We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairway Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$92*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$92*
US$92*
US$92*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairway Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fairway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016

The Fairway hotel is located just a short walk away from Sandscale Beach in the South Lakes. As we entered the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and was asked whether we wanted to order a morning paper with stay over 2 nights to be told each morning that they were unable to get a newspaper?? Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZaZa210684
fairway01, Receptionist at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I can only apologise that you did not receive a paper after requesting one and this has been brought to the attention of all staff for the future. If you were to visit the area, we hope you'd consider staying at the...

Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a stop over as I was going the south lakes zoo. Didn't expect much but the staff are really friendly and the hotel is clean. The reason for the rating is when 15 of our friends came back with us after the zoo for a meal the team where amazing, 8 adults and 8 kids ranging...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
fairway01, Receptionist at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm glad we managed to exceed your expectations for your stay. We will pass your comments onto our front of house team. We hope you would consider staying with us in the future. Kind Regards, Rebecca

Duns, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016

The hotel was very nice although a little bit dated. Clean room but the mattress was very uncomfortable. The young lady on reception was a new employee and very helpful. The breakfast was good and would suit most people, if you require gluten free you should give the staff at least 24 hours notice. The room for the wedding was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
fairway01, Receptionist at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Thank you for your lovely review and comments. We hope we can welcome you back to the Fairway in the future. Kind Regards, Rebecca.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Really had a relaxing stay here just for a couple of nights. The staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. it made a great base for us to see the Lakes and plan to go back very soon. Breakfasts set us up for the day for fell walking!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
fairway01, Receptionist at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our breakfasts! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairway in the near future. Kind Regards, Rebecca

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Well what can I say, this hotel and staff are amazing, we came for our wedding but the girls all had a meal the night before, some had the venison burgers who said we're amazing, the steak was beautiful as well. Then on our day it went without a hitch, suzy was amazing and helped us all weekend. The wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sassylou5
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your big day with us and that it was everything you dreamed it would be. We are glad to have exceeded expectations. It was my pleasure to be on hand throughout your special day. Kind Regards, Suzanne Bennett

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights here. Best English breakfast in a hotel. Not greasy at all and HOT. The finger food at the wake was delicious especially the sausage rolls. I don't eat them but family was telling me to try them. I am so glad I did. Big room and firm comfy bed. What more could you ask for, good food,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
fairway01, Receptionist at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the chef and the front of house team. We hope to welcome you back to the Fairway in the future. Kind Regards, Rebecca

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Stayed here whilst on business near by. Hotel very nice and clean, comfy bed, and everything you would need with nice view from my room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was ok. expensive for what you got as portion sizes were very small. Good bar with sky TV is a plus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruceyb28
fairway01, Receptionist at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry you found our portion sizes small, we do have some guests who think they are too big and we are currently trying to work to balance this. We hope to welcome you to the Fairway in the near...

Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

I was trying to avoid for my review but i recieved email every single day for my review. Hotal was realy nice and clean staff are realy nice. But i gave 3 star coz there is 1 chef in 1st night he was realy rude.i ask him warm my 3 years old son food but he refused its ok i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syed A
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was informed of the incident in the restaurant on the night you arrived, and yes we did have to refuse to warm your sons KFC meal up for him. As a hotel we cannot take responsibility for food bought elsewhere and warmed up here, if your son had become...

Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Stayed here overnight for a wedding, the rooms were very clean and the same could be said about the hotel overall, however when we got in the room, there was several pieces of the furniture damaged and were basically cheap MDF construction. For the price paid I would've expected a much higher quality of both furnishings and furniture. Hence only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulRobo
fairway01, Receptionist at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall with us. All furniture throughout the hotel has been purchased through Stollers furniture world and is German manufactured. If previous guests have damaged the room furniture, due to where it has been purchased and its origin, it can not be...

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2016

I stayed here for a few weeks and found it to be very pleasant. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The y menu, though a bit limited did offer some variety but twice they had run out of a steak but quickly offered a better quality one at no additional cost. Breakfast were really tasty and plentiful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oldhamman
fairway01, Receptionist at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for you taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our menu is limited, as everything is cooked fresh to order, but this is something we will look into. I'm sorry that the steak you ordered was out of stock, but glad to know the problem was quickly rectified....

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrow-in-Furness
4.8 km away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
481 reviews
5.0 km away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
320 reviews
5.1 km away
Ambrose Hotel
Ambrose Hotel
#11 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
391 reviews
2.4 km away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
682 reviews
1.7 km away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Address: Hawthwaite Lane, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 4QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Barrow-in-Furness
Price Range: RM414 - RM474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairway Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Fairway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the hotel is in a quiet location”
834donaldl, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There was a lot of us and nobody had a bad word to say about the rooms.”
Bunions, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Good views from most rooms and quiet”
normanp988, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As its in a quiet location don't think it matters too much”
oscarpops, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“get any room all have view”
AlokM386, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$92* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$92
LateRooms.comUS$92
Agoda.comUS$92
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates