We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 425: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
 Click to rate
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We travelled on Good Friday and left Easter Monday, Nice weekend, good journey. We travelled with Shearings on a coach trip.The hotel is an old hotel and really needs some refurbishment in the rooms, especially the window frames, these need replacing. The food whilst not gourmet is adequate and the staff are first class.The one complaint we have really is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hendo49
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your valuable feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you found the hotel position and staff to be first class. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the service we provide and are in the process of planning our refurbishments. I have...

manchester
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just back from a 4 night stay with Shearings -A well positioned hotel clean, comfortable and good food and service. The tables in the dinning rooms are a little cramped (but thats nit picking) dont let that put you off. We had a sea view room well worth the extra -It was a bit small particularly the ensuite. In short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank derek k
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and for your valuable feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you found the Hotel to be in a good position, comfortable and with good food and service. We are continually looking for ways to improve the service we provide and your comments regarding...

birmingham
Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly the traffic was a bit of a nightmare travelling down on the coach on Good Friday, but our driver did his best to avoid the jams. The hotel is in a good position in the middle of the front, but was disappointed with some of the interior, which was not as nice as other shearing hotels we have been...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ollie54
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your valuable feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found the Hotel to be in a good position. We have taken your comments regarding your room on board for our future refurbishments. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with...

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fortunate enough to pick a lovely weekend in the run up to Easter. Lovely room with a sea view, but as with much of the hotel, a lick of paint would not go amiss. Speedy check in and could not fault the service in the restaurant . Centrally located hotel, but do not be fooled by the signs on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 767JAMES
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent visit and I am pleased to hear that all in all your stay was an enjoyable one and everything within our control was to your liking. Regarding the Tourist Information, we do have a lot of guests asking for this and although there is a new small office it does...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were given a sea view room which we paid extra for. The room itself was quite big and a good view of the sea. However the bathroom that consisted of a shower toilet and small sink was very small, and did not find it very clean. Food was ok, the cooked breakfast was cold and the porridge was sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel B
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your views of your recent stay with us here at the Royal Hotel, I appreciate your comments and have addressed the issues raised with my team. I apologise that not everything was to your liking and for the delays in the Restaurant, we aim to improve the situation as quickly...

Lancashire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First class beach across the road, easy walk to town and harbour makes the Royal ideally situated on the Esplanade. Sea view rooms have wonderful views all round the bay. My bedroom/bathroom was clean and comfortable with satisfactory housekeeping. Service at meal times was quick and efficient (Helga again!). I prefered the self service breakfast and the evening meal menus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladytraveller6
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and kind words, Helga will be equally delighted that you mentioned her, she is an excellent team member and I will take great pleasure in relaying your feedback to her. I hope to welcome you back in the very near future and thank you once again for taking the time to give us...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on shearing break which I appreciate are exceptional value for money however as a single person I always pay extra (single supplement) I resent the fact I get housed in the smallest room - only space for a single bed and chest of drawers and the bathroom was no bigger than 60 cm wide by 1.5 m long....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hms1717
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, I will certainly raise these with our design team for future refurbishment plans to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay no mater what room type they pay for. Regards Steve Steve Stott General Manager

Bridgend
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We love the royal and will return. Meals are good although we personally like being spoiled and being served at the table rather than the self service breakfast. Rooms have never been an issue but room 406 needs some TLC. The bed is terrible you can feel every spring , the TV is impossible for two people to watch in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigellydia
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I take all of your comments on-board and have again been to the room today to double check items raised previously had been addressed. The bed was replaced but I agree with you the mattress isn't the best and I have arranged for a better quality one to replace this. For future reference...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

just come back from a 3 night stay at the royal,we paid extra for a sea view (a must) a lovely big room no 215 but the bathroom must be the smallest I have ever seen 1 metre wide they could only fit a tiny sink or else there was no room for the door to open , why they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank keithfb
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback which is very much appreciated. I am surprised to hear you were unable to find a parking space using one of our permits, as not only do they cover the front of the Hotel but also six streets behind the Hotel, I can only assume it was a very busy weekend in Weymouth...

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from our weekend break with Shearings. The hotel itself is a lovely building and ideally situated on the seafront. However, it definitely needs some money spending on it. We had a seaview room on the third floor and were unable to have a decent nights sleep due to the wind coming through the draughts around the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cheshiretraveller062
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback which is very much appreciated, I am so sorry to hear there were aspects of your holiday that were not to your liking and I wish to assure you that the Housekeeping matters have been addressed this morning. I do hope you will not be put off visiting us again because of this...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.0 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
448 reviews
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.4 km away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Price Range: RM341 - RM486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
rhyl north wales
over a year ago
Wickford, United Kingdom
2 days ago
1 month ago
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request Sea view.”
Hendo49, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“sea view rooms with balcony”
767JAMES, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea view”
U286KNrachelb, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A sea view room is a must”
Hms1717, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“pay extra for a sea view but not 215 unless you are a midget as the bathroom is ridiculously small”
keithfb, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates