We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melrose Guest House

18 Christian Road, Douglas IM1 2QN
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good43%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steep hill”(4 reviews)
“stayed here”(7 reviews)
“isle of man”(7 reviews)
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillstayed hereisle of mancontinental breakfastmanx gpcomfy bedtt weekexcellent value for moneytvpromwikettleislandtaxiwardrobeluggage
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Stayed here for the manx GP, room was ok bedding and towels very clean, rooms bit cramped but we managed, breakfast was always good and a very good choices, Peter very helpful and obliging, would recommend this guest house.

1  Thank karewilson335
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Had a really good week, for the Classic TT. Peter was the perfect host, really helpful, breakfast was brilliant, really slept well on the comfy bed, all our needs were met!! The location was great and although it was a challenge for my friend who...More

1  Thank Jimdormer
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Stayed at a well known hotel in Albert Docks, Liverpool the night before sailing to the Isle of Man and spent a very restless night due to the bed being too soft. I thought that this would be the pattern of things to come for...More

1  Thank fh011b
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Visited IOM with family. The Melrose is a traditional old 4 storey terraced house. Well looked after by Peter who runs the Melrose. Clean rooms , fresh towels , great breakfast ! Even on day we left continental breakfast sitting waiting on us at 5.30...More

Thank lyttleh
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

We were coming from London, very serious accident on way to airport which delayed us to airport. So we missed our flight. No other flights were available for our 3 night stay. Our car hire very kindly refunded money, as they understood it was outside...More

Thank Harvilicious
Response from 903PeterC903, Owner at Melrose Guest HouseResponded 21 June 2017

I am sorry that you are disappointed but your booking made through a third party was accompanied by a clearly stated policy of free cancellation up to three days before arrival and full payment for later cancellations. Cancellations prior to the three day deadline costs...More

View more reviews
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Price range
US$67 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Price range
US$67 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
11 August 2017|
Response from Peter C | Property representative |
Sorry but we do not have availability for next years TT races. We do hope you can stay with us on another occasion. Best regards, Peter
3 June 2017|
Response from 903PeterC903 |
Sorry we do not have availability for your required dates.
Room Tips
"Within walking distance to shops"
Read review
"No problems with any room"
Read review
"All rooms are silent as the guest house is in a quiet road"
Read review
"Not suitable for the Elderly, Disabled or families with young children. Near to transport: The bus station..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing