We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oakfold House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Oakfold House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oakfold House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

2 night stay in this lovely B&B owners lovely couple helpful and friendly. Room was lovely and clean huge comfy bed tv tea coffee etc. location wise could not be better 5 minute walk to town pubs restaurants 10 minutes to the lake. Ample parking . Breakfast first class with lots of choice could not fault it would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard251261
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hi Richard and Denise, Thank you for your review of Oakfold House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Room 1, is one of favourite rooms and it is also very popular. Our breakfasts are freshly made each morning and we use meats delivered from the local butchers, and eggs from the egg man each week....

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Thanks for a great welcome and very comfortable stay. Good location, close to the town and all its amenities, but off the main road so nice and quiet. The building is very nicely decorated, and very comfortable. We would highly recommend this establishment.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 47clare
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hi Clare, Thank you for taking the time to review Oakfold House. We have put a lot of effort into making the rooms as comfortable as possible as part of our redecoration and refurbishment projects. We are pleased that you found the location convenient too as everything is such a short walk away. We hope you enjoyed the Lakes as...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This was a very clean and friendly place to stay with an excellent cooked breakfast, situated about 10-15 minute walk from both Windermere and Bowness and the lake. The room was ideal for a family of three.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank scharl_336284
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review, it is very kind of you to take the time to write about your stay at Oakfold House. We are so pleased that you liked the room that you stayed in and our location is great to visit both Windermere and Bowness where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. We hope to see...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Booked a two night stay with Max and Marnie, and had a wonderful time. We were in room five which was small but had all necessities and more, and was beautifully decorated/fitted out. Max was incredibly friendly on arrival and made us feel at home, and likewise with Marnie at breakfast. Breakfast was lovely and we felt very spoiled with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TillieNat
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write this. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfold House. We have spent the last two years refurbishing the house, and we are so happy with the feedback that we have received. We make sure that the breakfasts are the best that we...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

My husband booked a surprise 3 day trip to Windermere, choosing the Oakfold House for our stay. Well he chose a fabulous place & we will definitely be going back. Max & Marnie were so welcoming & friendly from the start. We had the best room in the house, vintage style & it just ticked all the boxes. Immaculate &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisablue2015
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The pictures you put up are great and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfold House. Both Marnie and I try our best to ensure that everyone feels welcome in our home, and we are very proud of our breakfasts, we get lots of great feedback. We hope to see you...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We stayed for one night but wish we could have stayed another night to enable us to enjoy the amazing breakfast again . Our hosts were very friendly and helpful ,giving us great advise on what to do locally.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank charles i
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Oakfold House. We are very pleased with our breakfasts, and the ingredients are all locally sourced, with Claytons Butchers supplying the bacon and sausages. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you Maxwell and Marnie

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 12 January 2016

The pictures of the rooms are extremely deceptive... the rooms are tiny and hardly any place to move, let alone put your luggage. The room with the bunk beds was absurd...they have converted what should have been a closet in to an area with two bunk beds...the entrance to which is a door frame! The owner was quite rude and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaila P
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Oakfold House. You have mentioned that the rooms are small, Oakfold House is an Victorian Lakeland Stone property. We are unable to make the rooms any larger than what was originally built, and by B&B standards they are a good size. Your group booked three rooms, two of which...

Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

We've visited the Lakes lots of times and we always enjoy coming back. We booked Oakfold House with a great deal on booking.com. The drive down was quite concerning as it was the weekend after the floods, and heavy snow was forecast. We struggled to get into the Lakes with many roads closed, however we rang OakFold house and they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennie B
Kelsterbach, Germany
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Max and Marnie were very friendly hosts. They gave us valuable information about activities in Windermere and good restaurants. The interior of the house is very beautiful with light colors and thick carpets. Our room was comfortable, very clean and the English breakfast was generous. We would like to come again in summer time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sabrina790
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Unfortunately we couldn't give top marks as cleanliness left a lot to be desired. We were in the Superior Room 2 and after pointing out to the hosts that there was thick dust on and at the sides of a picture, plus cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, this was not addressed. The blinds had mould on them and the kettle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank woodseaves
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the room did not live up to expectations. You raised an issue with us at breakfast advising that the there was dust behind the picture frame, cobwebs on the ceiling and the shower head was dropping too low. You did not mention the other cleaning issues that you have now...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.7 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,698 reviews
0.8 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
527 reviews
1.8 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
908 reviews
0.9 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
443 reviews
0.3 km away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Oakfold House

Address: Oakfold Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: RM338 - RM650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakfold House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oakfold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakfold House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Oakfold House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oakfold House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Godd hotel for visiting the lake”
 of 5 bubbles JohnJ117, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely, however if you don't have the best mobility book the room on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Sarah2587, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My room location was perfect: ground level, next to the gorgeous breakfast room. The stairs to other rooms are carpeted, so take off your wet shoes if your room is upstairs!”
 of 5 bubbles anns756, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Family room sleeps 3. All other rooms sleep 1 or 2. 8 rooms in total.”
 of 5 bubbles 704julie, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed quiet, ample space and all amenities provided.”
 of 5 bubbles pollypearlr, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay