We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Balmer Lawn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,461: English reviews
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

My husband daughter and I booked the 3 day Christmas package which we thoroughly enjoyed ! (Panto was brilliant by the way! )The staff at the hotel were very attentive and gave excellent service, the food was fantastic maybe could do with some entertainment espiecally on the gala night I thing you need entertainment if it's a black tie event...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanie t
Portsmouth
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Wanted to treat my dog for his 10th birthday (yes, I am a crazy dog lady)! Usually go for dog friendly self catering cottages but found this hotel and gave it a try. The hotel must have been refurbished as it's much nicer than in these photos. Staff were all fantastic and very accommodating of both us and Charlie (providing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FBuns30
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I had a fantastic 3 night break over the weekend and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Excellent location for the New Forest and surroundings, some lovely walks from the hotel itself too. We walked into Brockenhurst on 2 evenings (15 minutes but could have done with a torch even though it was paved all the way) to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
canterbury
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very nice hotel in a peaceful setting. Nice food, a bit expensive in the restaurant though. And a service charge is added to your bill. The swimming pool, sauna and gym are very nice. Not to crowded either. Staff very polite and friendly. All in all a pleasant stay,would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davethediscoman
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

There were some good points and bad points about our 3 day Christmas Break at the Balmer Lawn. Good Points - the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Although better service in the bar/lounge for drinks would be good. You had to go to the bar to get served as opposed to someone coming to take your order. Afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank horsesgalore1966
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Horses Galore. This review is an incredible surprise to all. There must be some underlying reason why you feel TripAdvisor is the best forum to take to for such important feedback? At the time this gets published we will have at least 55% of last Christmas bookings already reserved with a deposit, many others in the provisional stage pending...

W Sussex.
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a birthday treat from my husband, what a warm and welcoming place. The food in the restaurant was very special and the staff very attentive and knowledgeable. The bedroom was beautifully furnished. Would like to return anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank templeWSussex_
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear templeWSussex_ Thank you so much for your review on this important travel forum. Thank you for your kind comments about our team. I will certainly pass them along. I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked the break for my wife's birthday and was not disappointed, we normally camp in the New Forest so this was a new experience for us. We arrived early and as the room was ready we were allowed into the room straight away. The room( Number 28) was lovely, modern, clean with a view of the forest. After a cuppa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulO6910GV
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear paulO6910GV Five stars! Thank you so much. It sounds like you had a wonderful time whilst you were here. I hope you come back and stay with us again very soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently visited Balmer Lawn hotel for a friends wedding and can I say, it was just fantastic. The rooms were wonderfully lit, spacious and allowed comfortable seating all through the night. I was chatting with the owner for some time and he had such a love for the hotel, which showed through the immaculate condition the rooms were in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Jon B What a lovely review - thank you for taking the time to place your comments on this important travel forum. I was pleased to read that you got a chance to meet Chris and speak with him. Both Chris and Alison love the Hotel and you are right it does reflect in the condition of the rooms...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking forward to staying in this Hotel as it was a present from our son and felt very disappointed. The food and room were in fact quite good but let down by the staff. We went down to get a drink in the night and there was no one to serve us , asked reception and was told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy D
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Judy D I was very sorry to read your comments regarding our staff and have to say we do not agree with you. Having spoken to the team members who dealt with you I understand your husband came down to the bar to order your complimentary prosecco. Unfortunately our barman was not available at this time but our senior...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked the balmer lawn hotel through groupon, a deal for my partners birthday. The deal included a standard double room which I have to say was disappointing. Unfortunately the room was very dated & tired looking & in massive need of refurbishment, we decided to just accept it as it was a groupon deal for a very competitive price,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathy h
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear cathy h I was so sorry to read the problems you experienced with your TV. You will be pleased to hear that we are in the process to refurbishing our bedrooms- as you can imagine this is a big job and one that does take time but i hope you return again soon- you will certainly notice a difference....

783 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (313)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (24)
Viewed
Suite (42)
Viewed
Suite, Front Aspect (35)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
1.2 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
946 reviews
4.0 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,569 reviews
8.4 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,150 reviews
5.0 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 km away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Beresfords Restaurant
Beresfords Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Price Range: RM661 - RM1,335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest, UK
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balmer Lawn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Balmer Lawn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the front side overlook a cricket pitch and have the better view.”
 of 5 bubbles stevenpU8349EV, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pick your room off the website”
 of 5 bubbles horsesgalore1966, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be prepared for poor customer service.”
 of 5 bubbles 225judyd, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“sorry didn't stay but would love to.”
 of 5 bubbles Pearsons26, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only seen a room an have not stayed there look lovely”
 of 5 bubbles 433pamelah, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay