We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Green Man Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Green Man Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 264: English reviews
Start your review of Green Man Hotel
 Click to rate
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was not evident from the website or other sites advertising this accommodation that we would be staying in what looked like a student halls of residence block next to the hotel. It was tucked away and not visible from the road and clearly no-one would be on duty overnight, so thank goodness it was'nt a Saturday night with rowdy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waggletail
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled from West Lothian in Scotland to this hotel as it was recommended by family. After the long drive we decided to eat here. BIG MISTAKE We asked for water for the table - only when we asked again when the meal came did we get it. The food it's self was luke warm for the four of us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doreen C
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Doreen C', I am sorry to hear your stay was not up to our usual standards. Our staff would of been happy to of replaced your meals to make sure the food was cooked correctly as you expected. Our breakfast rates are standard, for a lighter breakfast £3.99, continental £5.99 or for a cooked English £7.99, so regardless of...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for the one night for work. Large comfy bed. Strong shower. Good food in the restaurant. Goumet burger, with home made pattie, bacon, cheese and a fried egg. Friendly staff. Will happily stay here again when I am in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod P
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Rod P', We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us here and we hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, Sophie

Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited last week to celebrate my father in-law's birthday. We booked a table for 4 o'clock as our party of 8 included 3 children under 8. We ordered starters for the children only which took 35minutes to appear. We then waited a further 45 minutes for the main courses to arrive. My father in-law received the wrong meal entirely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vAnn80
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'vAnn80', We are sorry that you had a wait on your food when you visited us for your father in laws birthday, unfortunately when we are busy this can happen. I know your family was compensated with two free meals to make up for this. We hope you can visit us again, so that you can see our restaurant...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I don't usually give negative reviews, but this hotel only got two stars because the breakfast staff were lovely and the restaurant choices were quite wide for vegetarians. My room had damp stains on the ceiling and wall coving, the whole corridor smelled like an air freshener had exploded. The hotel block looked desperate for a refreshing, the walls were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam B
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Adam B', I am sorry to hear of the negative review you are posting about our hotel. I have passed on your comments to the housekeeping. Unfortunately, the fact you had no phone signal there is nothing we can do about this, and our wifi The Cloud would not spam you with any emails or messages. I am sorry...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived at 8.30pm on Sunday for food as staying in the hotel - check in etc was all fine - infact the hotel side of things was great - clean (although dated) room - was exactlly what we expected and paid for., only crisicism is the pillows - theyre awful! . the restaurant however..... ordered food, within 3 minutes the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley N
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Ashley N' We are happy you was pleased with your room, and I am sorry to hear you didn't approve of the pillows. If you had of asked at the reception or any of our housekeeping team they would of found you another set of pillows that would hopefully reach your expectations! I am sorry you had to wait...

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Book this via TripAdvisor & have to it was a nice stay. The staff were helpful and food in the bar was lovely. The rooms were clean and quiet. We were there on a Friday if you wanted a meal in the bar best to get there early as it gets busy after 6.0 clock

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cath C
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Cath C', Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel and restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sophie

Reviewed 25 January 2017

Stayed at the hotel on the 21st January to celebrate my 65th birthday. We have stayed at the Green Man Hotel in Harlow on 3 other occasions and usually stay overnight after dining in the pub restaurant to celebrate a family occasion. The 3 star hotel is well located for Stansted Airport and about 15 minutes drive outside of Harlow...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iallent
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'iallent' Thank you for your review of The Green Man, We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and it would be our pleasure to see you again. Kind regards Sophie

Essex
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Disgusting food * We visited here with our family of 14 who had landed from Australia the day previous for our Xmas lunch we were the 2nd sitting at 3:30 on arrival our table was not ready ( it had been booked 5 months prior ) It took 20 mins to find 5 extra chairs & covers as they hadn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emmoosh
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Emmoosh' I am sorry to hear of your review of Christmas Day. Your booking was ready for you, however on the booking sheet, there was the number of childrens' chairs requested and that was why there was high chairs there - they had not been simply put there, they was changed over straight away upon request. I am sorry...

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 weeks lovely room and massive bed ,tea & coffee making facilities too and hairdryer and lcd TV in room with free view,couldn't fault it.Had a meal in the restaurant which was lovely and the breakfast was a bargain at £7.99 which was a full English and unlimited coffee etc ..I recommend:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Chris M', Thank you for your review of The Green Man, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us - especially the breakfast! We look forward to seeing you again. Kind reagrds, Sophie

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlow
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Harlow Hotel
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
3.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
154 reviews
5.6 km away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
264 reviews
2.8 km away
Harlow International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Green Man
Green Man
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Green Man Hotel

Address: Apartment 2 Mulberry Green House Mulberry Green, Harlow CM17 0ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harlow
Price Range: RM244 - RM403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Man Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Green Man Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Man Hotel Harlow
Green Man Harlow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Green Man Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
St Andrews, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Green Man Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms will be the same and none have a good outlook so take pot luck.”
 of 5 bubbles Waggletail, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the 2nd floor have more day light”
 of 5 bubbles iallent, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Reviewing restaurant not rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles richt321, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are in a separate areafrom the dining area.....check in early to get parking closest to the rooms.....parking a plenty....”
 of 5 bubbles MauraB243, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Facing car park was fine”
 of 5 bubbles TheTasterWales, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5