We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Barnstaple Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Barnstaple Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,071 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barnstaple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,063: English reviews
Barnstaple
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Good facilities and will organised. A busy hotel that does things properly. The beds were comfy and room and bathroom clean. It was nice to use the outside pool, would have liked it to be open earlier so we could get on our way but warm and clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 906lindof
BrendHotels, Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your kind comments regarding the efficient running of the hotel. I apologise if you felt the outdoor pool should have been opened earlier, weather permitting we aim to open it at 8.am, due to the process required to prepare the pool for opening, unfortunately we can not...

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Five of us cyclists stayed for 5 nights. Very comfortable rooms. Great food. Comfortable lounge area and bar. Lovely indoor and outdoor staff. Locked garage to safely secure our bikes. Helpful well trained staff. A super stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
BrendHotels, Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for the 5 stars. We are delighted to hear you and your party had an enjoyable stay with us and found our staff so helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Central Beds
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Booked a long weekend to attend local family wedding and were looked after very well. Car parking is spacious and near reception. Ground floor room near pools (indoor and outdoor), reception, bar and dining was really useful as I have mobility problems. Indoor pool ideal for hydrotherapy exercises and used twice. Meals were superb, especially the wide choice at breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
BrendHotels, Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are really pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, I will pass on your comments to all departments. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Yummy Roast of the day , Roast Beef with gluten free gravy and wait for it - gluten free Yorkshires. No asking or begging- all done as if I was a 'normal' guest - oh how refreshing! Then , because I deserved it a delicious dessert Trio of Peaches- what Mother half way through the holidays doesn't need a treat!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank surfercazzie
BrendHotels, Heard Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us, our chef's are always happy to accommodate guests who have any dietary requirements. I will pass on your comments to them, I am sure they will be pleased to hear that The Trio of Peaches helped relieve...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We love this hotel. Located in Barnstaple town - but very handy for travelling not very far to local beaches and towns etc. The hotel is beautiful and very well maintained, We used the inside and outside pool on numerous occasions. You can tell that the Brend Group invest well in their properties and their staff are very friendly but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
BrendHotels, Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for your recommendation. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our hotel manager. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This was the 3rd time I have stayed in this hotel for work trips with one being slightly longer for a weekend away. I cannot fault the level of good customer service across the whole hotel from reception, bar, restaurant and room servicing. Rooms were clean and very comfortable with good equipment such as a decent hairdryer, a fan, iron...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne_solanki
BrendHotels, Senior Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for the 5 stars. We are delighted that once again you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments onto all our departments, especially the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Although Hotel was full and very busy with Wedding reception, the staff were very helpful. Lovely warm outside Pool. As the weather was good no need to use the indoor pool. Excellent 3 course meal with wide choice in each course. In the evening. Good discounts for anyone choosing just 1 or 2 courses. Room was quiet. A fridge would...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V7956JCbobh
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful. I have passed the comments on to maintenance about the shower. We do have a fridge available to be put in rooms upon request, if you do stay with us again please speak to our receptionist who...

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Had a stop-over in Barnstaple and booked on line, so hoping for a reasonable bed for the night. We were not disappointed, the room was large and airy with all the facilities required for an overnight stop.Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and freshly cooked.The staff were all very friendly and helpful and catered for our every need.I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank penlivi39
BrendHotels, Senior Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This is a very well-run hotel with pleasant and helpful staff. However there were two weddings during our stay which had a very negative impact as our rooms were facing the reception and garden area used by the wedding guests. It spoilt what was an otherwise successful trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am pleased to hear you found our staff pleasant and helpful. I am very sorry that you were disrupted by the weddings, we do always tell our guests if we have a function that we think may affect there stay via noise so they can make a choice...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Food and service excellent but allocation of rooms was awful. We took several rooms but, despite asking, a number of our rooms were allocated in the section that overlooked the pool area and were near to the function room. Two weddings over the weekend mean little sleep for a number of our party.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank con_clapham
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am very pleased to read you enjoyed the food and service. I am sorry that you were not happy with the room allocation. Having looked into your booking i can see that you was informed on booking that their might be noise disruption due to functions being held...

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.9 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
474 reviews
1.5 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,372 reviews
1.3 km away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
10.9 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,631 reviews
14.1 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barnstaple Hotel: The Barnstaple Hotel is just a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque market town of Barnstaple, and only ten minutes drive from the stunning North Devon coast. Stylish and contemporary, and with an easy, friendly atmosphere, the hotel is ideal for family holidays with its spacious bedrooms around the pool. Businessmen, too, choose it as a comfortable and convenient venue for conferences and meetings. And if you're planning a wedding, you can be sure of the perfect day of your dreams. Recently refurbished and expanded, the Barnstaple Hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Use it as a base for exploring North Devon's attractions and beauty spots. You'll soon feel at home! North Devon's premier health and leisure centre: The superb new Health and Leisure Club - North Devon's finest - offers you heated indoor and outdoor pools, a high-tech gym, and a range of soothing alternative therapies and treatments. The ideal conference venue. With its easy access to North Devon's major road and rail links, the Barnstaple Hotel is a convenient location for business meetings. We can do everything to make your conference a success, whether it's small seminar or a gathering of up to 350.Your delegates will appreciate the well-equipped conferences rooms, the luxury en-suite accommodation, and the delicious food. When you choose the Barnstaple Hotel for your business meeting you'll have all the advantages of a metropolitan venue with the added glories of the North Devon coast nearby. So why not combine business with pleasure? A family holiday to remember: You and your family can enjoy ten-pin bowling and thrilling go-karting nearby. Within a short drive you'll find golden sandy beaches, theme and farm parks - everything, in fact, to keep your children busy and happy. And the beaches at Saunton and Croyde, with their surf schools, are close by. The Tarka Trail cycle path runs alongside the hotel - why not hire a bike and cycle beside the river to Bideford or Braunton? And with the beautiful Exmoor National Park nearby, you can go wild in the country - it's just a short drive away! Banquets and functions: The Barnstaple Hotel is perfect for celebrations and parties, from small intimate occasions with a simple buffet to extravagant banquets for 300 guests. Our experienced team will be delighted to advise you. Your North Devon Wedding: At The Barnstaple Hotel we take care of absolutely everything to make sure that your special day runs smoothly and successfully. And as well as hosting your wedding reception, we can offer the Arlington Suite or the Ashford Suite if you are arranging a civil marriage ceremony. Our dedicated wedding planner will be on hand to help you make all the right decisions, down to the smallest detail. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barnstaple Hotel

Address: Braunton Road, Barnstaple EX31 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Price Range: RM329 - RM578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barnstaple Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Greater London, United Kingdom
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Barnstaple Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Turn all heaters on.”
 of 5 bubbles maxc5561, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the larger the room number the quieter the room”
 of 5 bubbles mick064, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They know there market”
 of 5 bubbles janew151, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We attended a Christmas Party at this hotel er did not stay.”
 of 5 bubbles petermE9911FK, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Keep the bathroom door open during the night otherwise it will be freezing in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Andyromfordfeb2016, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay