We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Auckland Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Auckland Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 166: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We were on a Just Go coach trip. On arrival our cases were taken to our rooms, but on departure we had to carry our cases. Our room 211 was reached by two and half stair cases, no lifts in hotel. The room was cramped with the two seats against the wall under the tiny television. This room was nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TEL831
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your room. The chairs were removed from your room which you thanked us for, as you mentioned that you didn't want them there. But no complaints were made regarding the room or being located on the second floor. We have a lot of guests that request...

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

I stayed for four nights on a coach holiday, and after reading some reviews was a little worried. My room was very clean, I had a bath and shower, no complaints there, although I did ask for a non slip mat for in the bath. This was provided right away, so no problem. The staff were all friendly , helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anniemi2015
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your meals with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards

Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We have just returned from a five day trip to the Isle of Wight with National Holidays. This hotel is ideally located for the town centre, the old village and the seafront. There is a cliff lift nearby for those who can't manage slopes that is operational between 9.30 am and fairly late at night. The hotel are obviously running...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicky W
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room. We have never received complaints regarding this room before. If you required juice and cereal at breakfast time, all you had to do was ask a member of staff. If the bed wasn't made properly then it would have been useful to of...

Kent
Reviewed 2 September 2016

went to the Auckland on the 29th of August 2016 and when we got there they gave us our room keys and what a shock when i went into the room it was like going back to the 60's the carpet was very old and looked like it needed a good clean the furniture was out of flat pack and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue S
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. However, we are sorry to hear that certain things didn't meet your requirements. If you were unhappy during your stay you should have reported to reception. The tea/coffee facilities are replenished every morning. Unfortunately it is impossible to please everyone. Thank you and regards.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Just had three nights here and really amazed at other people's reviews. We came on the scooter rally at the last minute and when we read reviews expected the worst ! The hotel is 1) Clean, you couldnt fault the cleanliness 2) Food was superb,3) Staff were extremely pleasant and couldnt be more helpful. So all in all it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DaveTheOldMod
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. And we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best Regards

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

The hotel has a bright fresh look and has been newly refurbished and very clean inside. That's it's best points. No lift, poor hospility tray. Just 2 tea bags taken from a catering pack. 2 coffee, 4 milk. You could purchase more, so penny pinching. Food served in one sitting, little choice, food from the 70s. Chicken Kiev, Pork Escalope,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately we do not have a lift, which it clearly states before you book, that we do not offer a lift. The tea/coffee facilities available in your room is replenished by your chambermaid on a daily basis and is provided according to the package that you paid for. We do not offer staggered times at...

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Went here with my family. staff were friendly but that's probably all that was good, not much choice for dinner dirty cutlery. Our room was above kitchen so heard bashing around of plates a lot and the light outside our room shone in all night as you can't turn it off. The bar isn't open much so you have nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We like to offer a varied menu, however, we are sorry if this was not suitable. The light does turn off, but you should of mentioned this to a member of staff and we would of seen to it. The bar is open for guests and drinks are available for all our guests. All you...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Two really big let downs with this hotel , no lift and no entertainment , the staff were friendly , we had a lady named carol whoe was so helpful and friendly . The owner a right misery. The food was really good but not a lot of choice .tea coffee facility's in rooms but one coffee one tea bag...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Susanslunkerbowker
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately we do not have a lift at our hotel which we do tell people before they book. Most hotels in Shanklin do not provide lifts. The owner is always, friendly and courteous and on hand if there is anything that you need. Perhaps it was yourself that was a right misery! The tea/coffee facilities...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2016

i just got back from a nice 7 day break you can not fault the hotel staff they was very sportive and good and looked after us my room was very small but comfortable its only few mins away from the sea front few mins away from all the shops the other way its in a perfect place only few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amjbeck
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear our entertainers did not suit you. Kind Regards

Liphook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Just back from another wonderful stay at the hotel, the staff were friendly as always food and Terry and Paul were excellent on the entertainment! We've booked to come back again! Unbelievable comments from some people on here! But some people expect the ritz on the most cheapest of holidays you can get! Think the hotel do a fab job...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank george b
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had a lovely stay with us and very much look forward to seeing you again in the very near furutre. Kind Regards

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 km away
Holliers Hotel
Holliers Hotel
#23 of 54 in Shanklin
347 reviews
0.3 km away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#33 of 54 in Shanklin
440 reviews
3.6 km away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#12 of 31 in Sandown
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Queensmead Hotel
Queensmead Hotel
#18 of 54 in Shanklin
135 reviews
0.1 km away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#46 of 54 in Shanklin
370 reviews
0.3 km away
Cliff Hall
Cliff Hall
#16 of 54 in Shanklin
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Auckland Hotel offers superb purpose built modern accommodation in a tranquil setting, being located in a much sought after select area,only two minutes strollfrom the lift to the beach,the theatre,Gardens,Shops,Chine and Old Village. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auckland Hotel

Address: 10 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: RM153 - RM341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auckland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Auckland Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Hertfordshire
over a year ago
7 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Auckland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no lifts but there are second floor rooms reached by two and a half steep flights of stairs. W”
 of 5 bubbles TEL831, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Wifi downstairs, but not in my room.”
 of 5 bubbles anniemi2015, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No hairdryers but ask at reception and they will gladly loan one to you for your stay”
 of 5 bubbles 928vickyw, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no good rooms no groundfloor plus no lift”
 of 5 bubbles P4107KEsues, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any disability low floor no lift. Balcony rooms at front, some at back .”
 of 5 bubbles Susanslunkerbowker, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay