We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Speech House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Speech House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Speech House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 671: English reviews
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We had a group booking for 20 people to a hotel in Clearwell that closed at short notice, leaving us in the lurch. One of our members worked hard at finding an alternative for the same period, May 16th to 20th, 2016 and The Speech House came up trumps. Not only did we have suitable rooms, with changes where necessary,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wjs0107
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wjs-0107, Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review on your groups recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to look after you and your group, we like to treat all our small groups as individuals and ensure all of their requirements are met. I am glad we were able to rescue the situation for...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

I had stayed at this hotel twice before in the cheapest basic rooms. Happy with that because I knew what I was getting. This time I paid a lot more but was extremely disappointed. Very small, basic room that was old fashioned and due a refurb. It was clean and functional but very overpriced. The breakfast was better than average.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HappyTraveller995
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Happy Traveller 995, Thank you for leaving a review on your recent stay with us. I am a little at a loss to answer fully as you have not said which room you stayed in. We are constantly upgrading and refreshing our bedrooms and I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations. I can find no trace...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We stayed in the Speech House Hotel as a birthday treat for my partner. The hotel was really nice. We booked a room with a 4 poster. Only comment is that the room was a bit small. It looked crowded with a 4 poster bed in it. The room was not in the main building, which was a little disappointing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tash I
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tash 1 Thank you for leaving a review on your recent stay with us. You did indeed book a modern 4 poster Courtyard room with a large modern bathroom. All of our 4 poster rooms are very popular and fill very quickly. I am sorry that it was not as large as those we have in the Main House...

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We had a delightful afternoon tea to celebrate my mothers 90th birthday. There was a good selection of both tasty and pretty sandwiches and cakes. The still warm scones with fresh cream and jam were particularly good. The service was excellent and mum says she wants to spend next year there too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorna W Thanks for your review on your recent visit to the Speech House. I am delighted that your mother enjoyed her 90th birthday afternoon tea with us. Thank you for your positive feedback and please tell your mother that there will be a glass of Fizz waiting for her 91st next year. Please pass on my sincere best...

Essex, UK
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Speech House Hotel on July 1st 2015 (day of a national heatwave). I have been visiting the area and the Speech House restaurant for nearly 15 years, but did not stay in the hotel until 2015. Upon making a very last minute booking, we opted for a 'Cottage Room', priced £10 cheaper than the Courtyard Rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayleygrub
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kayleygrub, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. I am a little confused that you refer to your booking on 1st July 2015 and only left a review on your stay yesterday? As you pointed out your particular room was advertised as two star and the cheapest room at the hotel....

Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The Speech House Hotel was recommended to us by the lady in the Tourist Information Office in Coleford whilst we were on a short break in the Forest of Dean. She mentioned cream teas and we were hooked! The hotel is full of old fashioned charm and the staff are very helpful and friendly. initially we called in for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank axiswidow
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Axiswidow, Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your recent visit to us at the Speech House. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your walk in our wonderful forest and your afternoon tea and the service given by my team. I have passed on your very kind comments to all of them. We all...

Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

We had a voucher we got through Groupon which they did not honour. The voucher said use before end of March and when I called up with the voucher, they said you can not come on the weekend. When I called back and booked the same weekend, which they said that is okay, I then explained I had a voucher...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Martin S
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin S, Thank you for leaving a review on your visit to the hotel in March. We as the hotel offer rooms on allocation to Groupon. They are time limited and subject to availability. Some of the allocations are for weekends but once they have been taken up by customers then other customers have to select other days, again...

Ruardean, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016

I recently had afternoon tea at Speech House with 3 relatives and a very pleasant and relaxing time was had by all. Nothing was too trouble for staff (especially Danielle) - assisting me into the building in my wheelchair, taking a couple of photos and catering for a fussy eater!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennykibs2016
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennykibbs 2016, Thank you for leaving a review on your visit for afternoon tea. I am so pleased to read that you were looked after extremely well by my team and that you all enjoyed your tea. I have passed on your very kind comments to all my team especially Danielle. We all hope you will return again soon....

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Spent another weekend here, as relaxing and peaceful as ever. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Bar meals up to usual high standard. Stayed in cosy attic room. Cosy is an apt decryption but would not recommend these rooms to the unfit or arthritic. Three flights of stairs to negotiate!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert B, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. Yes the cosy attic rooms are indeed up a couple of flights of stairs and due to the building being listed we are unable to put in a lift. However we do offer a porterage service for luggage. In addition we do...

Reviewed 30 April 2016

Stopped by after work for a cream tea with friends. Lovely relaxing end to a busy day. All the beverages were nice and hot and the cakes tasty as usual. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff on duty. Good experience and we will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances P
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frances P Thanks for leaving a review on your recent visit for your afternoon tea. I am delighted to read that you had a relaxing end to your day and enjoyed your afternoon tea and that you were well looked after by my team. I have passed on your very kind comments to them. We look forward to welcoming...

564 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (459)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (56)
Viewed
Cosy Main House Double Room (36)
Viewed
Cottage Double Room (24)
Viewed
Courtyard Double Room (27)
Viewed
Courtyard Four Poster Room (33)
Viewed
Courtyard Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Family Room (42)
Viewed
Master Four Poster Room (52)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Superior Main House Twin Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleford
6.2 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
4.3 km away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
12.5 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
514 reviews
21.0 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
13.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly built in 1669, as a Hunting Lodge for Charles II the Speech House sits at the heart of the Royal Forest of Dean.The main house has 15 bedrooms including three antique four poster beds.The remainder of rooms are situated in the Courtyard and Cottage.The hotel is home to one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK and is used as the main restaurant for the hotel.The hotel offers a wide range of room type to suit all budgets, and is pet friendly in the Courtyard rooms, subject to availability.The Orangery is open to non residents for morning coffee,aftrernoon teas, and bar lunches and evening meals.Free Wi Fi is available to residents for 1 hour during their stay and then it is subject to a small charge.There are approximately 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on the doorstep of the hotel. Speechhouse is an ideal venue for touring the Wye Valley,Gloucestershire and the Southern Cotswolds and South Wales. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Speech House Hotel

Address: Speech House Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Price Range: RM462 - RM812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Speech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speech Hotel Coleford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Speech House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
Wales
over a year ago
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Speech House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There seem to be a couple of disabled access courtyard rooms - check first. Ramp into main hotel and Verder's room. One blue badge space.”
FlorenceScholar, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We was in the courtyard which was not a problem with any noise”
H1243SQpatriciaw, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are likely to be noisy as the road passes right outside and seems to be used by early morning commuters.”
CrystalShadow, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rear chalet rooms are quiet. Tea/coffee making facility. Toiletries provided. Park outside your room, so convenient for unloading.”
306tony, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It is quite on the third floor”
Matthew23751, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5