We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oakbank House

Orbitz.comUS$140*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Oakbank House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 268: English reviews
Start your review of Oakbank House
 Click to rate
preston
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is situated very close to the lake and bowness,parking is very tight but there are enough spaces for all rooms.we booked in with the lady owner who was very polite and showed us to our room which was a superior room with lake view,the room was very clean but there was a smell from the bathroom which was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c_m_williams
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came across the Oakbank after searching for somewere to stay for 1 night in Bowness. Its been many years since ive stayed in a B&B, opting for corporate homoganised hotels instead. We were attracted by the great price at £81 with breakfast and the great reviews. The response by the owner to negative reviews on tripadviser was hilarious, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrian3694
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently booked 3 nights at the Oakbank for our anniversary. We wanted to stay at the lakes but I'd never been or driven so far so it was an entirely new experience! We settled on the Oakbank because of the location, the good reviews and on-site parking. Also there was a generous 3 nights for the price of 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirk A
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A thoroughly enjoyable weekend .......arrived in good time on Friday .....room was very clean and well presented. The food at breakfast time was excellent and the service good all rooms were full and the staff coped admirably. The guest house is nicely situated for the boats shops and restaurants I speak for myself and my wife all in all it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billyboy51
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend booked this B&B for my birthday last year, only a few days beforehand. We requested a lake view room which was politely fulfilled, the window was shoulder height when standing and looked out over sections of Lake Windermere & the local town. We had the morning breakfast, quality of food was excellent, usual selection, pleasant & professional service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leeooonnnn
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We came upon Oakbank House, when we arrived in Windermere. Preferring to wing it, we hadn't pre booked and felt lucky to be given a lovely, clean, comfy room for our overnight stay. Brekkie the next morning was generous and yummy and set us up for our morning to explore Windermere. If we get the chance to return, Oakbank House...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank the2br0wns
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Location good, However BEWARE of this Hostal (Hotel). £200 for two nights seems fare for the location untill you enter through the door. Room one, thought I was on a Blackpool stag weekend to be honest ive stayed in better, on stag weekends. Dated, Smelly, Toilet ok if your a very small person. My wife Complained to the property owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ianody
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Oh dear. Your insults and comments only convince me i was 100% right to refuse you entry to my guest house. The woman you attempted to bring in was rude, vulgar, foul mouthed and ignorant. Can I suggest that next time you book a room somewhere that you do not bring bag after bag of alcohol in with you as...

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Visited here for a couple of days with my partner, very clean place and felt welcome as soon as we walked in! Only down side was the parking and breakfast not being too generous. Very well situated in the town as we could access everything without using the car. Would definitely visit this hotel again, it's modern and clean with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah V
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Very central hotel, great location! Lake view room very modern and recently decorated to a high standard. Stayed here 23 years ago when we got married, still has the same cosy feel. Would recommend the hotel highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gnash43
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We visited as a couple in February ,stayed for 2 nights . First the room was cold the bed was a double more like a single very small double the room was cold couldn't get warm heating didn't start till ten . The breakfast was terrible wouldn't fill a child thin toast with crust cut off very disappointing we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan j
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay here but I find some of your comments simply untrue. Our heating comes on at 07.15 am every morning and it is working fine. The bed is a standard 4'6" double bed as described on the web site where you booked. I fail to see why having the crust removed...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 km away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
675 reviews
0.3 km away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
316 reviews
0.3 km away
Number 80
Number 80
#27 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
463 reviews
0.3 km away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
367 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#25 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: RM442 - RM688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oakbank House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oakbank House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The lake view rooms are a must if available. We were in Room 4.”
  • View from our room (4)
294kirka, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1st floor lake view room 6”
Gnash43, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our double room was cold small bed.”
I641SJsusanj, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors probably quieter”
RedPandaFiona, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 9 which had a nice lake view”
  • View from room9
maxxis, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$140* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$140
PricelineUS$140
TravelocityUS$140
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates