We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 308: English reviews
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

attended this carvery with a large group and was pleasantly surprised. At £6.50 for a carvery meal, this was a real bargain. Food was hot and choice of meat and veg was good. Staff really friendly and helpful. Drinks reasonably priced and they are happy to give you a jug of water. Pudding were also very good and a fair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BargeeGirl
dorking
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We found this beautiful place quite by chance. It was my birthday so as the weather is always so awful this time of year we were looking for somewhere that was cheerful and bright and with a bit of atmosphere. We found it at Highdown Restaurant/Carvery. Upon entry we were asked to wait in a very nice waiting area complete...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moira L
Highdown H, Public Relations Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we do appreciate the time you have taken out of your day, We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us along with our surroundings, we look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area Wishing you a Happy Festive season & prosperous New Year

United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Food cold when it eventually arrived and then had to wait 15 minutes for the vegetables to come. The food was of poor standard and like a ready meal, rather than a comforting roast dinner that we were expecting.The vegetarian in the group had a further wait for her pasta dish to arrive. It looked more like a starter and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Beverley W
Highdown H, Public Relations Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We thank you for the time you have taken to write your review, & apologise that you weren't entirely satisfied with the evening although we have only received complements from the other 94 people at the event , we do take these matters seriously. As you are aware food is freshly prepared in the kitchen & sent out at the...

Longton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile

Went with my Uncle & great niece this Monday lunch, arrived 12.20pm seated in minutes, drinks arrived quickly after ordering. The carvery we were offered was excellent, Roast Beef, Roast Turkey, Roast Pork and a lovely Gammon joint, all were perfectly cooked (no blood) the Roast potatoes were as lovely as Mum used to make, carrots, roast parsnip, cauliflower cheese,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PernodQueen2013
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

Would like to say a big thank you to Highdown Towers restaurant Carvery section looking after my 28 people today great credit to the management and staff of this place for looking after us with some of us are disabled and elderly with walking problems with looked after us so much care we'll see you again thank you very much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Q
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

On arrival, check In was easy and given good directions to our room. In an adjacent building our room, 15 was on the first floor. As we entered it was a nice surprise to find a bright clean room with 4 poster bed. Sofa and table where a handy extra. Large t.v. With free view. Very quite except you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leslie a
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Lovely room, clean, large good bed, food was good, and staff were very friendly , happy with our stay and would go again. The grounds were lovely to sit in for an evening drink , there was a large wedding party but didn't affect our service or stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darcyknight64
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I visited the carvery for lunch on an afternoon out. I'd heard great things from friends and family but was really disappointed. The food was tasty but served quite cool so was cold by the time we sat back down. We were not allowed to take our leftovers home, so I can only assume what we didn't eat was thrown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snuffmonkey
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Nice pub a bit of the beaten track, need a vehicle to get there. Near wine vines and Wyvale Garden Centre area. Quite posh inside, comfy seats. Didnt see the restaurant part but heard its nice and popular for Wedding packages. Came in here with my husband for a couple of bevvies.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annette h
Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Asked and was given a twin room on the ground floor .Shown to the room by a most charming young lady receptionist.Prior to our departure from home received an email asking if we would like to book a table for dinner during our stay. Enjoyed a delightful carvery dinner served by pleasant waiter/waitresses. Lovely hostess in the morning directing us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank derekc944

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
5.1 km away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
331 reviews
2.6 km away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worthing
282 reviews
4.8 km away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
217 reviews
5.6 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Littlehampton Road, Worthing BN12 6PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Price Range: RM304 - RM824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Hotel And Restaurant
Highdown Hotel Worthing
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't have the single room if you want a window (skylight only)”
 of 5 bubbles Deal_Kent_EnglandSoo, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not get a single they are windowless!”
 of 5 bubbles Roomchecker007, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in room 15, good size double, quiet and a very comfortable bed.”
 of 5 bubbles travel1Lincolnshire, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Helene14, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles robbie1doe, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5