve said you were able to have a early check in for yourselves and the Gentleman went over to check which room`s were available & mentioned that you should watch your footing due to the...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Just spent 2 nights at this hotel which definitely reminded us of Fawlty Towers, especially the stairs to the bedrooms. Was distinctly underwhelmed! Rather poor initial greeting from manager, decor dated and certainly tired., Inferior toiletries (considering cost of room) no phone in room but 2 hairdryers! Room mostly clean but dust evident in drawers and bedding and towels pristine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan N

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
5.3 km away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
310 reviews
3.1 km away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
586 reviews
4.2 km away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worthing
273 reviews
4.6 km away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Littlehampton Road, Worthing BN12 6PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Price Range: RM379 - RM645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Hotel And Restaurant
Highdown Hotel Worthing
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we stayed in room 15, good size double, quiet and a very comfortable bed.”
 of 5 bubbles travel1Lincolnshire, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Helene14, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles robbie1doe, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure there is one, mine overlooked the car park”
 of 5 bubbles 53362, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for the four poster bed room, the room is no bigger and the bed is awful.”
 of 5 bubbles GMN, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay