We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rowborough Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanklin
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Rowborough Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 194: English reviews
Start your review of Rowborough Hotel
 Click to rate
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just had 5 days at the Rowbrough hotel with our 2 small dogs Michelle Caroline & Brian made us feel very welcome .The Rowbrough is very pet friendly hotel and the dogs loved the stay as well as us we will definitely stay again next time we are on the island .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank emma m
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Emma for yet another lovely review. It is always a pleasure to have you all here, especially Marley and Cass. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes from Michelle, Caroline & Brian.

London, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 7 March 2017

This is definitely one of the best small hotels I have ever stayed in. Its spotlessly clean, the owners (Michelle, Caroline & Brian) are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is high quality, the rooms are bright and clean, beds very comfortable and rooms well stocked, overall the complete package. And its good value as well! Planning another trip later in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James A
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review

Praise indeed James, thank you very much! At The Rowborough we strive to offer all our guests 5 star quality and service but without the 5 star price tag and we are delighted that you found this to be so. The best recommendation for us is when our guests want to return, so we look forward to seeing you again...

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent guest house with good food. The owners very friendly and helpful. It was in a great location close to town and the beach. Our rooms were clean and bright. Our puppy Lottie loved it too ! We will definitely return and would recommend it to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viv7264
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you writing us this review. We are delighted that you had a good experience whilst staying with us and now feel able to recommend us to others. It was a pleasure to meet you all especially Lottie on her first holiday to the Island and we look forward to you staying with us again the next time you come...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Rowborough for 2 nights and was a little worried as we always stayed at another little hotel for many years but due to the family selling up plus some sad news from our friends who owned it i couldn't go back ,but to our delight we found the perfect place with Brian,Caroline and Michelle they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anitajean
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anita, Dave & Molly, Thank you so much for writing us this lovely review. We are aware how hard it was for you to find another hotel on the Island where you would feel at home and we are so glad we were able to make you feel that way. We very much look forward to you visiting us...

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you all for the wonderful stay we had at your very comfortable hotel, you made us so welcome and couldn't do enough for us. Everything was so clean and the breakfasts very satisfying. Michelle was worried that Eric wasn't eating enough but he is a poor eater so she made sure his boiled eggs each morning were done to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericrichards2017
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing us this wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and feel able to recommend us to your friends. Caroline is certainly missing Tash so she better bring her humans back again soon!! We look forward to that day very much... Kind Regards to you all from Michelle, Caroline &...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a great place. Michelle and Caroline meet all your needs and couldn't be more helpful from booking and arranging our ferry to amusing our daughter at breakfast. Clean, comfortable and in a great position in Shanklin. I'll be amazed if you don't enjoy your stay here! Give it a go!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and wonderful recommendation. We are delighted that you have taken the trouble to convey your experience of your stay at The Rowborough especially as we have noticed it is the first review you have done. We certainly hope it will not be your only visit to the Island or The Rowborough and look forward...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There a number of pointers we look for when deciding to stay at holiday accommodation, all of which were easily met or even surpassed by the two wonderful ladies who looked after us so well, namely Caroline and Michelle. First things first, we were impressed by the warm welcome we received, especially the care and attention shown to our uncle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobPortsmouth2012
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. It was our pleasure to meet you and we are delighted that you all felt so welcome. It is always our intention that our guests feel 'at home' at The Rowborough and we never consider that the service we give is anything special, only what is deserved. We are pleased you...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a brilliant weekend in the Isle of Wight. We booked with Red Funnel ferries where I managed to find a gem of a B&B called the Rowborough Hotel in Shanklin. On arrival we were greeted by Caroline who was immediately friendly, genuine and welcoming. Michelle then joined us for a quick chat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twizzle12
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gill & Steve, Thank you for writing us this lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first trip to the Island and we hope it will not be the last! We are so pleased you feel able to recommend us so highly and that you were happy with the hospitality you received. We look forward to welcoming...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Decided on this hotel ater reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the food of a high quality. Breakfasts were cooked to our individual preferences and we ate in for 2 evening meals, but wished that we had booked more. The owners are very friendly and attentive and the chef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynandfamily2017
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lyn & Family, Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are delighted that you found other people's experiences of our hotel that you read on Trip Advisor to be true and that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are always pleased when our guests leave feeling that they are able to recommend us...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Great stay at the Rowborough hotel, Michelle & Caroline made us feel very welcome. We had a lovely sized room very clean beds very comfortable. Fantastic breakfast every morning ( especially Michelle's poached eggs ) Caroline would give us great tips on where to go on the island after breakfast, which was very helpful. If I go back to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmare77wright
Michelle T, Owner at Rowborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing us such a glowing review. It was our pleasure to have you and your family here and we are delighted that you enjoy our hospitality and the Island. We hope you will return to the Island again one day where we will be pleased to see you again at The Rowborough. Hope you have...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
5.4 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
798 reviews
1.4 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.4 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
438 reviews
0.4 km away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
373 reviews
17.5 km away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Caroline, Michelle & Brian look forward to welcoming you to their hotel. The Rowborough built in 1873, is an imposing Victorian house set in beautiful gardens on the corner of Arthurs Hill and Wilton Park Road in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight. All 9 guest bedrooms are en-suite and offer modern facilities and comfort. The conservatory, guest lounge, bar and dining room are well maintained, tastefully furnished and this has attributed to its AA 4 star Silver award rating. The hotel is well located to the Island's main attractions as well as local bus and train links to the mainland.Family run and reasonably priced, The Rowborough offers first class service and hospitality in a 'home from home' environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rowborough Hotel

Address: 32 Arthurs Hill, Shanklin PO37 6EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: RM147 - RM182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Rowborough Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rowborough Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Rowborough Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are good”
598JamesA, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lovely sunny room .”
annshorney, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 9, ideal for three people”
paulnicholas2016, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ground floor”
johnhL2855CW, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The ground floor caters for the disabled”
Dairymaid52, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5