We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Windlestrae Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Windlestrae Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

510 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windlestrae Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 489: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After searching for a spa deal to enjoy with my mum and sister we decided on the Windlestrae. We booked through the Green Hotel and were looking forward to our day together. My sister was home visiting from Australia and we tend to try to have a relaxing spa day together whenever she visits. We have visited numerous spas in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seahorsey85
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seahorsey85, I'm disappointed to read your review about your spa day as it is such a differently experience from the other Spa day reviews that we have had. I'm sorry that there was really not much you enjoyed about your visit and I would be happy to discuss this in person and to see if there is anything we...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel with husband and were not disappointed. Natalie who dealt with our booking was outstanding. Had a lovely massage with Candice, who was professional. Thank you Candice! Room was great with lovely views. Had a lovely meal in Jocks Bar - all staff helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tazhutch
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tazhutch, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and will share your feedback with our team who will delighted to hear. We hope to welcome you back very soon. With best wishes, Scott. General Manager.

Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Visited Windlestrae Hotel with a friend for a pamper afternoon & was not disappointed. On arrival the greeting by Lyndsey, the Spa manager & all her staff was second to none. The food served to us was delicious & the portions huge & very well presented. The treatments we had chosen were expertly carried out by Candice & Jan. Hubby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marly512
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear marly512, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and for awarding us the full 5 stars. I'm delighted to read you had such a great time whilst you were with us and we hope to see you again very soon. With best wishes, Scott. General Manager.

Reviewed 19 February 2017

My husband and I have just spent Friday and Saturday night at this hotel and it is wonderful. Rooms are very clean as is the hotel and of course the food. The staff are out of this world, especially Sindi who is lovely and nothing is too much for her. I would recommend this hotel and will certainly use it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Izzy, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. I'll pass on your feedback and thanks to Sindi who, along with many of our team goes above and beyond for our guests on a daily basis. We hope you'll be staying with us again very soon. With best wishes, Scott. General Manager.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2night stay at the windlestrae a hotel we have visited often and and would like to thank all of the staff for their warm and friendly service throughout our stay. All the staff work hard and long hours but I would like to mention Sharon and Nicole aka (nippy) for their excellent hospitality on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisydhu
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daisydhu, Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Our pool an Jacuzzi can get very busy with families during some days depending on who is staying with us and I'm glad you found it quieter and in better order the next day. I'm pleased to confirm we have since...

Bonnie Scotland
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here overnight last weekend, we had booked through third party and were contacted to be told we would be staying at The Green Hotel, however Windlestrae was where we ended up, and I'm glad to say we enjoyed it. Rooms were lovely spotlessly clean, staff were helpful and cheerful. My only gripe would be that on checking in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randwick
Milnathort, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

It was rubbish. Even though advance notice had been given, the best the Chef could come up with was a round of Peanut Butter and Banana sandwich, a round of Humus and red pepper sandwich (which was lovely), a naked bar cut in half, another crunchy item that was cut in half and then two bits of biscuit covered in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheila H, Goodness, it seems we couldn't do much right on the day of your visit. I do hope you let one of our Managers know as they are empowered to make sure all of our guests leave with any issues fully resolved. I'm delighted to read you enjoyed the Humus and Red Pepper Sandwiches though. Next time you...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

What a great value for money. SPA day included 30 min deep tissue massage with Candice who was fantastic. Followed by nice swim in a pool with a visit to sauna. Yes pool bit tired and could do with an update but perfect size. Lunch was nice massive portions. Big bottle of water and been offered glass of fizzy unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M G
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear M G, I'm thrilled to read you had such a great experience in our Spa and thank you for taking the time to write a review about it on TripAdvisor. Many of our therapist were recognised at our recent staff awards for the great customer care and service they provide. We hope you'll come back again soon and perhaps...

Manchester
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stayed for a 3 night new years eve package and the sight of the hotel filled us with dread on arrival. Older exterior, broken signs, road full of potholes. The internals were much better though with newly refurbished rooms and bathrooms. Wasn't what I would call luxurious but the health club facilities and the pool was superb and enjoyed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Girl36
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Girl36, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our hotel and our team. We're upgrading the outside of our resort on an on-going basis....it's like the forth road bridge but I'm sure you'll start to see some differences on your next stay. Our team always go the extra mile and are well known...

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Myself, partner and dog had a lovely 3 night stay at the windlestrae over new year. We were greeted at reception by a lovely receptionist who doted over our dog and made sure to let us know about the events that were taking place at the hotel over our stay. We took the time to book a meal at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
GreenManager, General Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robyn S, Thanks for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry the incident with your dog distracted from what was otherwise a great stay with us from reading your review. We're all really dog friendly at the Green and since receiving your feedback we've updated our dog policy to reflect our request that all dogs are kept on their leads...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.3 km away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
720 reviews
0.6 km away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
338 reviews
11.0 km away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
719 reviews
18.0 km away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
10.8 km away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Address: Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Price Range: RM316 - RM654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windlestrae Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Windlestrae Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms for disabled guests”
 of 5 bubbles delboyandhoney, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We faced on to a grass area we did not hear a thing lovely and quiet I think all rooms are the same”
 of 5 bubbles forrestmargaret, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles FionaM, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room facing the Green”
 of 5 bubbles 319George47, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had one to the rear with a view over the garden. This made it both quiet and private.”
 of 5 bubbles 63karenm, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5