We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort Charlotte Guest House

{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
See why so many travellers make Fort Charlotte Guest House their bed and breakfast of choice when visiting Lerwick. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a quaint setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you. You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that include a flat screen TV and a refrigerator, bringing comfort and convenience to your visit. Plus, Fort Charlotte Guest House offers free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. It's easy to stay connected during your stay as Fort Charlotte Guest House offers guests free wifi. Given the close proximity to Fort Charlotte, guests of Fort Charlotte Guest House can easily experience one of Lerwick's most popular landmarks. During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Lerwick surf and turf restaurant such as Da Steakhoose, which is a short distance from Fort Charlotte Guest House. Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a karaoke bar, such as Da Wheel. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Fort Charlotte Guest House as you experience all of the things Lerwick has to offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
159
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
159
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lynne and jim guest house the main street fort cafe excellent breakfast commercial street porridge central location friendliest owners en suite facilities friendly hosts shetland islands biscuits lots of local knowledge places to visit every morning hot breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 10 years previously and enjoyed our stay immensely, so when we decided to revisit Shetlands there was no question about where we would stay. Jim and Lyn are wonderful hosts that give you a very warm welcome and make sure your stay...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Have_Bag
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

This is everything you could possibly want. Excellent location just off the Main Street through town, super comfortable beds, spotlessly clean and an owner (and her sister) who look after you as if you were family. Nothing is too much trouble and they love to...More

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank Stuart_c_Taylor
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Stayed at Fort Charlotte for six nights and could not had been more pleased with everything. Lynn and Jim are wonderful hosts. Location is excellent. Could walk to everything in town. Although there is no parking on-site, had absolutely no problem finding free parking within...More

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank travelperson46850
Reviewed 31 July 2018

A totally welcoming and pleasant stay. The owners are lovely people, the breakfast excellent, the location perfect and perfectly quiet. Were that all B&Bs could boast the same! Jim and Lynn (the owners) lent us maps, gave us great touring advice, and were altogether hospitable....More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Cooper C
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

This is a fantastic apartment, location was perfect. Clean and spacious with everything you need. Close to all the great restaurants especially The Dowry and the Fort cafe for a great fish supper. It’s views are right over the main street with next to no...More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Trish C
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sparky52
14 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Filska | Property representative |
Yes there is! Manson Lauderette and Dry Cleaners are at Kantersted Road. Probably easiest to get a taxi (there are usually plenty around the cruise liner passenger drop off point). The fare is generally about £5.00 to go... More
1
Vote
gee1909
14 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Filska | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately we only have a room available for 2 nights - 28th & 29th July - we are full after that. Best regards Lynne
0
Votes
jeffsandrawilson
2 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Filska | Property representative |
Hello Thank you for your email and yes we do have a twin en-suite room available for the dates you require. The cost per room per night for bed and breakfast is £80.00. We do not have private parking but there is plenty of... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Room 2 is possibly a better room"
Have_Bag
1 week ago
Read review
"#2 (1st fl European) and #4 (2nd fl). Steep steps no elevator."
WolaWola
30 Jul 2018
Read review
"Very quiet"
KevinD245
21 Feb 2018
Read review
"Room 4 gives a view right down Commercial Street, great for people watching. It was also very bright with..."
allyt001
19 Jul 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fort charlotte guest house hotel lerwick
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandShetland IslandsMainlandLerwick
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing