We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Craiglynne Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Craiglynne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Craiglynne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 577: English reviews
Glenfinnan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2014

we stayed in the hotel for a short visit. the food was excellent, the service prompt. the room was suitable for me as i am disabled, easy to get to dining room and to/from my car. when i had a difficulty - caused by being disabled - the member of staff my daughter asked for assistance from not only helped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen w
Craiglynne, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We are extremely delighted to read your positive comments about our hotel and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Once again many thanks and we hope...

Reviewed 19 October 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The door was not closing properly. Our shower was broken so that we could only get hot, nearly boiling, water. The reception was closed. There was only one guy at the bar who tried to help us but was not able to. He also could not get us a second blanket because we had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bettina W
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. Firstly please accept my apologies that you had some issues with...

Perth
Reviewed 17 October 2014

After being at this hotel for many years,and we have been very happy with it before so we thought we would have another break. BAD IDEA! We booked this break at the beginning of Sept. and when we arrived on Mon 13th we wondered what on earth we had done wrong when we saw the room that was allocated to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Angela G
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies you were unhappy with room 101. I have discussed the issues raised such as the window/frame and the shower with our maintenance and housekeeping team to ensure that this is rectified immediately. Unfortunately not all our rooms have a garden...

Saratoga
Reviewed 17 October 2014

We booked two of the luxury rooms and were very disappointed with them. Old plumbing, light bulbs needing replaced - generally "tired" and much in need of a remodel. We had breakfast each morning and only ate one dinner which was included in the rate. The restaurant was heavily understaffed and we were not impressed by the manager. Of course,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ron L
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2014

When we drove up to this hotel, we thought we had entered a world of bygone eras and elegance. The lobby also was well done. Unfortunately, the rooms are still sitting in the past. They were worn around the edges, albeit clean. My bed had springs sticking into my back. Dinner was good but breakfast was average. The free wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jubliladaviajar
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us. Once again many thanks for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Carrie MacDonald Front Office...

west sussex
Reviewed 16 October 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, 4th, 5th and 6th October 2014. A wonderful looking building from the outside and a very nice reception hall. Staff were very friendly, helpful, polite and informative. I booked a standard double room but because it was a special break for my wife's 50th we were put in a superior, but it didn't have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrew0910
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I am disappointed that you were unhappy with the complimentary upgraded room we had provided for you and your wife. I have checked back our complaints/feedback log and I can confirm that nothing was reported at the time in regards to your shower. I have...

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2014

stayed here last night, what a bad mistake, I read the bad reviews on tripadvisor but then read the crerar website about recently restored to highest standard, that was either a lie or money needs to be reclaimed from the "restorer", on arrival it looked shabby inside, going up to room, corridors with dirty floors and stained ceilings, got in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank james f
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve and monitor our standards and service. Firstly, please accept my apologies that your room wasn’t...

Dornoch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2014

Great looking hotel from the outside but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. Reported broken electrics with exposed wiring in bathroom and had obviously been like this for some time and no pillowcases on bed. Went out for the day and came back to the electrics repaired with sellotape and still no pillowcases, would have been noticed if...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Highlander197
Craiglynne, Public Relations Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies in regards to the towel rail in your bathroom. I was shocked and extremely embarrassed to read your comments and your photographs. This was not dealt with...

West Lothian
Reviewed 16 October 2014

Having stayed here previously we felt that the hotel had somehow let its standards go down. We had lovely large ground floor room however the shower/toilet was tiny, standing over door touching toilet wall one hand,half of you was in and one half out the toilet! Wash basin was in the bedroom. Room was clean & comfortable as were main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glenlark
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly please let me state that the door at the far end of the building is a fire escape and should not be used to access the hotel, only via the main front entrance and also the entrance with the disabled ramp attached. This entrance is cleared twice daily but...

Perthshire
Reviewed 15 October 2014

Stayed here last week as part of a walking group for 3 nights. The Craiglynne has great presence on the roadside as you come into Grantown on Spey. Unfortunately, once inside the decor and fittings beyond the reception/lounge, are tired, dated and in need of upgrade. After some issues at our first breakfast with waiting staff and lack of choice,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank atholebrose
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. When we have large groups staying with us in the hotel...

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
40.1 km away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
33.6 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.5 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
459 reviews
20.4 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: RM345 - RM534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Craiglynne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“South side faces the road, and it is on the Malt Whisky trail - but quiet at night anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles jimibob, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the first floor at the rear. Quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles richardinnes27, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front of hotel 107 and 108”
 of 5 bubbles hendy55, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 104 was absolutely tiny!”
 of 5 bubbles lydias633, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room three with ground floor access and a good view out the front!!”
 of 5 bubbles Echt, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5