We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
View Map
{"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 364: English reviews
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you put your name to a chain of hotels etc you should regularly check the quality is suitable and you would use your own facilities and pay the money requested. Mr Bannatyne's Management should look at this hotel, it is tired and badly in need of some attention. The price I was offered was £ 65.00 for bed only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raymond b
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night on 19th November with my boyfriend for my 1 year anniversary. The main thing that attracted us to it was the Spa, which was included in the price of the hotel. I prebooked a treatment which then had to be cancelled and changed for something different due to an injury. They were more than happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly-Mae P
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Molly-Mae P, Thank you for taking the time to post a very positive review in relation to your recent spa break at our Bannatyne Resort, Durham. It is great that you were able to take advantage of and enjoy all areas of the facility except the cafe bar as a result of a function, and that Colin and Jonathan...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Should have known better when we were greeted at checkin by a drunk guest with no shoes trying to borrow a phone to call his girlfriend because his had no charge on his phone. Then the room was just ok despite it saying 'quality' on the website but the best thing was the shower that had a nice feature of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Craig S, Thank you for sharing your review with regards to your recent stay. I am sorry that you found a problem with the water pressure whilst staying. The issue was due to a pressure vessel failing. This has now been rectified. The fault could not have been rectified by a plumber on the evening when reported at 7.00pm...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms were dirty, stained walls and dirty bathroom. The bed was so soft it gave me such a bad back, no happy medium. The bathroom was interesting. The shower was large but the loo was right next to the door making moving about difficult as the door is cms from your elbow. Breakfast was interesting too. It promotes health...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shonamarona
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Shonamarona, Thank you for taking the time to share your post with regards to your recent stay. I am surprised that you have stated that your room was dirty and that you found the bathroom to be ‘interesting’. We normally receive positive comments about the room size and bathroom facilities especially our large walkin powerful showers. I am sorry...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here one night. The hotel seems to be on the edge of a retail park with not many leisure opportunities close by. The staff were all great, smiles and a chat to be had from all of them after a hard day on the grindstone. The room was large and warm. Couple of things were broken . Toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne186262
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Anne186262, Thank you for sharing your comments with regards to your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am pleased that you found the bathroom to be better than other budget Hotels and that you found the Hotel team to be great, smiley and chatty. The Hotel is situated on the outskirts of the Beautiful City of Durham and...

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here this weekend for the night and had a lovely time. The room was modern, clean and spacious. The bed was huge and very comfy. We used the jacuzzi, pool, steam room and sauna as this was all included in the price. We paid just £46 that was for the two of us for an over night stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gayleannegib
ManagementResponse02, PA to CEO at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Thank you for your e mail. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Bannatyne Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you next time, and hope we can exceed your expectations.

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

stayed here for 1 night , excellent value for money, we like a hotel with a gym & spa and city centre hotels like this one would be a fortune, lovely very helpful accommodating staff from the onset ! A1 to them all . rooms have everything you need , tv hairdryer, kettle & supplies, self regulating heating, ,we caught...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trace627
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear trace627, Thank you for sharing your very positive review regarding your recent visit to Bannatyne Resort Durham. I am very happy that you found the Resort to be excellent value for money with perfect staff and that you found the time to enjoy complimentary use of the Health Clubs facilities. Many of our guests choose to use the local...

Stanley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Brilliant spa and hotel, visited multiple times. Would recommend for relaxing weekend away. Staff all very nice and helpful. Reasonably priced rooms for all that's included (spa and gym). Love, love, love.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexissam
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear alexissam, Thank you for taking the time to share your very positive review with regards to your recent visit to Bannatyne Resort Durham. I am very pleased that you loved your relaxing weekend away and that you found the staff to be professional and helpful. The team and I look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Matthew Emery...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The fault is the building , it is like sleeping in a cardboard box , you can here every noise , You get use of the health club which was nicer than the Hotel . The Hotel elevator seemed dodgy and internal noise and vibration not very pleasant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Alan C, Thank you for sharing your review with regards to your recent visit to Bannatyne Hotel. I am sorry that you were not happy with the Building and that you could hear noise. It is great that your enjoyed complimentary use of the Health Club and enjoyed it. I would suggest your comment is personal to you and...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Came for a spa day for my friends birthday and I must say it was a lovely day. The warm tables were amazing and very relaxing. My massage was perfect, she listened to exactly what I wanted. My only criticism is the pool area as it's a little small, you have to be in the water, sauna or jacuzzi as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicki w
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear vicki_a_w_13, Thank you for staying at Bannatyne Hotel Durham recently and enjoying a spa break with us and for posting a positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the spa to be very relaxing and your treatments were perfect. I am sorry you found the pool a bit small, hopefully the next time you...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham
2.6 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
1.6 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: RM283 - RM373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bannatyne Hotel Durham staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
SUNDERLAND TYNE AND WEAR ENGLAND
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
rose farm
5 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Bannatyne Hotel Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think they would all be noisy from guests walking along corridor”
 of 5 bubbles E1884MZalanc, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I assume rooms at the front would be quieter as I could hear low level traffic, husband said he couldn't!”
 of 5 bubbles LauraLou_11, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem equally good - there is a lift and 24 hour staffed reception”
 of 5 bubbles ivorrickwood, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any would be suitable as hotel quiet”
 of 5 bubbles MargiS_12, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Car park side quieter - road noise if you open windows”
 of 5 bubbles SeonsD, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay