We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre

Booking.comUS$64*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$81*
US$64*
US$81*
US$64*
US$81*
US$64*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

857 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 842: English reviews
Start your review of Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
 Click to rate
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had a meeting in Newcastle; this hotel was not therefore very handy! It is however very handy for the metro centre and I would absolutely consider staying again (but not necessarily if I needed to be in Newcastle - my fault not the hotel's!). Typical Marriott rooms and beds and I have no complaints. No Exec Lounge but pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoundonK
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Late sporadic stays at hotels are always the best, so we decided why not after a hard week of work. Looking at the range of rooms we were delighted to find an unusual and exiting style suite package. The Arabian package deemed very good value for money, and only seemed right just coming back from Morocco. We booked it just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale C
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at this marriott recently,and we really enjoyed our stay. Arrived early but one room was available so we were able to leave our luggage etc,we checked into our other room,later upon returning to the hotel. The rooms were spacious,good functional seating area,with all the usual marriott facilities also. Windows open to a certain degree,but good that you were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oswaldmoses
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed overnight as we have done a couple of times previously. Well placed hotel for shopping and visiting Newcastle. Room well maintained and breakfast good. All the staff were very friendly and approachable. The only small comment I would make is the bed and linen both didn't seem up to the usual Marriott standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnbw56
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely hotel/ great for families. Good sized rooms. Swimming pool and sauna/steam room area good for this size of hotel and an added bonus was the lovely warm water in the pool! Breakfast and dinner were great and Nicolas was outstanding for his customer service and friendliness. Our little girl wasn't feeling that great and he got her a special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BelM3
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for the purpose of going on a night out in Newcastle town which only cost around £8 in a taxi. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly. Was only here for one night so did not get to make use of all facilities. Used the TV to play Capital radio in the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauramchu
lauramather, Front Office Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review

Dear Lauramchu Thank you for choosing the Metrocentre Marriott Hotel as your choice of accommodation, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards Laura Mather

Consett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I just came home from my first visit to Gateshead Marriot. I loved it! The food was beautiful and served all day, The staff were all friendly, it was clean, great pool, gym and spa area, also great wifi which was available everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexReavley
lauramather, Front Office Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review

Dear AlexReavley Thank you for choosing the Metrocentre Marriott Hotel as your choice of accommodation, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that the staff were all friendly and the food was beautiful. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a night at the Marriott for a spa experience. We booked in at 3pm and went for dinner somewhere locally. Unfortunately the pool was closed during the evening of our stay. Our deluxe room was spotless and very spacious, looking slightly dated but not overly. No fridge in the room and the TV had basic free to air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steveneale
lauramather, Front Office Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review

Dear Stevendale Thank you for choosing the Metrocentre Marriott Hotel as your choice of accommodation, please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. May I kindly request that you contact myself at the hotel, at your convenience so that we can discuss this further. Kind regards Laura Mather

Ipswich
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is difficult to know how many 'stars' to give this hotel as we have stayed here 3 times since my last review and each experience has been different, due to the rooms we have stayed in or the efficiency of housekeeping. On the whole, the staff at the reception desks have been great and have dealt with any issues...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VintageSuitcase16
lauramather, Front Office Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review

Dear VintageSuitcase16 Thank you for choosing the Metrocentre Marriott Hotel as your choice of accommodation, please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. May I kindly request that you contact myself at the hotel, at your convenience so that we can discuss this further. Kind regards Laura Mather

Northumberland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed my stay in a very spacious clean room with bath and included breakfast. The room was quiet and staff pleasant. My only issue was with parking, bollards have been put at the front of the hotel since my last stay so to get to the front car park you have to do a loop of the Metro Centre, not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizi_Elizi
lauramather, Front Office Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Metro Centre Marriott Hotel. I am glad to hear that you found the rooms to be spacious and clean along with pleasant staff in the hotel. Thank you for your feedback regarding the car park, we do have an entrance for both the front and rear car park...

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
3.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
924 reviews
4.6 km away
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
5.4 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
941 reviews
5.3 km away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
5.3 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set by the A1M next to the MetroCentre, Europe's largest leisure and retail complex, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel MetroCentre offers the location, exceptional service and amenities you'd expect from a 4-star hotel in Newcastle. If you're planning a business or social event, you'll find a 524-square-metre, technologically enhanced conference and meeting facility, backed by a professional staff who will anticipate your needs and quickly respond to your requests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre

Address: Metrocentre, Gateshead NE11 9XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Price Range: RM344 - RM738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Metrocentre
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Marriott Gateshead
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#9 Business Hotel in Gateshead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Themed rooms are good!”
  • Ceiling which needs fixed
  • Jail Bathroom
  • Theres just no words
  • Wagon bed
dalec225, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ice machines at the end of the corridors on some floors can be noisy. Rooms at the front get the sun.”
VintageSuitcase16, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“become a marriott member for free wi-fi”
loopi06, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Superior room rate includes complimentary wifi”
Studrey84, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a larger room. There were groups staying (we were not disturbed as asked for a quiet room and were at the end of the top floor).”
Scubadoo7, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$64* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$64
TravelocityUS$64
TripAdvisorUS$64
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates