We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oakbank House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oakbank House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 264: English reviews
Start your review of Oakbank House
 Click to rate
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My girlfriend booked this B&B for my birthday last year, only a few days beforehand. We requested a lake view room which was politely fulfilled, the window was shoulder height when standing and looked out over sections of Lake Windermere & the local town. We had the morning breakfast, quality of food was excellent, usual selection, pleasant & professional service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeooonnnn
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came upon Oakbank House, when we arrived in Windermere. Preferring to wing it, we hadn't pre booked and felt lucky to be given a lovely, clean, comfy room for our overnight stay. Brekkie the next morning was generous and yummy and set us up for our morning to explore Windermere. If we get the chance to return, Oakbank House...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the2br0wns
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location good, However BEWARE of this Hostal (Hotel). £200 for two nights seems fare for the location untill you enter through the door. Room one, thought I was on a Blackpool stag weekend to be honest ive stayed in better, on stag weekends. Dated, Smelly, Toilet ok if your a very small person. My wife Complained to the property owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ianody
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Oh dear. Your insults and comments only convince me i was 100% right to refuse you entry to my guest house. The woman you attempted to bring in was rude, vulgar, foul mouthed and ignorant. Can I suggest that next time you book a room somewhere that you do not bring bag after bag of alcohol in with you as...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for a couple of days with my partner, very clean place and felt welcome as soon as we walked in! Only down side was the parking and breakfast not being too generous. Very well situated in the town as we could access everything without using the car. Would definitely visit this hotel again, it's modern and clean with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah V
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Very central hotel, great location! Lake view room very modern and recently decorated to a high standard. Stayed here 23 years ago when we got married, still has the same cosy feel. Would recommend the hotel highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gnash43
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We visited as a couple in February ,stayed for 2 nights . First the room was cold the bed was a double more like a single very small double the room was cold couldn't get warm heating didn't start till ten . The breakfast was terrible wouldn't fill a child thin toast with crust cut off very disappointing we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan j
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay here but I find some of your comments simply untrue. Our heating comes on at 07.15 am every morning and it is working fine. The bed is a standard 4'6" double bed as described on the web site where you booked. I fail to see why having the crust removed...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We stay here every time we visit the Lakes. Run by a really friendly family it is in the ideal location in Bowness - central to all the attractions yet set back in a quiet side road. The rooms also have a gorgeous view of the lake from the top floors, and good parking facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roo123456789
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

A big thank you to Danny and staff. Nothing is too much for them. Very helpful and pleasant. Had a fantastic time again for second year running. Imaculatly clean B&B. Room 6 amazing with fabulous lake views. Just re decorated too. Lovely. Wide choice of breakfast. Something for everyone. Already rebooked to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Mirfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We have been coming here at Easter for the last four years and would highly recommend it. Danny the owner is great and all the staff are really friendly and helpful. We would have no hesitation in recommending it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willswes13
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Excellent location, 2 min walk from high street, if you are driving parking is very limited and an odd shape making spaces narrow and difficult to manoeuvre into. Owner says you can double park but you have to leave your car key and wouldn't be happy with owner negotiating car park in an unknown car. Room was clean and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedPandaFiona
Management response:

Thank you for posting your feedback and I am sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast offering. You say that our offering is limited which I must contest. Apart from omelettes I cannot think of anything else that one would expect to see on a breakfast menu. Perhaps you could let us know what you felt our offering lacked?...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 km away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#5 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
665 reviews
0.3 km away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#3 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
311 reviews
0.5 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
359 reviews
0.1 km away
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Monties Bed and Breakfast
#48 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
111 reviews
0.3 km away
Number 80
Number 80
#22 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: RM436 - RM679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oakbank House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oakbank House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st floor lake view room 6”
 of 5 bubbles Gnash43, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our double room was cold small bed.”
 of 5 bubbles I641SJsusanj, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles RedPandaFiona, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 9 which had a nice lake view”
  • View from room9
 of 5 bubbles maxxis, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“lake view room would be best”
 of 5 bubbles nic0la1995, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5