We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Linthwaite House

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$197*
US$191*
US$197*
US$191*
US$197*
US$191*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Linthwaite House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Linthwaite House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,453: English reviews
Middlesbrough
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had exclusivity of Linthwaite for my daughters wedding recently, Linthwaite was perfect in every way you could wish, The staff are total professionals who were not visible but magicly appeared when you needed them, James the duty manager was so helpful in every way The food was of a very high standard, The rooms are furnished to a high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murchison
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Well thank you very much. it's interesting talking to other hoteliers around the UK, weddings seem to be down, but not at Linthwaite. It really does work well especially for the small exclusive use wedding. Come back again soon! Kind regards Mike

northumberland
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in March 2013 and had the most perfect time. Staff are totally professional but relaxed all at the same time! Food is out of this world. The rooms are decorated and furnished with real style whilst maintaining a relaxing feel. This was not our first stay and it will not be our last. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Basil1966
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Well wouldn't that be good if it really was like this in heaven. Anyway, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be able to come back again soon, Kind regards Mike

London
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Our very short-notice request for a meeting room was expertly handled by James. We were warmly welcomed, the wi-fi was brilliant so were able to get online as we needed, the projector was easy to connect to and the air conditioning was appreciated. Best of all, was the delicious light lunch -served by the charming and efficient staff. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PMCF
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Ah, thanks very much for your very kind review. Yes. Linthwaite does work for small meetings or a complete takeover, but generally we don't believe that business and pleasure mixes in a small country house hotel. Who wants to come downstairs on a romantic getaway and find a bunch of chaps talking widgets in the bar? But of course there...

Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2013

WE stayed last year and we stayed for two nights this year, and ate both nights in the hotel. We are Vegetarians and they gave us some wonderful food, in fact some of the best we'd ever tasted, and the second night they gave us more choice. Service was excellent, every member of the staff were lovely, friendly and nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicofisher
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Fabulous! I have just replied to the review below (date-wise) and this proves we do get a lot of special requests, so it is especially gratifying that you found the vegetarian options to your taste. Come back soon! Best wishes from all at Linthwaite. Mike Bevans

St Annes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

A comfortable and relaxing experience in a very good hotel distinguished by the friendlines and helpfulness of an excellent staff. A comment to the manager about the 100% richness sof the food was answered sensibly and courteously - practically too as he stressed that special requests were always considered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LancastrianStAnnes
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Well it's true some do find the food too fine, but we can always do an off menu plain option- we have a kitchen with 9 chefs after all, so we ought to be able to. We catre for special requests every day, special dietary requirements; vegetarian, coeliac, and others, so please just ask! As you found the managers know...

Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for our anniversary. Had a wonderful lunch, a relaxing afternoon walk in the garden and took in the beautiful views. Enjoyed a most magnificent evening meal and then coffee by the fire. The staff were absolutely wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wildeones
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thanks for the fabulous review. Glad you enjoyed the meals and the whole experience. We look forward to welcoming you back, Regards Mike Bevans

northumberland
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed here for my sister's wedding and she had her reception at Linthwaite. What a stunning day! From Kate, Sarah to James the staff felt like old friends and ensured that the day ran like clockwork. The food was sublime - unbelievable considering the amount of people being catered for. The hotel's grounds (including its own tarn and charming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelleh77
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Brilliant! Thanks very much for the superb review. Yes it's a great place for a wedding, as someone else remarked further down the reviews. Delighted you enjoyed the tea too. We are blessed with a fabulous team. (Well done everyone) We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon, Regards Mike

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Understaffed, waited ages to be acknowledged. Only one person serving. Not enough sandwiches, four small fingers each. Scones were the only saving grace as they were lovely with home made jam. The other cakes were a disappointment, carrot cake that had not taste. Chocolate brownie with an inch of over sweet icing on top. Lovely setting and I have heard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KG4044
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing our afternoon tea and naturally disappointed that you didn't enjoy it. Did you complain at the time? We would have loved to have had the opportunity to make amends, because sometimes thing do not go as they should. We do dozens of afternoon teas every week and have had great feedback. Sorry! Mike Bevans Owner

Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in December on a mini break my partner surprised me with for my birthday. This hotel is on a great location, with easy access to stunning walks and the lake. Our check in was smooth and we felt relaxed and welcomed from the start. Afternoon tea was excellent, and we highly recommend after a long journey. The evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Socrates66
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thanks for you great review! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon, Regards Mike

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2013

just returned from spending a magical four day stay in the linthwaite to celebrate a wedding. fantastic the staff, food, rooms all were excellent. i would recommend that anyone considering a venue in the lake district for their wedding should look no further than the linwaite house. the wedding breakfast itself was excellent and the staff provided a five star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moiraellison
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review

Thanks Moira! It is a good spot for a wedding. Secluded, hill top setting overlooking Lake Windermere. Yet inside the hotel, like a home from home, is small and intimate where staff use guests names and you're not a number. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, All good wishes, Mike

884 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (560)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (167)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (219)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (288)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Fifth Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Room (17)
Viewed
Second Room (25)
Viewed
Suite (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (103)
Viewed
Third Room (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,317 reviews
2.1 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
557 reviews
1.2 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,345 reviews
1.4 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: RM997 - RM2,476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Linthwaite House staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Linthwaite House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If staying in 'View' room, check view with hotel if it's important to you.”
fillyk, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a lake view, avoid the rooms with outside access”
weekendfor2, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All very nice”
JonKington, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room towards the lake, it may be a bit quieter.”
brianmN5932WJ, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pay as much as you dare for the best and better rooms”
blackwellmaxprestonb, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$191* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$191
TravelocityUS$191
Booking.comUS$197
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates