We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Merivon Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Merivon Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of The Merivon Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yet another stay at this top rated guest house. Warm and welcoming hosts as always. Well laid out and furnished to the highest standards. Spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable add to a relaxing and pleasurable stay. A full English breakfast cooked by the master chef hands of Richard is to die for and sets you up for the day. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark b
memory56, Owner at The Merivon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Mark it was great to see you again ,look forward to the next time .

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped at the merivon for one night. Very welcoming place the hosts jane and Richard were fantastic as they always are when we stay as we wouldn't go anywhere else. We are asked the day before what we would like for breakfast and is always cooked to our liking. There is always lots of conversation the rooms are always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
memory56, Owner at The Merivon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Tina for your review , It was great to see you again as always, look forward to your next visit .

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Stayed for one night as doing a mini tour of the seaside resorts in Norfolk/Suffolk. Very high quality B & B, close to the sea front but in quiet residential street with parking nearby. We had the room at the top front with the sleigh bed and the décor was to a very high standard with everything you could want....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo m m
memory56, Owner at The Merivon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, It was great to meet you both ,Look forward to your next stay .

Great Barr, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Jane & Richard are fantastic hosts very helpful and friendly. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Your just a stones throw from the seafront and amenities. We have stayed their several times and seems to get better and better. Roll on next June. Pat & Dave from Birmingham

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
memory56, Owner at The Merivon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you both for your lovely review ,It was great to see you again, We look forwardd to your next visit.

Warwickshire
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This review is very delayed. We spent a few days at the hotel earlier in the year. When we arrived, we received a warm welcome from Jane and Richard. The rooms are a very high standard and comfortable. Dressing gowns and slippers are provided for your comfort. In the bathroom were all the essentials that you need.Lovely large fluffy towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buffetco
memory56, Owner at The Merivon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, Great to have meet you both & look forward to the next time.

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Just visited this B&B for the 1st time And it was wonderful. Excellent rooms and a very warm and friendly couple who made you feel so welcome and homely. Lovely breakfast every morning. Will defiantly be coming back. Highly recommend this B&B can't wait to come back. See You Soon.xx Mr and Mrs Benson.xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamJay16
memory56, Owner at The Merivon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you MR & Mrs Benson , we are so pleased you picked The Merivon for your Honeymoon Week ,We look forward to seeing you next year.

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

At first greeted very warm and friendly. The rooms were decorated to a very high standard and had everything you could ask for. Very comfy bed and a cosy feel to the room. A very nice cooked breakfast in the morning untold toast cereals tea etc! A very nice touch during breakfast was that June made an announcement each morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Palaceray
memory56, Owner at The Merivon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words,We like our Guest to know the events of the day ,look forward to your next visit .

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I booked at Merivon relying on the Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. Jane and Richard are excellent hosts and each ferried me from the rail station which was above expectation. The GH only has about 5 rooms and I had a double at the rear of the building. It is situated equidistant from the seafront and town and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eillamo
memory56, Owner at The Merivon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It was great to meet you ,We look forward to seeing you again if you come to England again .

Skegness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Late booking but what a brilliant find, first class Guest house less than 5 mins away from beach, shops and other amenities, Food was deliciously cooked by Richard, and his wife Jane was the perfect hostess, Bedroom was very clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and supplied with every available tea bag invented! Bonus for us was this is an Adult only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 287lynn
memory56, Owner at The Merivon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words,We are you had a peaceful & relaxing stay ,look forward to your next stay .

Reviewed 26 August 2016

When was the last time you booked a hotel and they called a day before to ask if you needed help getting from the station? I've stayed in 5 star hotels for years travelling for work and never felt as welcome as I did from Jane - who runs a very cozy and welcoming guest house in Great Yarmouth. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
memory56, Owner at The Merivon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Robert for your kind words.We do try & make our guest stay as welcoming as possible.Hope to see you again soon .

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
418 reviews
0.5 km away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
447 reviews
0.9 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#2 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
268 reviews
0.1 km away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#13 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
118 reviews
0.1 km away
Kilbrannan Guest House
Kilbrannan Guest House
#3 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Merivon Guest House, Great Yarmouth is in a ideal position on Trafalgar Road, just a stone's throw from the seafront and just across the beautiful St. George's Park from the town centre. We are a small, family-run guest house who cater for adults only. We have recently refurbished the entire property, so that rooms are modern with a contemporary twist. We have superking, doubles, twin & fourposter room, available for your comfort. Attention to detail is key at Merivon, and we hope you notice our little extra touches here and there. Freeview TV. DVD available. Fluffy dressing gowns in each room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Merivon Guest House

Address: 6 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Price Range: RM310 - RM387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Merivon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Merivon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Merivon Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
norfolk
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Merivon Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st floor double room facing the road to the front was large & lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles steveandjan219, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles darrson, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 4.”
 of 5 bubbles karenwP4602MA, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 more like a suite than a bedroom.”
 of 5 bubbles 570janiceb, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“room 4 .. best view ,, other rooms are also very clean and well maintained”
 of 5 bubbles Z422SPbrianh, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5