We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Rock Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Rock Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 113: English reviews
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed over for one night on our way to the football for an early kick-off. Fantastic place, lovely room, enormous bed. Nice food, good value. Would like to stay in the summer as has a lovely balcony out the back. Nice place for weddings too. Another couple had a dog with them, so they must also allow dogs.

Thank Kay D
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 3 nights using a Groupon Voucher which turned out to be excellent value. Wasn't sure what to expect from the mixed reviews!! Sometimes it makes you wonder if you have stayed at the same hotel...because we had a really great room (which the hotel had informed us on arrival we had been upgraded too!!). All the staff where...

Thank Marilyn J
Colne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got up on a saturday morning and thought lets set off for the day and stay over... We choose the Rock as there is some nice walks nearby which we have been on before. The hotel was nice and clean, staff very polite and the food was excellent. Cannot remeber the price, but it was very resonable. Would deffiantly stay...

Thank Alan_Whitehead_16
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last night. The receptionist at check in said the breakfast was from 8 to 10. This morning when we went at 9 it was finished. Apparently weekdays breakfast was 7 to 9. No refund or alternative arrangements offered. Average room. Might have as well gone to travel lodge and got a better room and service for half the...

1Thank D B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went on a groupon for 2 course Sunday lunch for 2 £14.99 was only £20 if we hadnt had a groupon . We were acknowledged straight away and our name taken . We opted for a drink first then were seated , They had a large party in and quite a few tables taken and lady seemed to be...

Thank YorkshireKebab
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This has to be one of the most disapointing experiences ever. Half of the smaller bites were unavailable! The meal arrived on paper which revoltingly becomes part of your meal. We ordered chips rather than fries which were forgotten, after mentioning it they appeared, uncooked - inedible. The wings were nice, the burger ok. The waitressbar staff were friendly but...

1Thank Traveller0307
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were on a Groupon deal for starters and Sunday Lunch. Starters arrived 20 minutes after ordering, which was adequate. Everything went downhill from there we had to wait over another hour for the mains to arrive. These were served ten minutes after another table who came in 30 minutes after us had received theirs. That table were provided with...

Thank Geoff K
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you experienced a delay in your main courses we were very busy and unfortunately there were delays. I am speaking to the kitchen team and front of house team to make sure this issue is resolved. If you wish to contact me on info@rockhotel.co.uk so I may speak to you directly or call the hotel on...

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel, chef produced some first class meals. Very chefy. His steak and potage pie had the best shortcrust pastry I have ever tried, breakfast is huge and I got 2 eggs. The room we had was clean warm and roomy .The staff are very friendly and helpful and overall it was great value for money. We will return to...

Thank Val303
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words I will forward your comments on to the team and hope to welcome you to The Rock again soon

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A member of our party has just pasted a poor review. I'll start of by saying we were difficult but what did you expect for poor service? Examples were wine-list choices not available, and the alternatives supplied ran out. Breakfasts not as ordered - people swapping sausages for bacon off each other's plates, fried eggs brought when poached ordered. You're...

Thank picnix2016
Paul A, Manager at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I have already responded to the comments raised in the earlier review. Unfortunately you did not mention these issues during your stay so I could look into them so I cant comment

Reviewed 1 November 2016

The bedrooms are all very tired (large group staying no one had a good room) they are grubby (cobwebs in corners, hair on the floor from previous guests in the bathroom. The bathrooms have lot of mould growing. There is nowhere to put your wash bits apart from a very small, moving , shelf. The shower was efficient but didn't...

Thank jcp007
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I have looked into your comments and have checked our email history and you did receive replies to your emails. Furthermore you chose to book a standard room which is smaller than our executive rooms and did not mention any of the issues during your stay. In fact the only complaint you made was over your food on the Friday...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (18)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (28)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Room/Suite (4)
Dining (10)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
5.5 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#7 of 10 in Halifax
289 reviews
4.6 km away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
257 reviews
5.4 km away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rock Hotel is now Under New Ownership. The recently renovated and updated hotel is a beautiful 27 bedroomed Hotel and Restaurant, set in idyllic rural surroundings less than 5 minutes from junction 24 of the M62. The Rock Hotel has been resurrected and restored to its former glory, with a few modern twists and is now back as one of the finest eateries in the area. The Rock Hotel must be experienced to appreciate what we now have to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rock Hotel

Address: Hollywell Green 22 Broad Carr, Halifax HX4 9BS, England (Formerly Rock Inn Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range: RM260 - RM469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Halifax
Rock Inn Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rock Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We got an upgrade as they were quiet and had an enormous bed!”
 of 5 bubbles kayd359, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't be ill at the last minute!”
 of 5 bubbles 691sharonf, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Found offer on groupon that included drink, room, and a two course meal.”
  • View from top of street where hotel was located. Great scenery.
 of 5 bubbles chelseab804, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If wifi is a must just make sure you are not in a blind spot.”
 of 5 bubbles joemY3316SA, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If booking through groupon, phone and upgrade for a tenner”
 of 5 bubbles shrekster52, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay