We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Torbay Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Torbay Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Torbay Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

The torbay sands far exeeded my expectations. A warm welcome was accompanied with a free drink on arrival. Was shown to my room in no time. Spotlessly clean, modern in design. As a solo traveler who booked in late I didn't get a sea view room but for the low price I paid I was more than impressed with my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
Louise J, Owner at The Torbay Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet you. Regards Louise

southampton
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Small quiet hotel which in my opinion allows the owner time to value the customer. A very warm welcome, large freshly cooked breakfast while over looking the sea and clean rooms. Couldn't ask for more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redskinrog
Louise J, Owner at The Torbay Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, much appreciated. Regards Louise

A TripAdvisor Member
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

A beautiful en suite room. With a stunning sea view. Owner Louise can't do enough for you, not only do you get a complimentary drink on arrival but everything is very reasonably priced. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was clean, bright and comfortable. Shower smallish but adequate!! All in all a stunning location with stunning staff 10/10

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Louise J, Owner at The Torbay Sands Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you both and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Louise

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Really lovely hotel. Room was well appointed with crisp white linen and fluffy towels. Plenty big enough for myself and my son for our nights stay. The view was amazing despite the awful weather. Staff very welcoming and friendly Breakfast was hearty and hot. The dining room also had an amazing view and u just love all the vintage crockery....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
Louise J, Owner at The Torbay Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, I am so glad you enjoyed the stay despite the storm! Regards Louise

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for three night here and can't praise it enough. Situated overlooking Preston Sands in a quiet cul-de -sac it has stunning sea views. The room was well presented and clean with plenty of storage and a very comfortable be. Breakfast was delicious with plenty to choose from and always piping hot,the staff were very friendly and efficient. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sassysue59
Louise J, Owner at The Torbay Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, what a lovely review! Regards Louise

Belper, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed bank holiday weekend for my partner's birthday. We had our two dogs with us. The staff were very welcoming. My partner is a vegetarian - well catered for at breakfast! The positioning of the hotel was excellent - only a short walk into Paignton and well situated for visiting other local places (recommend brixham, Dartmouth, cockington, babbacombe). We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayehowells
Louise J, Owner at The Torbay Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you...what a lovely review! Regards Louise

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Stunning location and views. Louise the owner is very welcoming and a superb host who made my first visit to Paignton very memorable. I sat on the terrace in the evening (with my dog and a great Chardonnay) enjoying the stunning views (and great WIFI watching Celebrity Big Brother live eviction!) and listening to the lapping of the sea which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drez999
Louise J, Owner at The Torbay Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet you both! Regards Louise

b23 6tx
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I booked here very last minute and looked forward to my stay seeing all the good reviews and I wasn't disappointed! Louise was so welcoming which was great as its quite lonely when travelling alone at times. The room was clean and had exactly what I needed for my stay the bed was so comfy I slept so well! Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brummielondoner
Louise J, Owner at The Torbay Sands Hotel, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure to meet you and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Louise

Reviewed 14 August 2016

On arrival we were checked into a room with a lovely sea view despite not booking one, a pleasant surprise. While out exploring however we received a phone call to be told we'd have to move rooms as we had been checked into the wrong room. On returning to the hotel we found we have been moved to the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewenorman
Louise J, Owner at The Torbay Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I am so sorry you were checked in to the wrong room, you booked a standard double and were shown a triple sea view room so clearly a mistake had been made. It was because we had two guests with the same (fairly unusual) surname and were short staffed! When I called you it seemed you were fine with...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Torbay sands, we only stopped for one night but we will definitely stay here again. There is a really friendly atmosphere at the hotel and this is created by the staff and owner, who are all very helpful and pleasant. We were in the area seeing some sights so needed an overnight stop,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2martin2
Louise J, Owner at The Torbay Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay albeit brief! Look forward to seeing you again I hope. Regards Louise

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.1 km away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
259 reviews
2.1 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paignton
289 reviews
1.0 km away
Blue Waters Lodge
Blue Waters Lodge
#2 of 101 in Paignton
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#32 of 101 in Paignton
93 reviews
1.6 km away
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ashleigh Guesthouse
#13 of 101 in Paignton
131 reviews
1.6 km away
Merritt House
Merritt House
#8 of 101 in Paignton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel is right on the sea front with spectacular views of Torbay there is also lots of free parking outside the hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Torbay Sands Hotel

Address: 16 Marine Parade | Preston Sea Front, Paignton TQ3 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: RM293 - RM559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Torbay Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torbay Sands Hotel Paignton, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Torbay Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms are well worth the small charge.”
 of 5 bubbles RumblesBird04, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms have truly stunning views!”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sea view room a must!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles andrewenorman, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view, however your stay will still be great without this.”
 of 5 bubbles 2martin2, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room 9 family room stunning views room 4 a lot cooler near back of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles clingonshave, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5