We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Havelock

Certificate of Excellence
13/06/2017 14/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Havelock
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Start your review of The Havelock
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay. Lovely staff where nothing is to much trouble. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The breakfast was stunning with fantastic local produce. I would recommend the havelock to anyone visiting the Isle of Wight. Dave and Ann thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Thanks to Laura for always making breakfast so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Dear David, Naomi and family Thank you for your lovely review, it was wonderful having you here staying with us, your were always happy and laughing, just great to have you all around. We'll pass your thanks on to Laura and hope to see you again soon. All the best to you all. Ann & Dave

Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived early and had no problem leaving our bags while we went exploring. It's in a great location not far from the beach and not far from the town pubs and restaurants. When we went back our room was ready room 22 beautiful sea view so peaceful lovely and clean very comfortable bed. The breakfast in the morning was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DJM802
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Dave & I would like to thank you for your very kind review and it sounds like you have lovely memories of your stay on the island. We continuously have such wonderful guests come to stay with us, like yourselves, it's a pleasure looking after everyone. So happy to hear that our breakfast room staff were their usually happy, chatty...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small guest house with great staff and excellent breakfasts. Rooms were a bit dated but very comfortable. Nice outside terrace and garden and just across the road literally to cliff walk and access to beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As soon as we walked in we were warmly greeted by Ann, Every evening we went into the lounge with our 8 year old daughter to play some games. Dave kept her occupied with his impossible puzzles. The breakfast staff were very friendly chatting with everyone. The hotel is spotless and ambiance amazing, We had a lovely holiday and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cath G
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Dear Cath and family Thank you for your lovely review, how lovely to hear that you all had good break with us and that you were well looked after by everyone throughout your stay. The outdoor pool will be open for the season shortly, so it's always worth a visit through the summer months, it's a real suntrap around the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bank Holiday weekend trip to the Isle of Wight. Stayed here because of all the reviews and we were not disappointed. The cost of the rooms are minimal but the value is high. For our money we received a fantastic bed, nice bathroom, view of the ocean (cold and wet so didnt use it...) and breakfast in the morning. Pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Hello Tom Many thanks for your generous review. It sounds like you had a lovely Bank holiday weekend all round! It was great to meet you both and we wish you all the best. Dave & Ann

Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Havelock, my husband and I travelling with my sister and 91year old dad. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival. As the hotel was fairly quiet this week there was a quick alteration to the rooms allocated to give dad a ground floor room amd my sister...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Dear Sue Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you all and so nice to hear that you enjoyed your time here on our lovely island. We'll pass your comments on to our staff who work hard to keep the rooms clean and tidy for us. Hoping to see you all again in the future. All...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Spent a very relaxing long weekend at The Havelock. Steve and Ann made the time spent very welcoming and home from home. The breakfast is superb with fresh homemade bread and Ann's homemade marmalades and jams. The beds are extremely comfortable and our room with balcony with sea view was excellent. We have stayed at a number of hotels in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suze224
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Orr Thank you very much for your kind review, it was lovely to meet you all and hope to catch up with you again sometime in the future. All the best. Dave & Ann.

Manchester
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed here for the beer and buses weekend. Hotel is excellent. Rooms were spacious and well equipped. The breakfast was perfect. Plenty of choice and well cooked food. The gardens of the hotel are lovely and even got the chance to sit out in them in the sun in October!! The hotel has a nice pool but this closes mid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ConcordeManchester
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write such a lovely review for us. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the Beer & vintage buses weekend, it was very popular and we've had lots of good feedback, it just seems to be getting bigger & bigger every year. Yes, the outdoor heated pool is only...

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Have been to the Havelock twice now and both times it's been fantastic. Lovely people and great rooms. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, all fresh and cooked to how you like. Will definitely be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharandAdam
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Hi Char & Adam Many thanks for your kind review. It's lovely to hear that both visits have been fantastic for you. We look forward to seeing you both again. Take care. Ann & Dave

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Recently had a 3 nights stay with my family for a small celebration, we had 4 rooms in all, they were all perfect. The breakfasts are amazing with so much choice and very well cooked. The waiting staff are lovely , so happy,friendly and obliging. The proprietors were so helpful at booking and during our stay, they could not do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanetMills21
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review

Hello Mrs Mills Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you all whilst you were celebrating your parents 60th wedding anniversary here, and to see your daughter and her boyfriend again a couple of days ago. We would love to see you all return again and wish you all 'All...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
13/06/2017 14/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
440 reviews
0.5 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
792 reviews
3.7 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
702 reviews
0.5 km away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#3 of 50 in Shanklin
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Havelock was originally built as a gentleman's residence and over the years has been sympathetically renovated and extended to provide a mixture of 22 superb bedrooms & family suites, 10 of our rooms also have sea views. Set in attractive gardens, near to the sea and with its own Mediterranean style heated outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September), we offer the ideal location to relax and unwind in friendly and comfortable surroundings at outstanding value. Open mid-March - November annually. Guest bar/lounge. Free WiFi available most rooms and bar/lounge area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Havelock

Address: 2 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: RM434 - RM522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Hotel Shanklin
The Havelock Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Havelock staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Balcony room with sea view”
O6653JIalanw, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“There are some great rooms on the 1st floor with Balconies - They looked nice”
688stephenw, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“excellent service and breakfast”
karengV7464RH, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had room 7 sea view with balcony”
Mel0253, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the hotel, rooms at the front look to have sea views.”
johnmillar, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates