We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oakfold House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Oakfold House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oakfold House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 356: English reviews
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This was a very clean and friendly place to stay with an excellent cooked breakfast, situated about 10-15 minute walk from both Windermere and Bowness and the lake. The room was ideal for a family of three.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank scharl_336284
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review, it is very kind of you to take the time to write about your stay at Oakfold House. We are so pleased that you liked the room that you stayed in and our location is great to visit both Windermere and Bowness where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. We hope to see... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Booked a two night stay with Max and Marnie, and had a wonderful time. We were in room five which was small but had all necessities and more, and was beautifully decorated/fitted out. Max was incredibly friendly on arrival and made us feel at home, and likewise with Marnie at breakfast. Breakfast was lovely and we felt very spoiled with... More 

Helpful?
Thank TillieNat
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write this. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfold House. We have spent the last two years refurbishing the house, and we are so happy with the feedback that we have received. We make sure that the breakfasts are the best that we... More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

My husband booked a surprise 3 day trip to Windermere, choosing the Oakfold House for our stay. Well he chose a fabulous place & we will definitely be going back. Max & Marnie were so welcoming & friendly from the start. We had the best room in the house, vintage style & it just ticked all the boxes. Immaculate &... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisablue2015
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The pictures you put up are great and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfold House. Both Marnie and I try our best to ensure that everyone feels welcome in our home, and we are very proud of our breakfasts, we get lots of great feedback. We hope to see you... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We stayed for one night but wish we could have stayed another night to enable us to enjoy the amazing breakfast again . Our hosts were very friendly and helpful ,giving us great advise on what to do locally.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank charles i
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfold House. We are very pleased with our breakfasts, and the ingredients are all locally sourced, with Claytons Butchers supplying the bacon and sausages. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you Maxwell and Marnie More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2016

The pictures of the rooms are extremely deceptive... the rooms are tiny and hardly any place to move, let alone put your luggage. The room with the bunk beds was absurd...they have converted what should have been a closet in to an area with two bunk beds...the entrance to which is a door frame! The owner was quite rude and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shaila P
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Oakfold House. You have mentioned that the rooms are small, Oakfold House is an Victorian Lakeland Stone property. We are unable to make the rooms any larger than what was originally built, and by B&B standards they are a good size. Your group booked three rooms, two of which... More 

Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

We've visited the Lakes lots of times and we always enjoy coming back. We booked Oakfold House with a great deal on booking.com. The drive down was quite concerning as it was the weekend after the floods, and heavy snow was forecast. We struggled to get into the Lakes with many roads closed, however we rang OakFold house and they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie B
Kelsterbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Max and Marnie were very friendly hosts. They gave us valuable information about activities in Windermere and good restaurants. The interior of the house is very beautiful with light colors and thick carpets. Our room was comfortable, very clean and the English breakfast was generous. We would like to come again in summer time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sabrina790
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Unfortunately we couldn't give top marks as cleanliness left a lot to be desired. We were in the Superior Room 2 and after pointing out to the hosts that there was thick dust on and at the sides of a picture, plus cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, this was not addressed. The blinds had mould on them and the kettle... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank woodseaves
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the room did not live up to expectations. You raised an issue with us at breakfast advising that the there was dust behind the picture frame, cobwebs on the ceiling and the shower head was dropping too low. You did not mention the other cleaning issues that you have now... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip this month, couldn't have asked for a nicer place! The owners were very friendly and genuine people, the place is well looked after and the décor is to a high standard all over. The breakfast options are varied and brilliantly cooked! Particularly enjoyed the full English breakfast! I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank chantelle s
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Lovely relaxing stay.. Very clean room and comfortable bed. The hosts were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was great and lots of selection.. We will definetly return here again very soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katk772

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.8 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
518 reviews
1.3 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,404 reviews
0.3 km away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
815 reviews
2.1 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Oakfold House

Address: Oakfold Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: RM344 - RM647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakfold House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oakfold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakfold House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Oakfold House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oakfold House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room location was perfect: ground level, next to the gorgeous breakfast room. The stairs to other rooms are carpeted, so take off your wet shoes if your room is upstairs!”
 of 5 bubbles anns756, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Family room sleeps 3. All other rooms sleep 1 or 2. 8 rooms in total.”
 of 5 bubbles 704julie, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed quiet, ample space and all amenities provided.”
 of 5 bubbles pollypearlr, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Very nice & Clean Room. Would have been more happy if it was slightly bigger.”
 of 5 bubbles AjayBabla, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“quiet rooms, perfect location”
 of 5 bubbles 592lianl, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay