We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Luccombe Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

778 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 776: English reviews
Start your review of Luccombe Hall Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel must have been incredible in its heyday but hasn't had anything done to it since I don't think. Rooms were tired and bathrooms basic, showers terrible only two holes allowing water out in my room and the ones in the leisure area are as bad. Pool area is grotty as is sauna. Food in the restaurant was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladylilylangtry
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights with friends who have been coming here for many years, this was our first visit and it was excellent. We had a superior sea view room and it certainly was!! Fantastic view, lovely ensuite, the room and bathroom were super clean and fresh, we had control over some of the heating which is always a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayfor4
birmingham
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a few days for Valentine's Day. We had been looking forward to the mini break away but have came away very disgusted and very disappointed. Firstly to add I booked this as a surprise for my fiancée and it wasn't anywhere near the standards we expected. The hotel is very run down and definitely needs refurbishing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aasshleyy
Luccombehall, General Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your recent stay with us. I do apologise that we did not live up to your expectations. During the period of your stay, it was February half term so we were mostly fully booked with families staying with us. I understand that the family above you did have 2...

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was one of the nicest and friendliest hotels we've stayed at. Staff couldn't have been more friendly, rooms comfortable, swimming pool a bonus and the whole place was freshly painted. Really handy for the beach, local shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iloughrey
Southampton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely 3 night break. The staff were brilliant and really looked after us. The hotel was ideal for our toddler -children's menu and high chairs available. She loved the indoor play area, trampoline, ball pit and swimming pool. Because the weather was cold, we only used the outdoor play area and steps right down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happy_dive_girl
stratford on avon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here with 2 friends on a 2 night break. The rooms were very comfortable and all the hotel was elegantly furnished. Breakfast was excellent but the evening meals were an experience. The choice was excellent and the presentation worthy of a 5 star hotel ! If you visit IOW this is the place to stay. My wife used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffangler
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a perfect anniversary break, made to feel very welcome. Food excellent, staff very friendly, nothing too much trouble, had a lovely room with a sea view room. Will definitely be returning soon. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
Redhill
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

4 night stay to celebrate our anniversary. We had a brilliant break. Cannot thank all the staff enough for making our stay so enjoyable. The food the room and view were amazing. We will definitely return soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickc_dennis
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great hotel, the staff were very friendly, Cathy a mine of information and Mike the waiter a charm. The hotel is an old house, it has quirky passages and lots of stairs. The food punches well above its weight in quality. The three night special which we had was very good value. Our room was a superior sea view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annie199
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Two night stay in executive room, very nice size, balcony provides a lovely view with whirlpool bath plus separate shower. Staff were very polite and attentive, hotel in a quiet location, at the top of Shanklin, but very close to beach access via the chine. Food good, great breakfast selection cooked and continental available.highly recommended. I'm a tiny bit disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H

447 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (208)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Standard Family (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin (27)
Viewed
Superior Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
744 reviews
3.5 km away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 31 in Sandown
690 reviews
11.7 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: RM431 - RM1,001 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#15 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Luccombe Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Addlestone, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Luccombe Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles mickc_dennis, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Superior sea view worth it”
 of 5 bubbles annie199, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 great size, sun trap for morning sun, breakfast in the conservatory a must!”
 of 5 bubbles B8159LIsuzanneh, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Look out over the sea”
 of 5 bubbles 650daves, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a room without sea view, which was fine. The view is best taken in over dinner in the attractive and comfortable dining room.”
 of 5 bubbles _ronessa_avg, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5