We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre

Save
Share
Marconi Way Metrocentre, Gateshead NE11 9XF England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$79
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Marriott HotelsUS$84
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (189)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 20 hotels in Gateshead
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Set by the A1M next to the MetroCentre, Europe's largest leisure and retail complex, Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre offers the location, exceptional service and amenities you'd expect from a 4-star hotel in Newcastle, United Kingdom. If you're planning a business or social event, you'll find a 524-square-metre, technologically enhanced conference and meeting facility, backed by a professional staff who will anticipate your needs and quickly respond to your requests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1185Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 545
  • 432
  • 134
  • 34
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paddy M wrote a review Nov 2021
Mayerling, Austria40 contributions54 helpful votes
When we booked this hotel we asked to have adjoining rooms we were told it was done so when we got to hotel we were about 20 rooms from each other.The hotel is very dated it is ok definitely not 4*. Coming from Scotland I could not believe the amount of guests and some staff not wearing face coverings.The bedrooms are spacious and the beds are very comfy,the showers are very dated but do the job.Breakfast was pretty average I was expecting table service in this COVID-19 age to minimize contact but it was self service.In general this hotel was ok it is close to great shopping if that's what you want.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Show respect to one another and wear face covering.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Mather , Guest Services / Front Office at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Responded 5 days ago
Dear 908paddym, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for your experience here with us at the MetroCentre Marriott. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. We are closely following our government guidelines concerning Covid-19 here at the hotel and will continue to do so in the coming months. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us when your travels bring you back to Gateshead. Kindest Regards Laura Mather Front Office Manager
Read more
GAD wrote a review Nov 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom25 contributions10 helpful votes
Checked in with the family last night at 18:45, used the leisure facilities at checked out at 20:30, what a terrible hotel, I last visited this hotel in 1994, and to be fair it wasn’t great then so not sure what I expected. Best idea Marriott, demolish it and sell the land, wasting your money doing anything with that, especially now the metro centre is also finished..
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Mather , Guest Services / Front Office at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear freyamila, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Newcastle Gateshead Marriott MetroCentre. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here at the hotel. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. I will pass on your feedback to each department and we thank you for your feedback. Kindest Regards Laura Mather Front Office Manager
Read more
Lee Grint wrote a review Nov 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom266 contributions13 helpful votes
I really like this hotel - its conveniently located directly opposite the Metro centre (walking distance). It has an excellent fitness centre on site, it's well equipped for both weight lifting and cardio. The cast iron restaurant inside the hotel is very good. The rooms are nice. Parking available at the hotel too. Good swimming pool located in the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Jak32145 wrote a review Oct 2021
York, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel definitely needs a refurbishment, the room is too outdated for the price. The staff were okay, I wouldn’t they were too friendly, they were more bothered about their conversations with one and other. The only good thing about the hotel is the prime location as it is next to the metro centre.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Mather , Guest Services / Front Office at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Dear Travel52718668135, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Newcastle Gateshead Marriott MetroCentre. Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for your experience here with us at the MetroCentre Marriott. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. I am sorry to hear of the issues you encountered in the hotel and I will pass on your feedback to the relevant departments for resolution as this is not the standard we wish to offer our guests. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us when your travels bring you back to Gateshead. Kindest Regards Laura Mather Front Office Manager
Read more
Padeiro wrote a review Oct 2021
Atlanta, Georgia253 contributions77 helpful votes
I'm done with Marriotts in the UK. This one was like walking into a time machine from the 1980s with carpet, paneling, and other appointments looking almost 40 years old. I'm surprised they don't have rotary phones in the rooms and have figured out how to provide wifi. This property is DATED. It's apparent that their is little requirement for these properties to invest in updating. The towels in the bath are almost thread bare and the toilet took multiple turns on the lever to make it flush. There is no shower but instead you are blessed with a tub/shower that you almost need a step latter to climb into - something very difficult with my bad knees. The bed mattress is one of the hardest mattresses I've slept on in a decade and my sleep quality suffered considerably. I will be returning to Newcastle on business, but I will not be staying at the Marriott. It's not worth the points or the extra 20 pounds of extra cab/uber fare to get into the city and back. If you like Pizza Hut, there is one right across the street. That's about the only thing this Marriott has going for it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Mather , Guest Services / Front Office at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Responded 14 Oct 2021
Dear James B, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Newcastle Gateshead Marriott MetroCentre. Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for your experience here with us at the MetroCentre Marriott. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. I am sorry to hear of the issues you encountered in the hotel and I will pass on your feedback concerning the decor of the hotel. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us when your travels bring you back to Gateshead. Kindest Regards Laura Mather Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
newcastle marriott metrocentre, marriott newcastle upon tyne, marriott gateshead
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearGateshead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Which popular attractions are close to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Nearby attractions include MetroCentre (0.5 km), TeamSport Indoor Go Karting Newcastle (0.9 km), and Jump Arena Gateshead (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jashn Restaurant, The Skiff Inn, and Pedalling Squares.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (5.7 km), The Quayside (4.9 km), and Newcastle Cathedral (4.4 km).
Is Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.