We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Barnstaple Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Barnstaple Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,047 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barnstaple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,039: English reviews
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Just returned from 6 day holiday stay. Barnstable is not your typical West Country holiday resort, very much a commercial town. The hotel is therefore very well suited for business travellers and conferences, and offers all the facilities one would expect. These facilities also make it pleasant change for holiday makers to the chintz of some traditional tourist hotels. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kpg334
BrendHotels, Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, it is lovely to know that everything from the staff to the facilities were of such a high standard that you extended your stay. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed at this hotel and found that the moment we arrived the Service was excellent. The staff were all friendly and and hotel was clean . We had dinner while we were there it was the best steak The location although was in a industrial place it was perfect for places to visit and walking distance from the city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harjinder-kauf
BrendHotels, Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for the 5 stars. It is great to have your recommendation and to know that you found the staff and service so exemplary. I will pass on your comments regarding the steak to our executive chef. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

somerset
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Very much enjoyed our stay at the Barnstable hotel, comfortable beds rooms, we had a family room childrens beds being zbeds but we're fine for the children, we stayed in room 52. Pools were very nice and warm. Very good breakfast enjoyed by us all. Staff could not have been more helpful. We paid £102 which we felt very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jesser76
BrendHotels, Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for the 5 stars. It is great that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us, we are pleased you found the staff so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Devon
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The function room was cool and pleasant and the hotel served an excellent buffet. The remainder of the hotel was unbearably hot....bar, corridors and rooms were all too hot for comfort...This hotel is in need of a/c in the bedrooms where sleep was virtually impossible due to the heat. Windows only had very restricted opening....Seagulls screamed constantly day and night.......horrendous.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SmilerDevon
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Such a lovely hotel, staff all lovely and very helpful, beds are so so comfortable, and rooms very clean! me and my partner had a wonderful experience as last minute book in, was supposed to fly abroad but all fell through sadly, but all staff at this hotel made our stay perfect. Also affordable and breakfast was delicious 😀 A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerrsweetcheeks
BrendHotels, Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that your stay here was an enjoyable one and made up for your overseas holiday falling through. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our hotel manager. We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Was not happy to see Bill board outside hotel advertising rooms for £38 per night when I had been charged over £100. Staff are very friendly and do their best. I didn't realise pools were part of health club for locals so always quite busy so I didn't use them. Would never pay higher price to stay here again....not worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathydelacroix
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, our promotional board out the front is based on per person per night and room only in our signature rooms during the summer so £76.00 for two people. You had booked in a garden court room which is an superior room during the summer months and you had booked bed and breakfast which...

Littlehampton
Reviewed 24 July 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay last week.The hotel is first class, the rooms were clean and the bathroom spotless as usual. We were there during the mini heatwave and enjoyed sitting out on the balcony overlooking the pool in the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DerekBly
BrendHotels, Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is lovely that once again you and your wife had a first class stay with us, and brought the weather with you! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Standards are set and maintained, Staff helpful and pleasant The food ,breakfast,dinner was very good and clean plates afterwards confirmed this. The room was kept in a lean and tidy state every day. The seating area, with low leather chairs and difficult to move, limited leg room and the area not quit enough for a read,another location needed because we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian_brian2
BrendHotels, Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for the 5 stars. We are delighted that once again you have enjoyed your stay with us. Also thank you for your suggestions regarding our seating area, we are on a continuous refurbishment programme so all feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in...

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Nice hotel, shame about the location (nothing to be done about this) we overlooked the bowling alley, and it's on a semi-industrial estate. The reception was nice, but for me it smelt like people had been smoking in there for decades and it's inside the wood panelling. They try and hide this with fresh flowers but the combination of these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beverleya209
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and staff while staying here at The Barnstaple Hotel. We do have our pool view and garden court rooms which have views of our outdoor pool and garden area, perhaps if you do return, these rooms might be the better option for you. I have passed...

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Old, pass its sell-by-date. Arrived at night, found mould in wardrobes and drawers damp! Coughing through out the night. Changed rooms next day, wardrobe ok, but damp smell through out. Needs lots of refurbishment! Situated in an industrial area didn't help with sea gulls making lots of noise and mess! Will not stay again nor recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 107rene
BrendHotels, Darrell Spry - Deputy Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, It was myself that dealt with your room move when it was brought to our attention. Unfortunately any location near the coast will have problems with sea gulls especially in this warm weather, however we do try to prevent the sea gulls through various methods including having a...

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.9 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
456 reviews
1.5 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,321 reviews
1.3 km away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
10.9 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,593 reviews
14.1 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barnstaple Hotel: The Barnstaple Hotel is just a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque market town of Barnstaple, and only ten minutes drive from the stunning North Devon coast. Stylish and contemporary, and with an easy, friendly atmosphere, the hotel is ideal for family holidays with its spacious bedrooms around the pool. Businessmen, too, choose it as a comfortable and convenient venue for conferences and meetings. And if you're planning a wedding, you can be sure of the perfect day of your dreams. Recently refurbished and expanded, the Barnstaple Hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Use it as a base for exploring North Devon's attractions and beauty spots. You'll soon feel at home! North Devon's premier health and leisure centre: The superb new Health and Leisure Club - North Devon's finest - offers you heated indoor and outdoor pools, a high-tech gym, and a range of soothing alternative therapies and treatments. The ideal conference venue. With its easy access to North Devon's major road and rail links, the Barnstaple Hotel is a convenient location for business meetings. We can do everything to make your conference a success, whether it's small seminar or a gathering of up to 350.Your delegates will appreciate the well-equipped conferences rooms, the luxury en-suite accommodation, and the delicious food. When you choose the Barnstaple Hotel for your business meeting you'll have all the advantages of a metropolitan venue with the added glories of the North Devon coast nearby. So why not combine business with pleasure? A family holiday to remember: You and your family can enjoy ten-pin bowling and thrilling go-karting nearby. Within a short drive you'll find golden sandy beaches, theme and farm parks - everything, in fact, to keep your children busy and happy. And the beaches at Saunton and Croyde, with their surf schools, are close by. The Tarka Trail cycle path runs alongside the hotel - why not hire a bike and cycle beside the river to Bideford or Braunton? And with the beautiful Exmoor National Park nearby, you can go wild in the country - it's just a short drive away! Banquets and functions: The Barnstaple Hotel is perfect for celebrations and parties, from small intimate occasions with a simple buffet to extravagant banquets for 300 guests. Our experienced team will be delighted to advise you. Your North Devon Wedding: At The Barnstaple Hotel we take care of absolutely everything to make sure that your special day runs smoothly and successfully. And as well as hosting your wedding reception, we can offer the Arlington Suite or the Ashford Suite if you are arranging a civil marriage ceremony. Our dedicated wedding planner will be on hand to help you make all the right decisions, down to the smallest detail. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnstaple Hotel

Address: Braunton Road, Barnstaple EX31 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Price Range: RM347 - RM556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barnstaple Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Greater London, United Kingdom
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Barnstaple Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd gently recommend the first floor - ground floor where I stayed was a bit low on privacy. No big deal though, if you're used to US motels.”
 of 5 bubbles Jonathan167, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bray suite very nice ”
 of 5 bubbles farrellfamily2014, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from the laundry delivery area which was very noisy quite early in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles Jules1997, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good size room very clean. Overlooking pool very noisey. Pool lights on all night very bright in room”
 of 5 bubbles G5740JAlynnh, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not overlooking the industrial units unless your happy for an early wake up call”
 of 5 bubbles Claire777, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay