We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Linthwaite House

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Linthwaite House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Linthwaite House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,438: English reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for our anniversary. Had a wonderful lunch, a relaxing afternoon walk in the garden and took in the beautiful views. Enjoyed a most magnificent evening meal and then coffee by the fire. The staff were absolutely wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wildeones
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thanks for the fabulous review. Glad you enjoyed the meals and the whole experience. We look forward to welcoming you back, Regards Mike Bevans

northumberland
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed here for my sister's wedding and she had her reception at Linthwaite. What a stunning day! From Kate, Sarah to James the staff felt like old friends and ensured that the day ran like clockwork. The food was sublime - unbelievable considering the amount of people being catered for. The hotel's grounds (including its own tarn and charming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelleh77
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Brilliant! Thanks very much for the superb review. Yes it's a great place for a wedding, as someone else remarked further down the reviews. Delighted you enjoyed the tea too. We are blessed with a fabulous team. (Well done everyone) We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon, Regards Mike

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Understaffed, waited ages to be acknowledged. Only one person serving. Not enough sandwiches, four small fingers each. Scones were the only saving grace as they were lovely with home made jam. The other cakes were a disappointment, carrot cake that had not taste. Chocolate brownie with an inch of over sweet icing on top. Lovely setting and I have heard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KG4044
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing our afternoon tea and naturally disappointed that you didn't enjoy it. Did you complain at the time? We would have loved to have had the opportunity to make amends, because sometimes thing do not go as they should. We do dozens of afternoon teas every week and have had great feedback. Sorry! Mike Bevans Owner

Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in December on a mini break my partner surprised me with for my birthday. This hotel is on a great location, with easy access to stunning walks and the lake. Our check in was smooth and we felt relaxed and welcomed from the start. Afternoon tea was excellent, and we highly recommend after a long journey. The evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Socrates66
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thanks for you great review! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon, Regards Mike

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2013

just returned from spending a magical four day stay in the linthwaite to celebrate a wedding. fantastic the staff, food, rooms all were excellent. i would recommend that anyone considering a venue in the lake district for their wedding should look no further than the linwaite house. the wedding breakfast itself was excellent and the staff provided a five star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moiraellison
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thanks Moira! It is a good spot for a wedding. Secluded, hill top setting overlooking Lake Windermere. Yet inside the hotel, like a home from home, is small and intimate where staff use guests names and you're not a number. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, All good wishes, Mike

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Just back from a 3 nights stay at Linthwaite House Hotel. What a Beatutiful place!, a 15 minutes walking to Windermere. The rooms spotless, the food delicious and the staff very friendly and compliant. Wishing to go back there soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaturF_13
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

What a location indeed. It was Conrad Hilton who said location, location, location. That's why, 23 years ago, we bought Linthwaite. Our job was then to make the inside as good as the outside. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon, Kind regards Mike

Reviewed 4 April 2013

We have been staying over 12 years I love the place...excellent food excellent rooms excellent staff,stayed at the other rated hotels samling armithwaite storrs I can go on but none as good as the Linthwaite no bad words to say its better than excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rupertladies
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Well no-one in my position is going to dispute the best place on earth quote! We think so too and o do many of our guests. Come back soon! Regards Mike Bevans

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had a very relaxing Easter break at the beautiful Linthwaite House Hotel, which stands in the most stunning location, with a spectacular view of Lake Windermere. Linthwaite is comfortable, stylish and where we were made to feel very much at home. Service from all staff was first class and they certainly show how it should be done. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G&SMcD
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted you chose and enjoyed Linthwaite and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future, Kind regards Mike Bevans

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just returned home after a two night break at Linthwaite House and the biggest compliment we can pay is that we booked a return 3 night visit for my wifes birthday coming up in September. The food is of the highest quality and the staff are as attentive and helpful as any hotel we have stayed including 5 star hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lowfieldsuk
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Oh and I've just written to you to thank you for your comments you left with us. Sorry! Well the bathrooms do vary, from simpler ones like the one you had to the amazing wows of the Loft Suite which has a bath it takes 20 minutes to fill or R4 where you can relax in the bath with a...

Reviewed 29 March 2013

Shortly after meeting my girlfriend, we enjoyed a memorable stay in the Linthwaite House Hotel. And so when almost four years later I decided to propose, this seemed an obvious choice of venue. However, I was slightly concerned that I may have romanticised the memory of our first visit. I need not have worried. From start to finish every aspect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rich P
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Many congratulations on your engagement at Linthwaite. I read your fiancee's comments she left for me at the hotel and she was obviously over the moon with your surprise arrangements. May you keep returning to Linthwaite for many years to come. Delighted you loved the Loft Suite; one could live there except for the fact that it hasn't got a...

867 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (543)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (162)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (211)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (288)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Fifth Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Room (17)
Viewed
Second Room (25)
Viewed
Suite (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (103)
Viewed
Third Room (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
2.1 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
551 reviews
1.2 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,330 reviews
1.4 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: RM958 - RM1,917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Linthwaite House staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Linthwaite House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a lake view, avoid the rooms with outside access”
weekendfor2, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All very nice”
JonKington, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room towards the lake, it may be a bit quieter.”
brianmN5932WJ, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pay as much as you dare for the best and better rooms”
blackwellmaxprestonb, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely. The hot tub rooms are a bonus.”
Christine8_12, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5