We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Harlequin Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Harlequin Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 133: English reviews
Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I stayed here for two nights and l really enjoyed my stay here. The Harlequin was very clean and tidy and the staff very helpful. Being a veggie l find sometimes it is difficult to have a good breakfast, but the Harlequin gave me an excellent veggie breakfast and l would like to say thank you. Overall l had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mowden
Mike E, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this. Really pleased you had a good stay

Jerrabomberra
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Booked online for three senior ladies. The outside of the building didn't give us confidence on the inside, but we found a very warm and comfortable B&B. The owner, Mike, was very welcoming. Our family room was at the top of the house, but Mike assisted with baggage. Room was very clean and beds nice and comfortable, could not fault...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen2619
Mike E, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review

You aren't that senior ! Thanks for the kind words and advice on lighting. The ceiling light is a bit slow to brighten. Although it gets there eventually I will put a brighter more modern bulb in there. There are of course 3 bedside lights and the mirror light too. I am pleased you had a good time

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The Harlequin is very clean and tidy, the bed was very comfy, didn't want to get out of it lol. everything you could possibly want for a break. We didn't have breakfast so can't really comment but I'm sure it would be of high standard. Mike (and staff) are nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gazgriff1962
Mike E, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review

Good to hear you will be back. 01305 785598 for best deals !

Wolverhampton
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We booked this guest house online and it was a very reasonable price. Although we arrived a couple of hours earlier than the stated check in time our host, Mike, said we could book in. He helped us with our luggage up to our room which was on the top floor and gave us information about where to eat, visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julesdh
Mike E, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us. Sorry about the cobweb. It has been warm and the windows are open all the time. Its the time of year that spiders start to move indoors and we are on a constant spider hunt at the moment. We missed this one. Sorry. (paranoid now and off on another hunt ) We have five en suite...

Queensland
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We booked the family room for two nights this month. While it's on the top floor and there's no lift, Mike offered to help with our bags which was very appreciated. The bathroom is private but separate to the family room which isn't convenient but bearable. I did feel quite sorry for the room across the hall who would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicE178
Mike E, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you, It was really good to have you here. Glad you enjoyed it. Please would prospective guests note that we have rooms on the ground floor, first floor and second floor. As this reviewer notes we are a little b and b and have no lift. One room has a private external bathroom which is next door to he...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Too far out of main area, shops and harbour. We picked the ground floor room for the garden which was unkempt and the chairs needed cleaning. The en suite is in poor condition and needs a revamp. The accomodation is supposed to be 4 star but needs re rating. Cooked breakfast was good but a fresh fruit selection would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
Mike E, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review

17 September 2016 14:00 Oh dear, sorry to hear that you had such a horribly traumatic and unpleasant stay here. You have written such a unremittingly miserable and negative 1 blob review I feel I should respond in detail. So many people have written nice reviews yours makes you stand out from the crowd. I will address your points. 1)...

England
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This was very nice experience and would be back again. extreamly friendly and made to feel comftable. in our lovely room. We took the top floor room 5 great view of weymoth and spacious. and very clean. the breakfast was made with love. excellent. Thank you Mike.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cyprians
Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The guest house was very clean and well stocked with tea, coffee and decent biscuits. They was a good choice for breakfast from juice yoghurts cereals full English or omelettes. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teapot106
Mike E, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Teapot ! thanks for the kind words

Reviewed 8 September 2016

Extremely helpful and pleasant staff. Loved the rooms very clean and very comfortable . second time i have stayed here and i would definitely return without an issue. in easy walking distance to the main town and other attractions in weymouth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paddy M
Mike E, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review

Always great to see nice guests again Paddy .

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

2nd time here, good food, clean room, friendly staff. we even bumped into mike in the pub one night.We would recommend the harlequin, you are always made to feel welcome, and mike has plenty of info on whats happening in the town.cheers Mike

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonyleah37
Mike E, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review

Good to see you all again. Thanks for the kind words. The one time I go to a pub and I bump in to you........what's the odds !

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 km away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#96 of 169 in Weymouth
56 reviews
0.1 km away
The Pebbles
The Pebbles
#45 of 169 in Weymouth
196 reviews
0.2 km away
Greenlands Guest House
Greenlands Guest House
#40 of 169 in Weymouth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#11 of 21 in Weymouth
44 reviews
0.9 km away
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
#42 of 169 in Weymouth
158 reviews
0.8 km away
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
#48 of 169 in Weymouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great value Four Star Guest House in a pleasant Victorian house with spacious well appointed rooms. Free off road parking for up to five cars. Free WiFi. Particularly suited to families but also catering for couples and single guests in en suite rooms.The largest Family Room can accommodate up to five guests and has a private bathroom next door to it and for exclusive use of its occupants. We do not cater for groups of single sex party animals or for stag or hen nights. Just five minutes walk from the superb beach and ten minutes from town. Situated at the heart of the Jurassic coast Weymouth is an ideal base for family seaside holidays and is surrounded by beautiful countryside and villages.Weymouth is ideal for walkers,climbers,water sports enthusiasts and bird enthusiasts. Within easy travelling distance local trading estates. Business travellers welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harlequin Guest House

Address: 9 Carlton Road South, Weymouth DT4 7PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Price Range: RM258 - RM392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harlequin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harlequin Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harlequin Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Harlequin Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 I would say is a family room - very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles linw835, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms probably good, quiet, equally comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles squirrel961, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 best bed”
 of 5 bubbles Stevo999679, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We had room 1 which was at the back of the house”
 of 5 bubbles suenandoz, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Need to ask for a ground room if you have walking difficulties. All rooms are in a quiet location. Top back room is sunny and bright.”
 of 5 bubbles Sheilsandave, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay