We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hunting Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hunting Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 122: English reviews
exeter, devon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a good meal here last night. No complaints re starter, main course or dessert. Service friendly and prompt. Wine good. I had the steak and sauce. Steak tender and peppercorn sauce had plenty of kick! Nothing exotic but a good selection of homely choices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigsalExeter_Devon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked for a family of 4 the staff were excellent but the food unfortunately this time was below average the chips were undercooked the potatoes were undercooked we will try eating there again as previous visits were good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rlwalters
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Slow service, microwave food, disgusting! I only ate, well looked at what was passed as food. I have eaten out all over the world and can guarantee this ranks as the poorest ever! I did not stay in the hotel, but to be fair friends stayed and had breakfast and said it was OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as your visit was in March i cannot address it properly but if you do choose to try us again please make us aware of any issues at the time so we can rectify or investigate as to why your meal was so poor. Kindest Regards Gavin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is a lovely old Victorian building that has obviously undergone refurbishment over the years but it is an atmosphere free zone with terrible colourless lighting and basically brown everything. A group of us went for lunch to celebrate a birthday. The bizarre scenario was presented to us that unless everyone had the fixed menu then that sensibly priced option...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher L
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt the need to air your views on Trip Advisor rather than speaking to us directly, i was the Manager on duty that day and to my knowledge none of you party made us aware of any issues with the food and you were all clearly aware about the set...

leicester
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Went on sunday with 9 other people they had a menu for 2 course starter and Sunday lunch for set price but because 1 person in our party of 10 had different we couldn't hve special price it wasent as if their was only 4 of us 8 had set menu !!! The starters soup was fine mushrooms ok prawn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dawn k
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt the need to air your views on Trip Advisor rather than speaking to us directly, i was the Manager on duty that day and to my knowledge none of you party made us aware of any issues with the food and you were all clearly aware about the set...

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

20 of us had a family meal here on Saturday, all I can say is it was outstanding, the food was amazing and the staff couldn't do enough for us. we pre-ordered to make life easier for all concerned. Sometimes with a large group the food can have issues but it was perfect. We will be back again and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KellyWhite1976
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit with us so much. We will look forward to you visiting us again in the near future. Kindest Regards Gavin

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Just near the train station. Lovely stuff and great food. Rooms are well designed with great shower. Resturant offers great food. I stay there for a fee nights every few months and always happy to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liron N
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoy your stays with us so much and our staff look forward to your visits, hopefully we will be seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards Gavin

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Family impromptu meal. Visited about 3pm on a Monday afternoon, poor waitress was on her own but she did very well considering. She was very busy, efficient & cheerful. Meal received mixed reviews from party of 4 and good value. Ate from the meal deal (2 courses for £9.95). Whitebait starter wasn't authentic (it was slices of fish not mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lez21
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your visits. As much as we love to hear how well we are doing we also appreciate it when people advise us when things have not gone so well. Your comments have been passed on to the appropriate people. We hope this hasn't put you off visiting us again in the future. Kind Regards Gavin

Ryton-On-Dunsmore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely traditional pub, with extremely courteous and helpful staff. Lovely clean and comfortable room set in a lovely scenic and peaceful setting but easily accessible. Great value wouldn't hesitate to stay again and recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJM21
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We will look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Gavin

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We have visited 'The Hunting Lodge' a few times as a convenient mutual meeting point. We met mid July for a mutual birthday get together and......as not yet fully bursting for the evening trade.... Only 1800hrs. Bar service exceedingly slow, menu has depreciated since our last visit and delivery of meal longer than you would expect. Doubly disappointed as my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have taken your points on board and will monitor trade around that time to see if we need extra staff. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Kind Regards Gavin

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughborough
1.5 km away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#8 of 12 in Loughborough
586 reviews
1.6 km away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
292 reviews
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
541 reviews
6.4 km away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
632 reviews
4.8 km away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spectacular three story granite building proudly boasts six individually styled bedrooms ranging from the ethnic origins of The Biko room to the regal opulence of the Louis Room. With full restaurant and bar serving delicious food and drinks all day - seven days a week. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hunting Lodge

Address: 38 South Street | Barrow upon Soar, Loughborough LE12 8LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Price Range: RM396 - RM656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hunting Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Hunting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunting Hotel Loughborough
Hunting Hotel Loughborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hunting Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't stay just had a meal”
 of 5 bubbles dawnk549, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay in a room, we ate in the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles Miaclesummer, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are very different - We chose Dali because we are bored of run of the mill rooms!!”
 of 5 bubbles Hevmiester, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Fagin room, four poster and lovely view”
 of 5 bubbles ClaireC688, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The executive suite was very nice with garden views”
 of 5 bubbles geoff1273, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay