We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Burn How Garden House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 527: English reviews
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

A wonderful 3 night stay from 07-10/08/2015.we arrived to a warm welcome,and taken to our room this was a good size with a large very comfortable bed.Our room also had a large bathroom with shower,our room was equipped with a kettle tea,coffee ext,hair dryer,trouser press,ironing board,alarm clock.the balcony over looked the rose garden this is surrounded by well kept pine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bill d
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Burn How in the future, thank you for your lovely comments and the through description of the hotel

Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

Paid for a superior room and it was nice having the balcony. Bedroom decor lovely but the bathroom could do with updating for that price. Breakfast was excellent- both for variety and quality. All staff were really pleasant and helpful. Just a few minutes walk to the bats and restaurants so ideal location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your comments on the room

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

Positives : Excellent breakfast, gluten free options, high chair with tray, beautiful landscaping, nice sized rooms, excellent desserts, easy access to town centre. Negatives : Poor wifi, mouldy plastic flowers in the room, not the most comfy bed - none of these were a big deal but our stay was marred by an old lady serving breakfast who was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S P
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We have read your comments and feel disappointed that this was not mentioned on check out, that you felt that the bed was uncomfortable. The wi-fi connection may have been poor as we were waiting for an update to the router, which unfortunately we do not have any control over, which has now been rectified. It is hard to believe...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We had a family house. It was spacious, clean, and I love the strong shower. This is only 5 minutes walk from the pier. If you are not familiar with the area, it will be a good choice. Breakfast was excellent. The wi-fi however was disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christopher L
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that you found the wi-fi disappointing, I have had it checked since receiving your review.

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Good breakfast, cozy restaurant area, close location to Bowness pier. No fridge in room, no safe in room, unsafe room for toddlers, excessive furniture in room, lack of sunlight in room, lack of outside view from room, old bathroom, constant noises from bathroom, lack of good water faucet mixers (hot and cold water flows), etc..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zhwehbe
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We have received your review and disappointed to read such negativity. The room has three windows , which would allow light into the room if the curtains were pulled back., your comment on excessive furniture as we explained this to you at the time that it is a family room for up to 5 and we could not take out...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 30 June 2015

It is a very nice hotel serves delicious hot breakfast this was really surprising they give us a menu we select what we want to eat and they serve it hot on the table .nice rooms but the furnishings are a bit dated but service and breakfast were good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheetal207
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

We are a traditional hotel with traditional furnishings, thank you for your review.

mirfield
Reviewed 29 June 2015

I fancied a few days in Bowness/Lake District and seeking somewhere decent-Burn How seemed to fit the bill having regard to CONSISTENT excellent reviews on tripadvisor. I booked a garden chalet overlooking the hotel gardens(not all the chalets do).The chalets have a private external patio with tables and chairs(great if you smoke) and a personal parking space. If you don't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lennieMirfield
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that you agree with all our guest reviews and enjoyed your stay with us and our wonderful breakfast.

Basingstoke
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Stayed in a roomy Garden Chalet with car parked right outside the front door. Breakfast menu is varied and they are happy to mix and match different freshly cooked food items from the menu. Great location, a few minutes walk to the Harbour in one direction and a few minutes to the town in the other direction. Very pleasant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevel76
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

It is nice to receive your review of your stay thank you for taking the time to describe the hotel and the area

Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Pleasant hotel in Bowness. Centrally located for walking and lake side activates. Room was a good size and comfortable with view over terrace and garden. If weather was clement individual outdoor table and chairs provided for access from room. Top marks for breakfast which was varied and plentiful. Own parking spot just outside bedroom door, this must be a boon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimowens01
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Burn How, and for your marks for our breakfast. It is advisable to let us know if you would like to dine as soon as you can as we can be very busy at the weekends

Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We have just spent two nights here after a beak of two or three years. We were very impressed with the refurbishment of the reception, dining and bar area, really smart, welcoming and comfortable. We had dinner on both evenings, choosing different dishes each time. They cater for all kinds of dietary needs, it was no problem to go lacto...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jengill1
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay, we hope that you will return to see us soon

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,726 reviews
1.1 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,300 reviews
1.3 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
922 reviews
0.3 km away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: RM603 - RM912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Burn How Garden House Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Burn How Garden House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The only minus, no view of lake lake​ Windermere but you're a few minutes walk from the the view.”
 of 5 bubbles 184sallyk, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room called BAY”
 of 5 bubbles 390gl, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we were in 18 which had the most comfortable recliner chairs”
 of 5 bubbles keithmG8644HF, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book early for dinner!”
 of 5 bubbles astrospike, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The old house is romantic; the cottages are better for families”
 of 5 bubbles Dukesnyder, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5