We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Angel & Blue Pig

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Angel & Blue Pig
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Angel & Blue Pig
See the most recent reviews
Showing 328: English reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Warm welcome on arrival, with very clean spacious yet cosy rooms. Excellent food and wine for new years eve meal. Staff very friendly and attentive. Breakfast sausages superb!! Well done guys, deserves to be a success

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Charlie S" Thank you for the great review, it really was our pleasure to have you and your guests stay with us for a couple of days. I am glad the NYE entertainment pleased everyone and that our food exceeded your expectations. I will pass on the comments to the team. Kind regards, Matt E - GM

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We had a table for 6 adults and a child on Christmas day. Totally blown away with the food and the service.I would like to thank everybody who worked there and made the Christmas lunch a first class experience. I wanted something different as a starter and this was no trouble at all. I would recommend the Angel for excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen M
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Karen M" Wow, thank you. Christmas was such a very important time for us here as well as our customers such as yourself. It was our pleasure to have you in on such a busy yet jolly day! I will be treating the team to some much needed R&R very soon. All the best - Matt E - GM

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We stayed at the Angel and Blue Pig for one night. The room was very spacious and the décor was lovely, we stayed in "Michael". The location is excellent right on the high street with secure parking at the rear. The only slight negative was the welcome we received on arrival, not very warm and friendly and that is why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JEMGloucestershire
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "JEMGloucestershire" Thanks for the 4 star review. We really appreciate you staying with us and apologies if our usually friendly welcome wasn't there on this occasion. I am not sure as to why as all my staff are confident in their roles and generally happy and content people however we must have been rushed or just having an "off...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Good location in High street. Excellent room (number 3) Staff very friendly Restaurant is warm and welcoming serving good food at reasonable cost. Continental breakfast included in price and was well set out and appetizing. With onsite parking and a wonderful street market right outside the main door(Saturdays) , also a marina and gift shops just a few yards away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SailorD101
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "SailorD101" Thanks for staying with us and the lovely 5 star review, really very kind. Room 3 is a great room with loads of space, I am glad you enjoyed it. The Lymington Saturday market has been pulling in the crowds for decades and we are glad it offers our weekend guests something else to do come rain or...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Staying in Lymington for a few nights we decided to have dinner in The Angel and Blue Pig pub . What a mistake, I ordered the seafood pasta, the waiter said it comes very spicey would I like it toned down, I said yes.Whilst the pasta had lots of seafood it did not have any sauce so was very bland...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tombo41
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "tombo41" I am very sorry for your seafood linguine. This is indeed a popular dish on our menu but does deliberately come without a sauce. The way we designed it is for the seafood and pasta to fuse with the garlic and white truffle oil with sautee them in and then with the herbs and chilli added to it...

Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the 'Micheal' room (super king room) and it was gorgeous. It was great to have the pub downstairs and be near everything in Lymington. The steak we had for dinner in the pub was amazing and so was the brownie and ice cream dessert. The continental breakfast was just right too with the option to buy a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Sophie R" Wow, great review thank you! Yes, Michael is one of our favourite rooms. I am glad you really enjoyed your food too, the chefs work tirelessly to cater for our guests. We hope to see you back with us again soon. All the best, Matt E - GM

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015

We wanted a light lunch but thought we may be too late. We were greeted by a gentleman who said take a seat and I will bring you the menus. Drinks were delivered to our table and our order taken. I had the chicken caesar salad club sandwich which was served with fries. The ingredients were extremely fresh and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 9elliot999
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "9elliot999" Thanks ever so much for your really kind comments. I will pass on the review to the team. I am glad you mention the fire too, it really does make it cosy on these winter days. Hope to see you both in again. Regards, Matt E - GM

Reviewed 3 November 2015

A weekend away which was a gift from our daughter. The room was large and modern with a balcony and quirky complimentary snacks and nice toiletries. We dined in the restaurant on the Friday evening, both the food and the service were excellent. Breakfast was also delicious. From the minute we arrived we felt very well looked after and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holiday-queen74
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "Holiday-queen74" Thank you so much for the fab review and 5 stars, It was our pleasure to have you stay with us expecially on such a nice occasion for you and your husband. We are glad our hard working staff lived up to your expectations and we do hope you pass on the recommendations to your friends. See you...

Reviewed 18 October 2015

Visited for our 1st anniversary at the end of September for 2 nights. Nice location and lovely pub. Unfortunately very noisy on Saturday morning as the market is being set up. We were at the front of the hotel so found that morning an early awakening - though there is not much the hotel can do about that. Biggest gripe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DyanCaroline
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "DyanCaroline" Thanks for the review and indeed the other one on our restaurant. You're right in the fact that the market traders occasionally are a bit sneeky and set up early when they shouldn't however we tried to combat this by installing a secondary layer og glazing on the front windows. For light sleepers, a higher floored room or...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We stayed here for one night and room was a very good size for two adults and one child as was bathroom. Every member of staff we came across was efficient and friendly during our stay aswell as afterwards sending my daughters reading books back to her which she had left in the room. The staff also kindly stored our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerrie h
Matt E, General Manager at The Angel & Blue Pig, responded to this review

Dear "kerrie h" Wow thank you for the 5 stars! We all enjoyed having you and your family with us and the little extras we did such as the bike storage and returning the books are just anything to make your experience better, it is the least we can do! Do recommend us and drop by again in the future!...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
0.1 km away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,494 reviews
4.3 km away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
349 reviews
1.1 km away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
669 reviews
7.1 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
983 reviews
13.0 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of picturesque Lymington, the Angel and Blue Pig dates back to the 13th century when it was a coaching inn. With a homely and welcoming pub atmosphere and featuring 14 newly re-furbished en-suite hotel rooms, "The Angel" is the perfect place to visit. Conveniently situated in the on the coastal boarder of the New Forest National Park,it sits in one of the most beautiful landscapes in the South of England. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel & Blue Pig

Address: 108 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Price Range: RM434 - RM660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Angel & Blue Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Lymington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel & Blue Pig staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Andover, United Kingdom
4 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel & Blue Pig staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3, first floor front, over the lounge bar, slight noise transfer, but worth it for the large windows and high st outlook via balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 151106, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We ate in the restaurant, did not stay in hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Nallacs, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dont choose the single room on floor 2 due to poor bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles Heidi078, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you're a light sleeper, try to get a room at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles stephlukins, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would hopefully be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Q5587ZGlouisek, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5