We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Torland Hotel

Save
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good28%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mini suite”(2 reviews)
“children's room”(2 reviews)
“no lift”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
30
14
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
30
14
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini suitechildren's roomno liftbunk bedsshower roomshort breakcar parktea coffeestayed for nightsenjoyed our staya lovely staytown centrefull englishsea viewchrisseafrontlounge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here easter week a lovely friendley hotel breakfast good room clean host very polite near to all amenties would definatley stay again not many people in hotel but the breakfast was cooked fresh every day and came and went at will

Thank julie h
Response from TorlandHotel, Owner at The Torland HotelResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review ,so pleased you enjoyed your stay we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Paignton

Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Last minute trip for 4 of us ,Chris was very accommodating for us and breakfast (full English ) was exceptional to say the least , we had a txt before we left home to let us know how cold it was so we could pack...More

Thank Karen H
Response from TorlandHotel, Owner at The Torland HotelResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you for your review it was a pleasure to meet you so glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewed 23 January 2018

I use the Torland Hotel regularly for my business trips in Devon. A small family run hotel with a 5 star feel. The breakfast is one thing not to miss out on. Proper food and a pot of tea. What better way to start your...More

1  Thank boatjustro
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Torland 3 nights This place is on a busy road small amount of parking but it’s free so that’s good and on arrival didn’t look too bad. Once In reception I could see it’s looking a bit dated and like the owners don’t want to...More

Thank Mole I
Response from TorlandHotel, Manager at The Torland HotelResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for your review we take reviews very seriously. Firstly you said we have a small car park we have 5 spaces at the front of the hotel and 6 in the back car park all free parking, next you complained about dog odour...More

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Very friendly family run hotel. A few minutes walk to the town centre, for pubs, shops, railway station, attractions, etc. Located on quite a busy road, the front having sea views, possibly a little noisy, but I had a top floor room to the rear...More

Thank Cozenssmith
Response from TorlandHotel, Owner at The Torland HotelResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your review so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$90 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$90 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ronnieedw123
2 August 2017|
Answer
Response from jean r | Reviewed this property |
I'm sure there must be rooms with sea view because it is on a hill but, as we were at the back, we only had a view of the car park. This didn't bother us in the least because the family do work very hard to make it... More
1
Vote
Yvonne H
9 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lesley M | Reviewed this property |
There's no bar. When I went there they allowed you to bring in your own drink and they were happy to provide glasses.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Front rooms have sea views. Back rooms are quiet."
Read review
"If not too mobile there is a back room on the ground floor, next to the car park. Not for wheelchair users"
Read review
"If stairs are a problem, ask for room one. It is on ground floor and large."
Read review
"Room 6 is a family room for three with double and single beds, although the ensuite is very cramped"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing