We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

West Country Inn

PricelineUS$82*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$87*
US$82*
Great Deal
US$87*
US$87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
West Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of West Country Inn
 Click to rate
Bucknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our son bought us a gift voucher from Buy-A-Gift offering one night stay with dinner for two and we chose this place. We phoned the hotel to book and the guy from the hotel said to send them an email with a voucher number with the preferred date and he didn't see a problem and they would email a confirmation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardWB2014
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Richard, I am appalled you have sought to discredit our business when you have no knowledge of it or indeed the fact that you were told that we had no further voucher availability for the date you required. It is plainly wrong to expect us to turn away other people just for you. We will bend over backwards for...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and my wife recently stayed here on a Saturday night and we found the place to be like the Mary Celeste - almost deserted, very quiet and with about two staff on duty. The room was OK. The double bed was two singles joined together and was reasonably comfortable. The restaurant was woeful. We booked for 7:00pm and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greyvanman
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr Greyvanman, We are all very disappointed at your review and apologise if you felt it was like "the Mary Celeste!" There are times when we are quiet out of season due to our remote locality and there are times when we are exceptionally busy. We are a seasonal countryside holiday hotel and not a Premier Inn. After dedicating...

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We arrived on Tuesday afternoon big poster saying Biker night did not know what to expect all great bunch of people fantastic food excellent service will return next time we are in the area. Handy for Bude or Barnstable with loads of amenities in the area Laura the owner makes a fantastic breakfast and is hard working land lady that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alanjones570
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Thank you for such a lovely review. It is people like you who make us smile and proud to serve. Appreciated more than you will know. It is a pleasure. Best wishes, Laura.

southampton, england
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We have returned from 2 nights on a Buy-a-Gift voucher at the West Country Inn. When we arrived we were disappointed at the entrance and were not sure as to what to expect. We were greeted and shown to our room by the chef. The owner was there so found it strange that this was left to the chef. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cadgeSouthampton
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear cadgeSouthampton, Thank you for your review. We are very seasonal and I am sorry that you did not feel that I looked after you. I am not always located by the door, and the Chef being friendly and team conscious will always lend a helping hand. We all help each other here, like family. I work incredibly long hours...

Wiltshire
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We were stopping near Hartland for a few days, and were having a family celebration on the weekend. Me and my wife called in the West Country Inn on the Wednesday for a meal. This was the closest pub and we thought we would give it a try, our family meal was set for the Saturday and we had not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RicohWiltshire
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear RicohWiltshire, What a fabulous detailed review. So well described that I have nothing to add. I am very happy that you felt well looked after. That is what we are here for. Thank you very much. What a pleasure to serve people like you. Wonderful. Kind regards, Laura.

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Went hear with girlfriends family for new years Eve meal and steak was really nice but could of done with it being more blue but still very nice:) speed was great considering how busy they where and coped well with awkward customers :) will deffiantly be back soon

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kori L
bury
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Freezing cold asked more than once for heating to be put on still didn't come on, ended up having to get in bed fully clothed to keep warm. Asked for pot of tea, one tea bag like pee. Booked two nights couldn't stay second night, was forced to pay for both. Fawlty Towers springs to mind!

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank hillfo
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Booked through Groupon. Room was comfortable and breakfast very good. Service was good for the price Great Base for exploring Hartland and local area. Would definitely visit again if we were visiting North devon

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce A
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Could not have asked for better service or food! We stayed nearby in a lodge at the beginning of November for a long weekend, although we didn't have much say in places to eat out nearby, couldn't have been a better pub local! All staff were super friendly and helpful, even the chef brought our food out and was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaimeS14a
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jaimes, I am absolutely delighted that you found the service to be "super friendly" and the food "to die for!". We are all truly happy that you found your experience to be "brilliant!". What more could we ask for? This response is exactly the result of what we always work so hard to achieve. Thank you so much, I...

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

After a terrible few months, my husband and I decided to take a well deserved break. After 5 hours of travelling from Kent we finally arrived. I was looking forward to a relaxing evening. Although, what we were greeted with was very different! On arrival we were immediately told the room we booked was for single occupancy only (even though...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tjo79
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I remember your arrival and it was nothing as you described. I asked for a copy of your booking as many hotels do upon arrival as we had you correctly listed by your booking agent as having booked a single room which we had allotted as per their instruction. I offered to contact the agent (which I did)...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bideford hotels
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
54 reviews
0.7 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
359 reviews
3.4 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
690 reviews
2.1 km away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
192 reviews
1.6 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about West Country Inn

Address: Bursdon Moor | Nr. Hartland, Bideford EX39 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Price Range: RM407 - RM491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your West Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bideford Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from West Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 4 near door no problem”
alanjones570, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Away from the road!”
anonK7060AR, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Can't think of any”
LynnH52, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we had a super king room”
melaniemT775FX, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Rooms at the back would avoid some traffic noise.”
crosscountryrush, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$82* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$87
Hotwire.comUS$87
Booking.comUS$82
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates